We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Jeffery

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coulterville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Jeffery
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We didn't stay here since we were just stopping by on our way to Vegas, but it was a nice experience there. We stopped looking for restroom and the people in the hotel was very kind to let us in and used the restroom and told us to visit all the rooms that were wide opened. We felt kinda weird...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melintir
Anderson
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We were going to a field trial (dog race) in the area and this hotel was recommended. After doing some research, we were a little hesitant. The hype made it fun, exciting and memorable. Clean, kind and the bar & restaurant was amazing. We slept good and quiet and we look forward after they clean up from the fire, staying...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Readergirl12
Walworth, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Unfortunately the hotel burned while we were there. Sara put us up across the street for the rest of our stay. Anyone who wants to donate to the restoration, here is a go fund me address: Gofundme.com/hegno4 We had an experience similar to the one described on Yelp in May of this year. We stayed in the rooms next door....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
Monterey California
Reviewed 4 November 2014

This really authentic old Western Hotel is not in the best of shape and certainly is nothing like its brochure. Stayed there recently and thought it reminiscent of a Russian boarding house, no luxuries whatsoever, heaters didn't work, no hairdryer and breakfast was equally unappetizing. Plastic cereal bowls, gallon milk jug shoved in a bowl of ice and orange juice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKcastaway
Sara Z, Owner at Hotel Jeffery, responded to this review

We do offer hair dryers, robes, coffee makers and various other toiletries upon request, even for the rooms that rent for $54.00/night.. Unfortunately, we can no longer provide them in each room as they kept disappearing and made it financially difficult to keep replacing them on a continuing basis. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Not sure...

Patterson, California
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Super charming European style accommodations. Hotel has a lot of deferred maintenance when you look closely. Gruff check-in procedure in bar could have been friendlier. Shared bathroom setup for most rooms. Shared baths were not as clean as I'd like. Charming rooms and furnishings, good food, court yard seating on patio was nice. Interesting vibe in town and very out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bossgoss
Pune, India
Reviewed 26 August 2014

An hour away from Yosemite National Park, this ancient hotel sits cozy with its haunted stories doing the rounds. I was there in May 2012 for the Memorial Day weekend when everything closer to the park was sold out or too expensive. The rooms were neat and clean and the shared baths were clean and well-maintained. I didn't try the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AR698
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stay in the hotel with my three sisters, and we had the best experience in our live. We also went to the kitchen of the Restaurant Bar to cooked with the Chef. We love our stay and we have plan to be there soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acollazop
Irving, Texas
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am 71years old.My daughter and i came to the hotel on july 4th and 5th.The first night on July 4th .The room tempt. at nine oclock was 89.It never cooled down the whole night.We found out that it had no air condition.Itwas cooled by a swamp cooler.A lot of good that did.We came back the next evening around 5...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jamessanders2014
Sara Z, Owner at Hotel Jeffery, responded to this review

The hotel was built in 1850 and we advertise our hotel as not having central air conditioning and during the day in severe heat conditions (which we have been having) the swamp coolers that we have don't keep the hotel as cool as we would like but during the night they do keep the rooms cool and we have ceiling...

Fountain Valley, California
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Let me start by telling you that this review is for the dining room only, not the accommodations. We have family in the area and they had called to make reservations in the dining room specifically. They were told not a problem, check in at the bar also attached to the Hotel and we would be seated in the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beetrvln
Mt. Clemens Michigan
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were very excited to stay here on our three week road trip across the country. We booked the Teddy Roosevelt room back in Dec of 2013, and we booked this room specifically for its historical significance. We even had a lengthy conversation with the manager when we booked the room about how excited we were to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah D
Sara Z, Owner at Hotel Jeffery, responded to this review

I feel very bad that we had to rent out the room that had been reserved months in advance and had I remembered my conversation with her and that she specifically wanted that room (the Teddy room) I would have done things differently. We had a situation where a family the night before had ended up traveling with additional people...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coulterville
14.6 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
758 reviews
14.5 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Groveland
559 reviews
35.0 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
0.7 km away
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Coulterville
63 reviews
16.9 km away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#3 of 6 in Groveland
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
(Temporarily closed.) The Historic Hotel Jeffery and Magnolia Saloon located at the intersections of Highway 49 & 132 in Mariposa County near Yosemite National Park, only 29 miles away. Built in 1851, this hotel features antique furnishings and our famous "Teddy Roosevelt" Room. We offer a great Menu serving Burgers, Steaks, Seafood, Chicken, Pizza, Salads and more along with Microbeers and Wine in our Saloon. Come by and visit us "where the pace slows down and history abounds"! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Jeffery

Address: 5001 Main St., Coulterville, CA 95311
Region: United States > California > Coulterville
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Jeffery staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel has partially burned.”
 of 5 bubbles KathyS699, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Keep going…!!!”
 of 5 bubbles UKcastaway, 3 Nov 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in room #10 that overlooked the main street. Very light and bright!”
 of 5 bubbles bossgoss, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Due to the lack of service in the dining room and no one attending the front of the hotel, anyone can just walk up the stairs to the rooms. Hotel and restaurant really gave me the creeps and I wouldn't stop ever.”
 of 5 bubbles beetrvln, 7 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Ask for private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 784mauricem, 18 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5