We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Port Townsend, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2016

When we got to our room we soon realized the toilet was broken. We called the desk and an employee came by with a key for a new room. Rather then help in any way, this employee watched us struggle with bags to move (we'd already started unpacking a bit) and did absolutely nothing to help. No apology for the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mena Q
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response!

Wellington, United States
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Toilet was loose or broken, causing it to shift when you sat down, which in turn caused the tank to leak water into the bow, wasting water. The guests upstairs sounded like they were bowling in their room all night. There are no pictures or artwork of any kind in the room, making it seem stark. The hotel is located...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robyn D
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are continually making improvements to all rooms and property for your comfort.

Redding, United States
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Nice place, easy to find except driveway is awkward. Good breakfast, appreciated the protein items for my low carb diet. I would not hesitate to stay here again. We were in a pet friendly room but the carpet just seemed really dirty. I felt it should be as clean as a regular room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudy F
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your response. We're glad to hear you had a nice stay!

Sacramento,Ca
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I staid here for two nights. Room was comfortable and clean. Bed was med-firm, but not really different then most motels. It's a standard spring mattress with minor pillow top. Rooms are broken up into three or four separate buildings away from main office/breakfast area. Only bad thing is the Wi-Fi is weak (I had a room furthest away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank placerman
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the response. We have addressed all wi-fi issues and are continuously making improvements.

Reviewed 19 August 2016

Pine trees give this venue an aromatic mountain smell without having to go to the mountains. Clean hotel. We stay there frequently as a getaway. The room was quiet and comfortable. The internet was very fast.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Glad to hear everything worked perfect, and that you had a wonderful stay!

Oakland, United States
Reviewed 18 August 2016

"High speed" internet was slow, and disconnected multiple times per hour. Unable to stream at all, and had to re-sign in multiple times per day. Water pressure in shower was barely a trickle, it was very hard to get clean. Toilet did not always flush properly. At least teh air conditioning worked, it was 100 degrees outside.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric C
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response! We will immediately address these issues!

Mi Wuk Village, California
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The motel was very clean, friendly. They accepted our two dogs which is not always the case when one is taveling. Our room was very clean and spacious.The grounds were well taken care of, with an area we coul take the dogs to do their buisness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we're glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us!

Fortuna, United States
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I, and my co-workers, normally stay at this hotel when in Grass Valley, but will not more. This time, it was horrible. I had requested a downstairs room because I have MS and was given an upstairs room, VERY DANGEROUS. The air conditioning in the room worked more like heating. They moved me to a room right next door, which...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela B
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We will work on these issues to make sure your next stay is more comfortable!

grass valley, United States
Reviewed 8 August 2016

bathroom had no towels and it was apparent the bathroom floors were not cleaned. No toilet paper which i took from the lobby bathroom. When i asked the hotel desk for towels they told me to go to housekeeping and pick up shower towels. Upon arrival no staff and no towels. My daughter and i used hand towels to dry...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Curtis T
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we will certainly address these issues.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Stayed here multiple times. Housekeeper threw away my wallet and a hundred dollars worth of clothes on Easter. The hotel did NOTHING about this. More recently I booked this hotel through a 3rd party website that specifically states the hotel CANNOT charge my card without me physically being in the building. Under incredibly unfortunate circumstances I was not able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hillaryperry24
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

You were charged because you no showed on a sold out night. It is normal for hotels to charge guests that do not show, especially if the hotel is sold out! Nothing was ever stolen from this guest, and we do not have any such reputation for dishonesty or uncleanliness.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
3.0 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
223 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
2.8 km away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
3.1 km away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
123 reviews
3.4 km away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Price Range: ₹ 7,202 - ₹ 14,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“second floor rooms are probably quieter, but we still heard freeway noise. The motel is right next to Hwy 20.”
 of 5 bubbles Longpier1, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont end up in the detached building!”
 of 5 bubbles coyote77north, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a room at the far back of the property as it abuts the freeway and is a bit noisy. The remainder of the property seems quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Dejaceo, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Conveniently located next to the freeway and sits across from a Safeway with a Starbucks.”
 of 5 bubbles morganv226, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a clean room.”
 of 5 bubbles 807pams, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5