We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel

Save
Share
Changnanka, Paro 12001 Bhutan
Lowest prices for your stay
$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
eDreams
Travelocity$89
Orbitz.com$89
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (8)

About

#26 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated close to Paro International Airport and nestled amidst the Himalayan valleys of Bhutan, is the beautiful Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel & Spa, Paro. Offering a perfect blend of traditional Bhutanese architecture and modern style decor, our hotel in Paro creates a resplendent ambience for our guests. Walls fringed with Bhutanese paintings and the panoramic view of the rice fields add to the inviting features of our hotel and create a unique and distinctive staying experience for our guests. Explore the Kingdom of Dragons with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
104Reviews7Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 35
  • 32
  • 10
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
GauravGo wrote a review Jan 2020
Bengaluru, India19 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel is decent, although can take a little while to find. The photos look a bit deceptive. However, the hotel as such is good and is right outside the airport runway, so you can feel the windows thundering caused by the propellers early in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Manager at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2020
"Dear Gaurav, Kuzozangpola! Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback regarding your stay! We’re glad that we could make your stay fantastic. As a valued guest, our team appreciates your feedback and is delighted to hear about your experience. This will go a long way in motivating us. We’d be happy to serve you again in any of our the same spirit."
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jigme c wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
We stayed in this hotel in mid September and our experience was absolutely magnificent. The hotel provides all kind of cuisine. The food and service was awesome. Hotel staffs were very friendly and supportive. All the staffs were well trained and the rooms are great. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Manager at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 28 Sep 2019
"Dear Mr. Jigme, Kuzozangpola! Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback regarding your stay! We’re glad that we could make your stay fantastic. As a valued guest, our team appreciates your feedback and is delighted to hear about your experience. This will go a long way in motivating us. We’d be happy to serve you again in any of our Summit properties Pan- India with the same spirit. Regards, Anjila Yonzon Guest Relations Manager"
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Apoorv wrote a review Sep 2019
Noida, India22 contributions2 helpful votes
As a first point, i would suggest you to choose a hotel somewhere near the town and choose a 4 star hotel. This hotel is near the airport but totally isolated. Once you reach hotel, you will have nothing to do as there are no activities to do in the hotel. Though the room view is good, the overall experience was not too happening. Maybe i went in the off-season but there was no buffet as confirmed, they had a fixed menu for breakfast and dinner, and it was not good enough to feed to my son as except a few dishes, mostly were either not well prepared or were not cooked completely. My expectation maybe was high in this case as it was a 3 star hotel (it was equivalent to Indian 2 Star hotel). Go for a higher star rating Hotel if booking through MMT / Yatra, might make a difference of few thousand in total for 6 days but you will find your overall experience as much better compared to if you are visiting Bhutan staying in only 3-star hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 112 was in middle-front and had a great view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Dear Mr. Apoorv, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our services. We agree that the location is near to the airport and Paro is a small town and there is only a small market there which is 10 mins away from the hotel. Bhutan is known for its peace an tranquility hence most location in Bhutan is away from market. To avoid wastage of food we do not keep buffet during off season. Regarding the food quality I have strictly shared the feedback with the hotel manager. I even personally checked with the team as per them they had checked for the diet restrictions with you at the time of check in. i have even taken the details of the dinner menu served of the 17th Aug. We have noted your feedback regarding the quality of services and have initiated corrective measures regarding the same. We look forward to your continued association with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveTravel590974 wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions
Very good hotel with very good view just near the airport made it worth to stay as paro airport is one of the most important airport in the world .famous for it's take off and landing view .great variety of vegetarian breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Dear Sir/Mam, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the view. We would love to host you again. Hope to see you again in any of our Summit properties Pan-India. Regards, Anjila Yonzon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NIDHI A wrote a review Jun 2019
Hyderabad District, India345 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
This was our very first hotel in Bhutan. We looked it up on MMT & booked it based on the reviews. Little did we know that the place would be so bad. The staff has no manners whatsoever. The common areas were highly unclean. There were lot of noises in the night and we were hardly able to sleep. There were no telephones or fan in the room, as opposed to what MMT had assured!! so MMT you suck too.. MMT even mentioned that AC is there in the hotel.. Let alone AC, there was no fan also..!!!! my parents are old-aged & we requested them to give a room on the ground floor as they cannot climb 2 floors daily. but the hotel people did not even do that despite reassuring every single day.... Whenever we needed anything, we had to go down 2 floors and tell them. After having done that also, the staff was lethargic & never paid attention to the guests needs. The food was bad too. It was bland & tasteless. At the buffet also, things got over and we had to keep waiting endlessly for refills. For that too, the staff was so rude and did not even listen. They pre-filled the kettle daily in the rooms. So once when the staff did not get drinking water despite of multiple requests, i decided to use the kettle water & i was SHOCKED to see what came out. please see the pictures for that. i literally saw that other guests were daily getting empty bottles down for them to refill and give. The hotel did not even provide water in the room.. as if this was not enough, when we complained they did not bother still & just apologised once. There was a man sitting along with the receptionist, he started yelling at me. When i asked who he was, he went ahead & said that he was the receptionist's friend! Can you imagine!!!! it was horrible. ALL IN ALL IT WAS A NIGHTMARE STAYING HERE.. PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumit Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste ! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay with us. Be assured your feedback has been taken seriously and has been shared to the respective department to ensure the right measures. We are looking for an opportunity to welcome you back and serve you the right.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharan wrote a review May 2019
