We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Ross Lodge

Save
Share
20706 Coast Hwy 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 399
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$ 399
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.comUS$ 399
CheapTicketsUS$ 399
TravelocityUS$ 399
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (217)
Room & Suite (88)
Pool & Beach (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 25/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fort Ross Lodge
Updated 25/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Jenner
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
16 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Complimentary instant cofffee
Board games / puzzles
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
449Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 286
  • 110
  • 25
  • 21
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
haroon10 wrote a review Jul 2021
San Francisco, California38 contributions31 helpful votes
We had a HORRIBLE experience and strongly recommend you avoid this place. We booked a private room overlooking the ocean with a hot tub. The room was NOT private. People can and do walk in the back which is facing the tub. The toilet was broken and they did not have any other rooms at the same room grade. The toilet had been broken as the water to it was turned off by housekeeping BECAUSE it was broken. They offered to refund $100 out of a $400 per night rates stay in a room with a broken toilet. Pay $309 a night to stay in a room with a broken toilet. . What??!!!! We chose not to stay. But this place is remote. The closest hotel is about an hour away. It was my wife’s birthday and they knew it. They are greedy and inhospitable, the place is run down, overpriced and all around it are Trump signs. Very hostile environment and extremely inhospitable lodge. Avoid, it is absolutely horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pace is super remote. You have no other options for lodging in the area.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
flying_wahini wrote a review Jun 2021
Fort Worth, Texas3 contributions
Rustic with a early 70’s feel. Not a slam - it felt like a real escape. We had #14, King bed with great sheets and very comfortable. Very Very nice people there. Had a indoor fireplace and a hot tub that we didn’t use. But the View!❤️ Wow! We were able to leave thru the patio door and walk 30 yards and sit and see & smell the sea and watch the birds. From the Adirondack chairs provided. Very peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in #14 , last room at the bottom of the lot and great view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Julie H wrote a review Mar 2021
Point Arena, California2831 contributions392 helpful votes
+1
We had a great stay, overall. The room was cute. We were in 5. We loved the jacuzzi on the patio. We used that multiple times a day. Lol. We got lucky and had sunshine. We brought a cooler with us and used the bbq for every meal. When we arrived, it was a few minutes after 3. They were just opening the office. The girl who checked us in was super serious. Nothing friendly. Kind of like, we were bothering her. But, it was a super quick check in. Thank goodness! It's very quiet. You don't hear any traffic. You don't really hear the ocean though, either. It's pretty far back from the water. There is no beach access or anything. You're on a cliff. You can walk close. But not down to the water. There is a kit you can add for a fee, to use a cooktop and other things. After we checked in, they tried charging our card for it. (We keep our card locked). So they emailed saying they needed the money. Well, we never requested it, because we came prepared. They said just leave it in the room, and they didn't try to charge is again. A heads up BEFORE they tried to charge would have been nice. This is one of Many reasons we do keep our cards locked. Unwanted charges! You really have to be self sufficient. After we checked in, we never could find anyone who works there. Every time we tried to go to the office, or even walked by, the door is ALWAYS locked and nobody around. Our heater didn't work. It was super cold. But couldn't find anyone. We used the wood stove, but it doesn't provide much heat. We also rang the "emergency" bell in the night. We needed a plunger. But nobody answered the night bell either. We ended up finding one where the wood is. (Thank goodness!!) The room was clean, and perfect size for two. There are windows above, that let in a lot of light. I do wish there was a covering. It made the room hot in the day, and woke us early, with the sunlight. The bed was pretty comfy. There is a big blue tub in the bathroom, that is super deep. I wish I had brought my bathtub stuff. The jacuzzi was at about 112. A lot higher than I would have liked. But again, could never find anyone to help us, so we just delt with it. Overall, it was great. We would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Fort Ross Lodge, Innkeeper at Fort Ross Lodge
