We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
70 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910-1422
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Algotels
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (23)
Bathroom (1)

About

#23 of 26 hotels in Chula Vista
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Milagro, A Welcoming and Affordable Hotel in Chula Vista Everybody needs an escape every now and then, so why not find your perfect SoCal getaway at Hotel Milagro in stunning Chula Vista. This destination’s name means “beautiful view,” and for a good reason! Chula Vista’s scenic location is perfectly situated between San Diego Bay and the coastal mountain foothills. So whether you’re looking to explore a zoo or aquarium, kayak on the ocean blue, or watch a show in a majestic amphitheater, there’s something for everybody in the city. So let our Chula Vista, CA, hotel host your perfect retreat. Hotel Milagro, A Chula Vista Hotel with Cozy Guestroom and First-class Amenities Our lovely hotel offers a range of 41 air-conditioned accommodations to our guests for you to enjoy only the best during your stay. In addition, each of our guestrooms is equipped with modern amenities, such as a cable flat-screen TV, high-speed WiFi, and in-room refrigerators and microwaves. But, there’s more! Our affordable hotel in Chula Vista offers free parking, complimentary coffee and tea, and a friendly around-the-clock front desk. It doesn’t get much better than this. Hotel Milagro, An Affordable Hotel Located in the Heart of Chula Vista, CA, Nearby Top Sites and Attractions Located 15 minutes away from the Tijuana Border and downtown San Diego, our hotel in Chula Vista, CA, is the perfect home base to explore the surrounding areas. Parks, cafés, shops, and restaurants are all within proximity of our hotel. There is much to see and do in Chula Vista and beyond! Luckily, we’re just a short drive away from top sites and attractions, including the Living Coast Discovery Center, Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center, Aquatica San Diego, Chula Vista Bayside Park, and more! How will you choose to explore Chula Vista?
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Kids stay free
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
34Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
20Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Brandon B wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
Hotel Milagro was very close to the place I needed to go. The staff was very friendly and always had a smile on their face. Every morning I would get a happy greeting from their staff when leaving the hotel. The rooms were big and very clean. They did an amazing job!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alan A wrote a review May 2022
Palm Springs, California3 contributions
My family and I came to Chula Vista and stayed at this property. The staff was very accommodating and they even accept dogs. They are very convenient to grocery stores, tasty restaurants, gas stations, and the freeway. It was exceptionally clean, and the pillows were like sleeping on a cloud. I will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a corner room. Larger for our dog to run around in.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suraj Vanmali, General Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Alan, We would like to first thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be thrilled to see your review. We can't wait to see you in the near future. Safe travels :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy Y wrote a review Mar 2022
13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Stayed here for 1 night, and woke up at 5am to dirty water leaking from the ceiling!!! Called front desk, and they told me there was nothing they could do since it was early in the morning. Eventually had a person come look at the leak, and immediately he said it was a huge issue. All of our belongings on the floor were water damaged! All the front desk could do was give me a bucket to catch the water and extra towels to soak up the water. 1 hour later, they were able to move us to another room that smelled of cigarettes!! Eventually, I was able to speak to the manager and he said he could offer us a 10% discount and that he would not charge us for the other room we were moved to. Are you kidding me? That 10% ($10 USD) isn't even enough to cover my items that were damaged in the process! Stay away unless you are looking for bad management, leaking ceilings, and inconsiderate customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suraj Vanmali, General Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to help us understand the difficulty you experienced while in our hotel. We apologize for the lack of immediate attention given and are in the process of reviewing the details of this morning. We have contacted you within 24 hours of your departure to follow up with the results privately. You are important to us and we didn't show you that. We will rectify the situation and learn from our mistakes. On behalf of the full staff once again, our apologies and look forward to speaking with you directly tomorrow.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jelani J wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
I just checked out of this motel after a week long stay. Maid service was extremely polite and efficient. Could work on improving the smell of the place but a solid value based on what I payed for. Great bang for buck
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from J P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 25 Sep 2019
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and the good rating, we really appreciate your business and hope to see you again when you are in the area!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LarsonsontheGO wrote a review Sep 2018
California295 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
In downtown San Diego last minute on a Saturday night, so I couldn’t find a room at all. Finally had to book a room here, and was not impressed. They appear to be remodeling, and it needs it! Room smelt like stale cigarettes and there were bugs in the shower. The area of town is sketchy as well. Stayed in my room watching in the door, and left before sunrise!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 26 Sep 2018