5 contributions5 helpful votes
Location is excellent, 2 mins from river side and 2km from city perfect in the case of paro town , take a walk by river have a stroll cup of cofee or dinner and come back by taxi or walk, 2nd floor rooms are spacious but small windows and bathrooms are old , its damp a bit they have to work on freshening up the room but it's quite comfortable, 1st floor rooms no complaints at all its too good very very nice , close to airport perfect for morning flight
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Dear Sir, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. As a valued guest, our team appreciates your feedback and is delighted to hear that you had a great stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, your feedback regarding the bathroom and damp has been noted with with extreme concern, and we have made necessary improvements. We are located across Pan-India, looking forward to hosting you again in any of our Summit & Mount properties soon. Regards, Anjila Yonzon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HS70 wrote a review May 2019
Hyderabad, India16 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Some of the rooms have only the water tank and cabbage patch for a view. Check before you book or get booked in this hotel. We booked our Bhutan package through Makemytrip (India). Not recommended for a vacation
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Dear Sir, We regret the inconvenience caused to you during your visit at Tashi Phuntshok hotel. Our hotel is located near to the airport and yes it is surrounded by the paddy fields and a small vegetation farm. Paro is a small town which is still developing however Bhutan works on maintaining their heritage and culture. Some of the rooms also has very good view, as you were travelling in May which is the peak season we were probably unable to offer you the best view. Please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcoming you to any of our Summit properties Pan-India in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services. Regards, Anjila Yonzon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pushyamitra2015 wrote a review May 2019
New Delhi, India10 contributions3 helpful votes
This property is not popular among the people of Paro. Distinctly located, outside the periphery of town. Own conveyance is a must to be with. Anybody going there and trying to locate this hotel should ask for hotel holiday home, a stone's throw from Hotel Holiday Home. We were their for two nights. Property is just nice. Staff in general are warm. Restaurant was managed unprofessionally. Staff too was unskilled.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumit Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste ! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our services. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We value your patronage and sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you again to our Hotels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coolsid1981 wrote a review May 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Excellent hotel with unique building style .. outside town and in a calm area .. good and very tasty food and a very friendly staff .. be specific on your requirements up front so that hotel staff can guide you well right from stay till food .. small and compact lawn to leisure out in the evening
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumit Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste ! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. As a valued guest, our team appreciates your feedback and is delighted to hear that you had a great stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We value your patronage and sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you again to our Hotels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shruti Ratnakar wrote a review Apr 2019
Bengaluru, India72 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in Himalayan Tashi for 3 nights and all 3 nights were just wonderful. The staff was warm and courteous and took such good care of us. They even cooked typical Bhutanese food for us when we requested for it. You get wonderful tea all throughout Bhutan and the tea over here was no different. The rooms were pretty wooden cabins with heaters and clean sheets, a tv, tea coffee set up and bottled water for two. The bathroom was also neat and clean with all the required toiletries. The best part is the view from the front door. It is one to die for. It overlooks an apple orchard and a mountain covered with snow on the right. Remember that the people over there are in general very shy and they don’t really like to disrupt their way of life. The key is to flow with them. Only then will you appreciate their culture and tradition and really understand them and enjoy yourself. We loved their hospitality, food and happy vibes and hope to stay there again in the future. Definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumit Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste ! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. As a valued guest, our team appreciates your feedback and is delighted to hear that you had a great stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We value your patronage and sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you again to our Hotels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$63 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BhutanParo DistrictParo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rinpung Dzong (1.4 km), Kyichu Lhakhang (5.4 km), and Paro River (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mountain Cafe, Champaca Cafe, and Brioche Cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Himalayan Tashi Phuntshok Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rinpung Dzong (1.4 km) and Paro Penlop Heritage Home Museum (2.4 km).