We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

PricelineUS$ 60*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 60*
Great Deal
US$ 61*
US$ 61*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Well this is the THIRD time trying to write a review for this hotel - it has taken almost 2 months to get it published because it takes several weeks to reject is - so I am going to limit this to bullet points - apologies for not being able to give a more detailed review - I have tried...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sascharasin
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Sascharasin Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. As you stated you booked your room thru expedia, the credit card you used to guarantee your reservation was invalid. You stated upon arrival you use the invalid card just to hold your room and pay with a different one upon arrival. At this hotel we do not guarantee...

Kolkata
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed with a business colleague for one night and trust me it was one of the most nightmarish experience staying there. To start with the check in process was very unfriendly. Later when we came back to sleep after the days work there was a man who kept talking loudly over the phone throughout the night standing out of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pankaj15
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Pankaj, Thank you for staying with us. We certainly appreciate your business. I am so sorry you were disturb by another guest speaking loudly out side your room. Some times the guests does not realize they are at a hotel and there actions are disturbing others. Typically when we get such complaints we go out and ask the guest...

Nevada
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We stayed here for two nights (Saturday and Sunday nights). The room was clean and everything works as it should. Breakfast was good and the staff was very nice and helpful, however Saturday night the people next door came in about 2am very drunk and very noisy. They would stomp down the hall and try to come into our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tourist894
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you found your room to be clean and everything working as it should be. I agree we do have a tasty breakfast and friendly staff. I am sorry in regards to other guests making noise, it is hard for us to control how some guests will act. They don't...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Very basic * hotel within few feet from noisy Interstate 8 freeway, located in very spotty area with hookers around. Nothing fancy: basic rooms, simple breakfast, old tv. Next door to 2 gas stations and car wash, which opened 24/7. Very slow internet with constantly interrupted wifi signal. Bed bugs, cockroaches, smelly, filthy, dirty. Very old cheap uncomfortable beds. Allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ahtoxa1
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Anthony Once again you posted a totally false review, after trying to extort money by stating if I do not give you a refund you will post bad reviews. You posted one on yelp, you can post as many as you wish. I will not pay into your blackmail. You were not even on the property, you paid for...

La Mesa, California
Reviewed 11 December 2015

The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very large, which I loved. The room and bathroom were clean. The location was convenient. But most of all, the free wifi was super fast!!! Love it. Excellent room for the money. Check in was great. i don't recall the name of the young man who helped me but he was fantastic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy9899
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Tracy Thank your for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time and giving us your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Inn. Our staff works hard to provide great service, a clean room at a reasonable price. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Loma Linda, California
Reviewed 3 December 2015

I must say that this hotel provides good services which could be considered more than enough in $65. Air-condition was good with heating facility. Flat Panel television with a good quality picture, a good internet facility. I must say that this hotel provides also a good breakfast and I don't need to find anything else out side before checking out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. I am so glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast with hot waffles. I am glad you enjoyed our new flat screen tv, our guests are finding this upgrade refreshing. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Diego area. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Arizona
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I have enjoyed my stay with this hotel in El Cajon. I found co-operative staff on the specific demands such as no room in front of light, non smoking room, down stair room etc. Room is facilitated with flat screen, refrigerator, microwave and high speed internet service. This is really good against $65-70$ per night. I will prefer to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chintzzz K
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Chintzzz Thank you for your comments, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed our new flat screen tvs, and other amenities offered in our rooms. We hope to see again on your next visit. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Cave Creek, Arizona
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I reserved and paid in advance for two rooms at this hotel via an online booking site. Although I paid for both rooms, I put one room in my name and the other in my son’s. When we got to the hotel, I was informed by the crew at the front desk that: a) there would be a $100 security...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunburnt_curt
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Curt Thank you for your comments, I apologize for any misunderstanding in regards to our deposit policy. You had made your reservations thru Expedia, our deposit policy is clearly stated under the hotel policies. As you know with credit card fraud on the rise, we have strict policies. We only accept credit card that matches the guest name on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

As per my last review. The hotel was dirty, bad smell in some of the rooms. South Asia Indian staff (I believe owner and Manager) were rude. None of the 4 rooms shown to me had flat screen TVs as per their photos. Should be shut down for health and safety reasons.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kliment G
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Kliment Thank you for staying with us. I apologize about the confusion on television sets in our rooms. We are currently in process of upgrading to new LCD TV in every room, our goal is to change them all out by middle of October. I am sorry the cleanliness was not to your expectation, I will speak to the...

