We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Star Inn Steeple

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steeple
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Star Inn Steeple
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of The Star Inn Steeple
 Click to rate
England
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just had a fabulous afternoon at the star with 17 of my family, aged between 4 and 74. Staff were attentive and friendly to all and nothing was to much trouble. The food was served quickly and the starters were enjoyed by all. A selection of roasts came next, lovely lamb, beef and chicken with extra veg too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimgilmore
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Visited The Star Inn, Steeple, for lunch with friends. It is a delightful little pub. We received a warm welcome, good service and the food was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the minted shoulder of lamb, which was very tasty. They also offer a very reasonable two course lunchtime special but we chose from the main menu. Would certainly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomap2014
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We came here a few weeks ago as we had heard so much about the amazing fish and chips and the beautiful interior. We know Glen and Lisa from Waterside Park so decided we would give it a try. We are really pleased that we did. The interior of the pub is stunning, very boutique, typical locals pub. We all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank topmedsec
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as it was last minute. The room and toilets were clean. But the heating in the room wasn't working and the bed was terrible. It was completely lob-sided and man noise every time you moved. Also I could clearly here the people in room next door. Breakfast available if booked night before. Won't recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michicks
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Enjoyed a nice Sunday roast dinner here with lots of everything - meat, veg, gravy. Couldn't manage a pudding, although they looked delicious. It's a nice place with large restaurant area and plenty of parking. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reallywrenchit
Abbi C, Public Relations Manager at The Star Inn Steeple, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed our Sunday roast, sounds like you had a lovely meal! We do hope you return one day to give our desserts a try! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Were Motor-homers and we wanted a camping pitch with a pub not to far from home, what a bit of luck finding this little gem,,Site facilities are good, price is good,, pub is good,, Glen and Lisa the landlords are excellent, ,Will be back as soon as we can,,,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
Abbi C, Public Relations Manager at The Star Inn Steeple, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and 5 star rating, we really appreciate it! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Star Inn Steeple and I'll be certainly passing your comments over to both Glen and Lisa! Thank you so much for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Great pub in the sticks with very friendly staff. The accommodation is very basic. Not a place I would take a girl but for a pit stop it's ideal. Breakfast is decent. Bad mobile phone and Internet coverage in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stokie C
Abbi C, Public Relations Manager at The Star Inn Steeple, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I'll be passing on your comments to the bar and resturant staff! Unfortuantly, due to being a little far out, the phone signal cannot be guaranteed but we do offer Wi-Fi in our pub to try and compensate for this though in busy times, it may be slower than usual. Of course, we...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Quiet local pub with pub area sofas, fireplace separate dining area and out door parking and seating. Lovely staff, friendly and attentive. Fairly priced. Food was average for pub food. We had steaks , fish and chips and pasta at our table. Deserts were again, average for pub food. Although food was a little lacking would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Makeda J
Abbi C, Public Relations Manager at The Star Inn Steeple, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I will be passing on your comment to the kitchen staff as we are always aiming to improve! I'll also be passing on your compliments to the staff! Thank you so much, and we do hope to welcome you again soon.

ESSEX
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Been here twice recently and both times had to send food back due to it being cold, myself and my colleague both sent ours back, surely it can't be that hard to get food hot, to be fair they did take it back and reheat ! If the meals had been hot first time this would have been a completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickandkaf
Abbi C, Public Relations Manager at The Star Inn Steeple, responded to this review

Hi, I'm so disappointed to hear that your meals were cold both times you visited, I throughly apologise for this, I have passed this review onto the kitchen staff so hopefully this will not happen again. I appreciate you taking the time to review as it helps us out, and we hope that you do decide to come back and...

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

After a visit during the week we went back for a Sunday dinner. The weekday menu is very good and we'll priced as is the menu for Sunday dinner. All good was cooked fresh, tasted very nice and portion sizes were very good. All staff served us with a smile and made us welcome, nothing was too much trouble. (On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
Abbi C, Public Relations Manager at The Star Inn Steeple, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your meals at The Star Inn and we look forward very much to welcoming you back! I have also passed this review on to the staff, thank you!

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Star in Steeple, Essex, is everything you could want from a traditional pub restaurant. Set in beautiful rolling fields, The Star offers great beer, great food, accommodation and a caravan park to the rear of the pub. Traditionally furnished the main bar is warm and inviting and you have the choice to dine here or in the restaurant. There is a spacious beer garden at the rear of the pub which is perfect for children away from the main road, making this the ideal location for a family party or get together. Situated between Maylandsea and St Lawrence The Star offers a warm welcome whether you are stopping for a meal, staying on our Caravan site or just popping in for a drink. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Star Inn Steeple

Address: The Street, Steeple CM0 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Steeple
Price Range: ₹ 2,864 - ₹ 4,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Star Inn Steeple staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Star Inn Steeple staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles topmedsec, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you need to take any food or milk with you it can be stored in the pubs fridge for you. Also another point rooms nice and close to the car park so no lugging cases or bags to far which was a bonus after a few hours drive, at no time did we hear any noise from the pub its self other rooms or the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles 530Jamie, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room towards the back of the property”
 of 5 bubbles Kensington76, 9 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I think all of the rooms are likely to be similar.”
 of 5 bubbles Redandy60, 9 Jul 2013 | Read review
4 of 4