Thank you for the feedback, yes we are remodeling and adding some upgrades, thank you for the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
onesta82 wrote a review Nov 2017
Sapri, Italy4 contributions
welcome unpleasant. the room is impeccable. full sheets of dust and sleeveless bedspreads. stained copricusxones. indescribable bathroom. we paid and went away from the bad smell that was there room without sockets. if you arrive in the evening and you need light you must be content with a miserable abasciur
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J P, Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 22 Nov 2017
It is true we are an older hotel, but we do our best to keep it clean and comfortable, however it seems that we missed the mark and we are very sorry to have let you down. We will forward this over to the owners for review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jude R wrote a review Oct 2016
5 contributions
Cleanliness could be better. Nice people and lively and helpful staff. The smiles made it happen. As I was waiting two young children provided assistance behind the counter with amazing attendance to detail.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from J P, Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 19 Oct 2016
Thank you, we are in an older building and we have very large rooms, we are in the midst of making some changes, we appreciate the heads up about the cleaning staff and will forward this on.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shauna G wrote a review Sep 2016
1 contribution
I just want to share my experience about the Highway Inn at 70 Broadway, Chula Vista, Ca. 91910 I booked the hotel last minute, but that doesn't excuse the disgusting mess the room was in when we arrived. We got to the hotel at 9pm after a very long day. When we checked into our room, we had to stand out side in an area that was very unsafe. I had my friend stand behind me to watch my back while I checked in. When we got into our room there was toilet paper in the toilet and it smelled like urine, we asked for another room and was told that's all they had. They were willing to clean the room again but couldn't do it until about 10:30. We told them not to do it that night but PLEASE do it the next day. We where gone from 6:30 am until 8:30 pm. When we got back to our room, it still hadn't been cleaned. The beds were a mess, dirty towels on the floor, and of course the room still smelled. I called to complain and again they said there was a misunderstanding and they would clean it as soon as they could which would be after 10:30. I told them this was not right and I wanted a portion of the bill refunded. I was told I needed to talk to the owner in the morning. The next morning we were checking out at again 6:30am, we wanted to talk to the owner and asked for a receipt. Owner wasn't available and we were told she couldn't print out the receipt and we had to come back after 11am to get it. so we asked for the manager, manager wasn't available. I still have not been able to get a receipt. If it wasn't for the area being sold out because for the event going on we would have found another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J P, Owner at Hotel Milagro
Responded 7 Oct 2016
I am so very sorry for your experience and I will forward this over to the owners ASAP! There is no excuse for this type of customer service again, I apologize.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jcassanelli wrote a review Jul 2016
San Diego, California1 contribution2 helpful votes
I checked into this place, once I was able to get into the room which said "No Smoking" of course the room smelled like smoke. The carpet was filthy, ants all over the sink, the furniture is old, the phone doesn't tell you how to contact the front desk, so you have to walk down there. Water is running everywhere from the AC units along with green algae. It's a complete DUMP!!. Save your money and don't go there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J P, Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 8 Aug 2016
Thank you for feedback, we are in the midst of looking into renovation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan M wrote a review Mar 2016
North Vancouver, Canada47 contributions27 helpful votes
I can not believe that this kind of garbage is still operating. It was our last place for the early morning arrival in San Diego from LA. We paid $81 for supposed bargain price. Better places like Super 8 we only paid $65 with taxes. The key card did not work. The attendant had to re-program 3 times. I need to go to her office from 2nd floor 3 times. On the 4th she had to go to our room and do the programming on the spot. The room was filthy. Television was 80s model and not working. Intercom was not working. The attendant was not in anyway reflective of someone from hotel and hospitality industry. Indeed this garbage is a SHAME for beautiful San Diego California and for the hotel industry. Travelers will be best sleeping in their vehicle for a nite than wasting money and extremely frustrated by this kind of garbage.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J P, Manager at Hotel Milagro
Responded 30 Mar 2016
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and will forward this to the owners.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Highway Inn Chula Vista
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaChula Vista
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MILAGRO (Chula Vista) - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Milagro
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Milagro?
Nearby attractions include General Roca Park (0.9 km) and Wild Woolly's (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Milagro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Milagro?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hotel Milagro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Milagro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zorbas Greek Restaurant & Buffet, Black Angus Steakhouse - Chula Vista, and La Quinta Grill.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Milagro?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Milagro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Milagro?
Many travellers enjoy visiting South Bay Salt Works (4.8 km), Gunpowder Point (1.5 km), and Community Congregational Church (1.7 km).
Does Hotel Milagro have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.