We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hideaway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 230: English reviews
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have a great three night stay at The Hideaway. We wanted a place close to downtown so we could walk to shops and restaurants. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was simple and good. Would recommend as nice place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hideaway was a nice little place to stay during the Pebble Beach pro am tournament week. It's just a two short block walk to the shuttle stop that the city offers. The breakfast was nice and simple with some warm food options, and cold food options. The happy hour/wine hour was a nice touch as well. I would like...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Mark I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a great place to start the day before you head out for some amazing golf. Yes the pricing during that week is competitively priced for Carmel. Please check our website when you wish to return. I'm sure you will be more than pleased. Thank you

Ripon, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Water pipes were making "banging" sounds in the wall ALL night long. Spoke w/front desk after first night, they didn't seem concerned...and we were paying for a suite! Unfortunate, it was a cute place, but not sacrificing a good nights sleep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Heather I would like to apologize again for not being able to provide you with a refreshing night's sleep. We are addressing your concern and will hopefully be able to identify the issue that you mentioned. I do hope that you will come back and allow us another opportunity to provide you with a wonderful experience. Thank you

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am writing this review in the hotel's lovely lounge with fireplace as we sadly finish up our two night stay. We stayed here a few years ago when it was the Cobblestone Inn. We are very impressed by the beautiful refurbishment by the new management. We were in an upstairs queen room (#22) and my husband must have commented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel524
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi LoveToTravel First you have a great "name". I like to travel too. I'm very happy that you enjoyed our property so much. The renovation turned out really well and all of the former guests like yourselves are very happy with it. I look forward to having you come back soon to Room 22! Thank you

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We originally booked a hotel in Monterey, but as our trip got closer decided we wanted to be in Carmel. Almost everything was booked due to the ATT Pro Am, which we didn't know when booking. Called the Hideaway and they were super friendly and helpful during the booking process. When we arrived they were great at getting us checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Laura I'm very happy that you guys had such a great stay with us. We are great place to enjoy Carmel from and to access the ATT Pro Am. The courtyard is a nice place to relax and unwind at the end of fun day. We look forward to having you come back soon and often. Thank you

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came down for a pre- Valentine's weekend and were very impressed with the property, the service and staff and location. Unfortunately, the reviews we read about how noisy it is are all too true. The first night there was a pretty bad domestic disturbance upstairs and when we called the front desk, we were sent to an answering service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunky415
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

I apologize that you weren't able to have a peaceful and relaxing time with us. Unfortunately there are times when people are not considerate of others. I hope that you will return and allow us another opportunity to provide you with a wonderful stay. Thank you

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our short stay at the hideaway. Big spacious room, nice fireplace which helped a lot because it rained :) The breakfast and wine in the lobby was simple but great space. We wished we could've used the bikes they had available but with the rain we couldn't. Perfect location to walk to almost everything downtown. Would definitely come...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank moniquestinson1976
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Monique I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It would have been even a greater time if the weather would have cooperated. You have a great reason to come and take a bike ride along the beach and really enjoy what Carmel has to offer. Thank you

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Romantic, cozy, lovely. Fireplace in room made things nice and toasty. Very helpful, friendly front desk. Delicious breakfast, excellent choices. Great location, close to downtown and the beach. I only wish there were smart TVs and coffee makers in the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryg78
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Kerry I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Between our breakfast, team members and our location we have a lt ot offer. I'll be sure to pass on your kinds words to our staff. We are looking into the room amenities that you have mentioned. Thank you

Menlo Park
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellently located with well designed rooms. The courtyard was inviting with its fire pit even when it rained! The lounge with its inviting fireplace and well balanced breakfast that reflected seasonal ingredients gave our mornings the perfect start to a wonderful couple's getaway.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Paula I'm really happy that you enjoyed your property. The courtyard is great place to sit back and relax (even in the rain). Our breakfast is wonderful meal as we use fresh produce and eggs and we shop 2 to 3 times a week. I hope you come back soon. Thank you

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on our honeymoon road trip up route 1. The rooms are decent, clean, nice decor. The lobby is nice and they have a wine reception in the afternoon, coffee/tea all day, and a pretty good breakfast. The service was fine, nothing spectacular or super warm/nice (this stood out to us because we stayed in six different hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Tiffany I appreciate you taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the accomodations and meal services. I do apologize for not providing you the level of service that you should have received. I will share your comments with staff. I do hope that you will find your way back and visit us again. Thank...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
790 reviews
0.3 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,095 reviews
1.8 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 km away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
0.7 km away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are excited to introduce The Hideaway - re-imagined, rebranded and redesigned to perfectly complement the charming beachside community of Carmel. The 24-room boutique Inn recently underwent a massive redesign and now features sleek, yet comfortable interiors and an updated courtyard. Formerly the Cobblestone Inn, The Hideaway, is just steps away from the beach and downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Price Range: ₹ 15,391 - ₹ 24,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hideaway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose a second floor room. No view though. Windows are THIN, beware.”
 of 5 bubbles TiffanyG870, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I think rooms on 2nd floor rooms would be quietest. We had Room #10 which is tucked away in corner of patio on 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles gypsyheart23, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I liked being on the second floor. The room next to us had more space and some better views- it was a mini suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Dreamgirl013, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the first floor off the court yard. Didn't hear a thing, but it was mid week.”
 of 5 bubbles MElchinoff, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs king room with fireplace very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethgF4493XQ, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5