We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place to stay in the Russian River area. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The owner, Brett, was very welcoming and helpful with our questions about restaurants, activities, and wineries. Brett recently lost his wife to breast cancer and I was impressed that he was able to continue competently running the lodge amidst such loss and grief. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biba03
Santa Rosa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Long awaited sweet getaway, with the sweetness of a very romantic night. Arrived to meet my sweet date. Followed by a warm sweet welcome from Brett, the owner. We we were shown to our sweet room, no detail missed, premium amenities, top notch linens, high end toiletries! A sweet night of precious nostalgia shared between two lovers, The smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel5965
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The purpose of this post is to describe our experience at the Rio Nido Lodge so that future customers will not be as shocked as we were. The website describes it as an “intimate” bed and breakfast where modern meets urban peace”. Our stay was anything but. Upon our arrival we were met by a police stand-off, complete with helicopter...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dd14670
Brett G, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review

Don- as I said in my follow up email to, I am very upset that you were this disappointed with your stay. I think your score on the Lodge is reflective of exterior elements and not just your stay here. When you checked in we had a nice conversation about breweries in your area. As I was trying to process...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Where to begin. We arrived at 3:15 and even though the owner was there he wasn't opening up til 3:30. After 3:30 he admitted us. Not a very friendly sort for a B&B innkeeper. Told me if I was leaving in the am to park along the creek so as not to wake others. I asked him if he heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William C
Brett G, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review

Bill- I am a single person operator as well as single parent. When you arrived at 3:15. I was away from the Lodge picking my kids up from school and I get back about 3:25. In the mornings I take them to school and get back about 8:30. I told you jokingly about the experience we had one time when...

Switzerland
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This place deserves a good rating. You can see it described in many ways, but I would call it ‘back to basic for people who are used to 5 star homes’. Because it is not really back to basic. For luxury you do have good free wifi, a good bed, free parking and a good breakfast included: cooked to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ski-fanatic-73
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed here for just one night after attending a local event. The room was very simple, nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. The music from the place next door finishes early so no problem with that. We had a great breakfast the next day, lots of options, so that was really excellent. The people were lovely and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MargaretNicole
San Leandro, California
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This is our second visit to the Rio Nido Lodge - an annual family excursion to celebrate our granddaughter's birthday. We will definitely stay here for future travels to the Russian River area. 3 nights in a Courtyard King Room - quiet, peaceful, wonderfully comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast! Thank you Brett!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
San Francisco
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We've been coming here once or twice a year since 2013 when the current innkeeper arrived. The reception is warm, the responsiveness is excellent, the breakfasts are yummy - and ample! - and the room is clean and comfortable. Since our last stay, Brett added two things we asked for to the bathroom in "our room" - a soap dish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grey-Snapper
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The stay was lovely - Brett went out of his way to ensure I was comfortable and looked after, traveling alone. I would recommend Rio Nido Lodge - a great spot! It's 3kms from the center of town and close to wineries. For those that are racing it's close to the start and in the bike course.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annah W
Sonoma, California
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in the courtyard king room. Nice room, very comfortable bed. Delicious home cooked breakfast. Fast response from Brett to email questions. Close to Armstrong Woods and Gurneville. Fridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken b
Brett G, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us Ken. I am glad you stayed that third night to enjoy the band playing. The Courtyard rooms are cozy. We hope to see you again soon. Brett

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
14.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.7 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
382 reviews
2.6 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
263 reviews
2.9 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
218 reviews
3.2 km away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A peaceful respite in a picturesque spot with the redwoods providing a serene backdrop where modern meets rustic. This almost 100 year old Lodge has lots of unique accommodations to offer. All rooms with one king or one queen bed for a perfect adult getaway. Banquet and meeting space available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River

Address: 4444 Wood Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-8018
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Price Range: ₹ 6,497 - ₹ 11,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Nido Lodge At The Russian River Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I suspect we got the last room because it was a last minute thing, but our room was still just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretNicole, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Note: not ALL rooms have kitchenettes. Maybe there's only one. Courtyard rooms face the morning sun and are cooler in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles Grey-Snapper, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top rooms have nice views”
 of 5 bubbles Swrdfsh21, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs are noisy but bigger. Downstairs quiet but small.”
 of 5 bubbles tomlriley, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 15 is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles laurieg686, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay