We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel Inverness

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The hosts are fabulous, welcoming and have everything organised for a great stay. We really liked the common area for getting our own breakfasts and dinners organised and it is a lovely place to relax and look out over the lake. We had our infant daughter with us, and she also had fun. We did have to bring our own...

1Thank Andres369
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review. We enjoyed having you as guests and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Your enthusiasm for travel and discovering new places especially with an infant was refreshing. We appreciate our guests noticing the special things we offer to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Look forward to seeing you again during one...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 4 September 2016

The room is a basic clean room. We arrived at 6:07pm and they were already closed up tight, no one in sight. The door locks are old with a mechanism that remains locked. When we were bringing in our luggage the the door blew shut and we were locked out. Instructions and key in the room. No cell phone service...

2Thank PJHousacto
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

This review is very unlike those of most of our guests. I did meet face to face with you in the morning we discussed how it was a perfect storm of events that lead to the situation. When you left for the day, I thought everything had been smoothed over. Apparently I was wrong. First of all, to my knowledge...

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night - will stay longer next time! Nicely updated motel with communal lodge, offering binoculars and telescope, billiard style pool tables and other diversions. Great view of Tomales Bay. Very friendly innkeeper,

1Thank Nancy B
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review, we appreciate the time you took to let other travelers know about Motel Inverness. Our Lodge which is specifically for our guests to enjoy is a very unique feature and one of the reasons so many guests return. The view from the Lodge and the adjoining deck is spectacular. Set in all natural surroundings...

San Jose, Ca
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Heart's Desire Suite is lovely with a small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, sitting area and private patio and view. Other rooms may have no view to the water and may be a bit dark. However, everyone is welcome to sit and relax in the very large and comfortable lobby with huge windows looking out to the water and wildlife. It has...

1Thank tlb91
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review. The only error is your perception of our other rooms. All our rooms are light filled with skylights and windows. There are three more rooms with views of the bay and decks one has a full kitchen with a breakfast bar overlooking the bay. Your comments about the lobby which we call The Lodge...

Waregem, Belgium
Reviewed 24 June 2016

This up-to-date motel is a winner of TripAdvisor’s Certificate of Excellence, and it deserves every bit of it. Nestled on Tomales Bay, in Point Reyes, it provides easy and quick access to its National Seashore, without costing ridiculously much – even though I wouldn’t consider it cheap either at about $160 per night (taxes included). The motel caters to nature...

1Thank Stijn-traveler
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and mentioning our Certificate of Excellence Award. We are proud to receive it for another year. Late check-ins are always welcome and we can easily make arrangements for your arrival. The Lodge is available to our guests anytime and we encourage you to enjoy the views of Tomales...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed here three nights on the recommendation of our daughter. Our room had 2 bedrooms with queen beds, a kitchenette, 2 televisions, a LARGE bathroom, and a deck overlooking the Tamales Bay. Everything about this place is first class; you could not find any place better for experiencing all the activities for Pt. Reyes Seashore. This is an ideal...

1Thank Tahosa
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary review. You stayed in our Heart's Desire Suite which is our largest and includes all the amenities you mentioned. I love it when someone recommends us to another guest and they enjoy their stay as much if not more than the person that recommended it to them. This seems to be case for...

Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Spent the day driving the coast and spotted a no vacancy sign on this quaint little motel. Looked to be recently remodeled or just kept in very good condition. They only had one room left, which had two single beds, probably better suited for kids but was fine by me. I poured a glass of wine and walked out the...

Thank Tyler H
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

I appreciate the time you took to write a review for a place you satyed for one night. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all our amenities. Love hearing that guests socialized in The Lodge and shared storied of the day at Point Reyes. You nailed it when you said perfect for someone that enjoys quiet...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This was my 3rd visit. This time I was in room 6. The room is a little small but it had all that I needed. The shower stall is a little tight and the walls are a little thin but when I was there all of the guests were very quiet. There is some road noise but when the traffic...

1Thank knurs38723
San Francisco
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Stayed here while on a visit to the Point Reyes National Seashore. Small place significantly upgraded from what obviously was once a little roadside strip motel. Adding on an airy and beautiful “Common Room” and a deck with fabulous views over the marshlands and including a well-appointed bathroom in each room turned this place into a desirable stay, indeed. The...

1Thank Luv2Bgoing
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. All of your positive points were on target especially the your note about how peaceful it is here. I apologize for the fridge being broken but it was only down a couple of days until a replacement arrived. These are unexpected things that happen wherever you are even...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Pros: Spectacular setting- right on the marsh, so abundant bird life, with a bird hide at the end of the jetty Friendly owners with a wealth of knowledge about the area Free parking Communal Lodge room with free use of TV, sofas, books, coffee, tea, fridge, biscotti, binoculars etc Nice verandah & gardens to sit in Cons: A strip motel,...

2Thank Jess8888_12
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Your review is very appreciated. Your comments about the abundant bird life, and the spectacular setting are the reasons our guests stay with us. The natural habitat which surrounds us on all sides makes this a unique and special property. The Lodge which you mentioned gives all of our guests a comfortable and relaxing place to look out and enjoy...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (100)
View from Room (9)
Bathroom (7)
Room/Suite (19)
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Dining (1)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
View from Room (1)
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
7.0 km away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
18.5 km away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
82 reviews
30.6 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
477 reviews
36.1 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
529 reviews
26.6 km away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located on Tomales Bay in Point Reyes National Seashore. The natural setting is peaceful and relaxing. Each of our rooms is unique and has it's own personality. The main Lodge is available for our guests 24 hours a day. The lodge is anchored by a Yosemite stone fireplace, pool table, 48" TV, and Kitchenette which make this the perfect place to gather and enjoy the view. The adjoining deck is directly on the bay overlooking the rolling hills and a great place for bird watching. Nature awaits at this Boutique Motel in Inverness, CA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Price Range: ₹ 9,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel Inverness staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Fremont, California
Oxford, New Jersey
Dublin, California
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Motel Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would go for a room with a patio outside your room.”
IslandSunSeekers, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Want a kitchen?”
  • Nice lamp & desk in room #5. Good wifi.
  • Window above room #5 - good lighting
  • Coffee stand & tv in corner of room #5
  • View of bay from porch of room #5
  • Nice seat & lamp in room #5
  • Toilet in room #5 with view from window of bay.
  • Door from the bathroom to the room. Plenty of rack space in bathroom of room #5
  • Sink & wall dispensers for lotion & soap. There is a heat lamp above as well. This is in the bat
MihirMeghani, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Room With a View was relatively quiet with little noise from neighboring rooms.”
tigerseye, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Heart's Desire Suite - If you want a bigger space with a view.”
tlb91, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We loved our room although it was the most expensive they offered: perfect for us!”
Tahosa, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5