We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monarch Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monarch Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,984 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monarch Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,941: English reviews
Vienna Region, Austria
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Stayed at the St. Regis Monarch Beach once again as I have done every year for the past five years and as always, the stay was wonderful. It seems that the hotel has not aged and it is nice to see so many familiar faces among the team of the hotel.The attention to detail by literally all the associates, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samoht60
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Samoht60, Thank you for your loyal patronage of our resort! We truly appreciate the kind review and look forward to welcoming you back again next year for another wonderful vacation!

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We have traveled to the Dana Point / Newport Beach area annually for the last few years to enjoy the great scenery and wonderful weather. This year we decided to try the St. Regis instead of the other resorts we previously selected: what a disappointment the St. Regis was. Does not compare to the other fine resorts in the area....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 368frankm
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear 368frankm, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that your visit did not exceed expectations. We encourage you to call our Executive Offices directly at (949) 234-3301 to discuss the experience you had so we can rectify the situation.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 January 2015

As a Minneapolis resident, I was very pleased to be able to attend a conference at the St. Regis Monarch Beach in January and to be able to bring my wife and 2 year old daughter. Fortunately, the Socal weather was even better than usual during our stay and we were able to enjoy an exquisite day at the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benfrommn
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear benfrommn, Thank you for your recent stay and kind review! We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed our warm California winter weather and had a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 January 2015

I stay at the hotel once a month for work and the staff is always amazing! I had an ocean view room and a butler. I love the 24 hr access to the fitness center and was also was able to play golf on my last trip. Love this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bicoastal1981
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bicoastal1981, Thank you for choosing to stay with us each month; we truly appreciate your loyalty! We look forward to continuing to welcome you to our resort!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 21 January 2015

I've attached a few pictures of the room (419) I stayed in on January 14, 2015 while attending a due-diligence meeting at the hotel. I have also previously stayed at the Ritz Carleton Dana Point as recently as last September for another meeting. The two hotels are only a quarter mile apart. The St. Regis doesn't have the views of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mark P, Thank you for taking the time to share such kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort and were able to experience many of the amenities which we have to offer. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 20 January 2015

My husband and I had a golf and stay package. The course was in great shape and the Marshals kept the pace of play reasonable. The hotel and grounds were very nice. Our room and especially bathroom was large and well appointed. Food in restaurants, room service etc. was good. My only problem with the hotel was at checkout. We're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank preecelJ
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear preecelJ, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort and amenities while you were staying with us, however we truly apologize that your last interaction included accounting errors. We will be sure to share your feedback with our Accounting department....

Orange, California
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Stayed here for our Anniversary weekend and all I can say is wow. They took such great care of us - we received a free bottle of champagne in our room and also a free snack at the pool without even mentioning it was our anniversary. The property itself is immaculate and really feels like a resort in the heart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ken M, Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We hope to be able to welcome you back again for future celebrations!

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 19 January 2015

I am absolutely befuddled as to how this hotel gets such rave reviews. I stayed for business in August. The front desk was disorganized. The bellmen were all lined up on the side of the lobby as if ready to assist when called upon; however, they ended up being more interested in talking with each other than to assist. All...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CorpPlanner_11
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear CorpPlanner_11, Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay this past August. We sincerely apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations, as this is not typical of our service and facilities. We will be sure to share your comments regarding your arrival experience and facility cleanliness with our Executive Management team. We hope that we will be...

Reviewed 18 January 2015

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days without the kids. We wanted 5 more days! We had a king bed suite on A lower floor facing the exterior of the hotel, which was a housing sub-division (very nice). We were there for a company trip. Everything was first class. Our room, bedding, wifi, etc, were exceptional. Room service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TJWDFW
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear TJWDFW, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to write such a kind review! We are so pleased to hear that you and your wife were able to enjoy a little getaway and experience many of the amenities which we offer. We hope to welcome you both back again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2015 via mobile

Hotel was located close to the beach and the stroll was very pleasant. Staff was overall friendly, rooms were nice, bathroom was by far the nicest part of the rooms. We stayed on the second floor facing the pool with partial water view. The sunset from the rooms were beautiful as well. What let the hotel down was the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicky C
SRMB, Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nicky M, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share feedback regarding your time at our resort. We sincerely apologize that the service you experienced was not reflective of our typical five-star standards. If you feel there is anything further we can do for you to rectify this situation, please call our Executive Offices...

1,352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (893)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (197)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (334)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (395)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Suite (38)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite (56)
Viewed
Ocean Vista Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Premium Resort View Queen (39)
Viewed
Resort View King (33)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
16.7 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
697 reviews
31.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3,070 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Price Range: ₹ 30,148 - ₹ 59,578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This Hotel is Pet Friendly”
 of 5 bubbles audreymG4080HG, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles TarunW_12, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the outdoor fireplace rooms. Very nice feature to sit outside and have a gas fire on your patio in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles BMandJS, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request Ocean view or you end up with mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles 1948Steven, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Select rooms with a fire pit and enjoy the extra amenity”
 of 5 bubbles NoelCabello, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5