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with everyone. We are happy to hear that despite some faults on our end, you've still enjoyed your stay here at The Lodge. The Cook's Kit that we offer is a one-time, $35 add-on fee. It was not an attempt to acquire hidden fees on our staff's end but rather to correct a mistake made from not having added it to the initial amount charged at check-in. I'm sorry that this created confusion for you, hopefully this clears things up and you were able to enjoy using the Cook's Kit. We apologize for not being available in the office 24/7. Our office hours are regularly 9am - 9pm with an emergency after hours call button, however, we are working with a limited staff currently due to the closures and re-openings. The small staff that we do have is working very hard and wearing many hats to keep the property operating while we build up for what is hopefully going to be a normal, exciting summer season! We certainly hope that you will come back again and enjoy a more seamless experience in the near future. Cheers
Read more
oo63 wrote a review Jan 2021
Los Angeles, California490 contributions107 helpful votes
+1
We've stayed at the Fort Ross Lodge three times now as of this writing and four time in the general area (the first time we stayed at Timber Cove Resort). When we stayed here for the first time, we didn't have our son yet and we were staying at "The Hill" side of the the Fort Ross Lodge, couples only, not sure if the Hill is still available for booking. The second time we stayed at room #5 with private hot tub. Personally, I don't think the extra cost is worth it for the private hot tub, especially if you can use the community hot tub, if it's open. It's nice to be able to pop in and out of your own hot tub, but at the additional cost of an average of ~$100/night. Here's a couple of things to know. The rooms are relatively small. I just realized how small the room has gotten with our growing family (2 adults, 1 infant). Each room has a Weber Smokey Joe charcoal grill. The charcoal is free and is pre-loaded in a mini or full size chimney starter. Charcoal refills are also available for free at the storage shack by the ice machine and vending machine. BBQ utensils are also included, so are starter flints and matches. New at the tail end of 2020 is a "Cook's Kit," for an additional $35 per stay. It includes a hot plate, plates, dishes, silicone cooking utensils and silverware. If you plant to cook during your stay, I recommend adding this - otherwise you'll have to haul your own gear. Also new in 2020 is in-room dining service, I understand that they started with Thanksgiving and they also had one for Christmas, which we took advantage of. Nothing like coming to dinner in your own room after a 5 hour drive. I hope they continue offering this for other major holidays, like Valentine's Day, 4th of July, etc. There's a fridge in each room, however, it is a micro fridge and probably only good for storing beer (see photo). If you want some gourmet meal, you'll NEED to stock up on supply and bring your own food. I highly, highly recommend bringing a high performing cooler, such as YETI because you can only store so much in the fridge. The Fort Ross store across the highway if fully stocked, but mostly canned stuff and frozen food. Fort Ross Lodge also now allow small dogs to stay in certain pet-friendly rooms, but with a weight limit of 50 lbs. or less, so we had to board our Doberman. Each room has a fire place with a bundle of wood included per stay. If you need additional wood, it's $5.00 per bundle. There are no cellular reception in this area but their WiFi is pretty decent. Expect to escape from civilization, wind down, listen to the ocean and just enjoy nature. This is the reason why we visit Fort Ross Lodge time and time again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fort Ross Lodge, Innkeeper at Fort Ross Lodge
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for you feed back! The photos are wonderful as well. Looks like you really utilized the little fridge and put the Cooks Kit to the test. We greatly appreciate your review, this is how we learn where to improve upon next. Unfortunately we can't make the rooms any bigger, we do however aim to make them feel bigger ;) ! The mini fridge is on our radar to upgrade and upsize. We hope that you continue to come back and enjoy all the changes we have in store!
Read more
Janet S wrote a review Dec 2020
Livermore, California47 contributions2 helpful votes
Very quaint, clean and amazing views. Gas fireplace. Quiet and well kept. Staff friendly and accessible when needed. We had a private patio with chairs and small table. We were lucky, the weather was perfect for sitting outside in the afternoon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Fort Ross Lodge, Innkeeper at Fort Ross Lodge
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Thank you for coming out to Fort Ross Lodge! We enjoy being here for you to relax and enjoy the views.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$192 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fort ross hotel jenner, fort ross lodge, fort ross jenner
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSonoma CountyJenner
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fort Ross Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Fort Ross Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Fort Ross State Historic Park (3.4 km), Salt Point State Park (6.9 km), and Stillwater Cove Regional Park (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fort Ross Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Fort Ross Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Fort Ross Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Fort Ross Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fort Ross Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Fort Ross Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Ross State Historic Park (3.4 km).
Does Fort Ross Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.