Waco TX
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Where do I start? Okay I missed the continental breakfast which stopped at 9a.m.That was my bad. I was further disappointed after finding curlies in one of the beds! California water restrictions have contributed to This properties' sanitary issues i.e. not cleaning the bedding regularly. I paid 90 bucks I should expect a clean bed. Ac was good. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Yes I agree we do try to save water by having a linen reuse program. Under this program we change out all linen from a room when a guest checks out. However if the guest is a staying more than one night we do not change the sheets unless the guest places a...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Cajon hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#4 of 14 in El Cajon
140 reviews
1.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
6.7 km away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
152 reviews
2.5 km away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#6 of 14 in El Cajon
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Econolodge Inn & Suites, El Cajon Hotel, where you’ll experience an intimate, casual atmosphere with personalized service, contemporary amenities and customer-oriented features. Whether you’re here on a relaxing getaway vacation or an important business venture, you’ll appreciate our peaceful ambiance, hospitable service and convenient location without spending a fortune. Our friendly, professional staff ensures that your stay will be a memorable and relaxing experience. This El Cajon hotel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. If you are looking for a hotel near fun things to do this hotel near San Diego Zoo is the perfect location to stay. We are also located within miles from Knotts Soak City and San Diego SeaWorld. Offering comfort and convenience to business and leisure travelers, this El Cajon Hotel offers value with cozy accommodations, amenities and easy access to restaurants, shopping and local area attractions. We offer our guest a more affordable room rate with luxury & friendly services. Relaxing Retreat, take a dip in our private, crystal clear swimming pool. Econolodge Inn & Suites will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our hotel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Make your family vacation more attractive to Southern California - treat yourself to the Econolodge Inn & Suites. Choose this El Cajon Hotel for your travel needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Address: 588 N Mollison Ave, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Price Range: ₹ 3,853 - ₹ 7,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson El Cajon/San Diego Area Hotel El Cajon
Super 8 El Cajon
Super Eight El Cajon
El Cajon Super 8
El Cajon Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Management takes just about 2 months to respond and I have questions. First, I will not accept your apology 2 months later. You had your chance at the time of arrival. Next, I will dispute your attempt at an explanation as it is not even close to what really happened that night. 1) If someone needed to extend their stay, they would have given you ample notice. Even if last minute (check out at 11), I arrived at 6PM. The bed should have been on the premises long before I arrived. 2) If this was true, why wasn't I informed by the front desk clerk that this was happening. If I was told this was happening, maybe I wouldn't have been upset. 3) I spent 2 hours on the phone with Corporate Customer Assistance as they worked to get me into your hotel after another hotel couldn't handle the bed issue. See items 1 and 2 and I ask again, with Corporate Customer Assistance working with me to get this solved, why wouldn't you tell them that you had an issue with your last known rollaway. 4) When Corporate Customer assistance called back the next day, they were not informed of this solution, yet you want to stay with your version of what happened. 5) You state I left the premises before you could get the bed from another hotel.......again, see all notes above where your front desk showed not an inkling of care as to whether they could/would/should share any information with me.

So, bottom line, please do not try to paint yourselves as a misunderstood hero when during the whole process, you were the villains.

I will not give you a second chance (as you really had it already when Corporate sent me back to you and was still treated badly), or a third or any other chances. First impressions...........especially in the business world.

NOTE: I did enjoy someone's comment that you should "dress professionally in order to get a clean room". Nice..........

over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look elsewhere.”
sunburnt_curt, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“King room with sofa sleeper can sleep 4. Upstairs rooms are quieter, less people noise.”
redbeemer, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Find another place....just be careful if you do have to stay here”
londons2015, 4 May 2015 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor which is always a plus for less noise. At this hotel staying second floor mid parking lot so your not to close to the pool would be best.”
JohnC971, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Book early (at least 2 weeks) before arrival. And use your choice hotels card for free nights.”
JRGerry_Champagne, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 60* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 61
EconoLodgeUS$ 61
TripAdvisorUS$ 61
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates