We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Sur Inn

Traveller (231)
Room & Suite (107)
Pool & Beach (17)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Little Sur Inn is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. Most rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, Flat Screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 388
  • 180
  • 37
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The thing we enjoyed the most during our stay was sleeping with the slider open so that we could listen to the ocean at night. (We were on the 2nd floor of course) The rooms are large and we loved that ours came with a pair of binoculars for potential whale watching. The
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
It's been my belief that if were staying at the coast for a short visit.. were staying beach front. In that case, were paying more but it's worth it. Little Sur Inn surpasses your beach front expectations! Cant go wrong with a full wall picture privacy window/sliding door of
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We had a very nice time there we stayed 2 nights. The countertop in the bathroom was a little dirty but other than that the room was very nice . we stayed on the first floor and in the very front the only thing that was bad about that was the light on the little sur sign was
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
I booked a room through this hotel and subsequently was diagnosed with leukemia and have been undergoing cancer treatment. I canceled this room and then 14 days after I was supposed to of stayed there they charge me for this room. I called Expedia and the hotel explaining the
Read more
Response from Tara B, Manager at Little Sur Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ms. Tranzow, In response to your review, we would like to present the chronology of events regarding your reservation with our hotel. 1) You made a reservation through Expedia on October 3, 2018 to stay at our Hotel for 5 nights in an upstairs Ocean Front room arriving on February 18, 2019. 2) On January 25, 2019 we sent you a reminder email regarding your upcoming reservation to the email address you provided upon making your reservation through Expedia and confirmed with our front desk associate as being correct. 3) On February 18, 2019 you were a No Show (even though we could see your reservation was still active in Expedia), and were eventually charged for the first night’s stay per the Cancellation Policy you were provided when you made your reservation through Expedia. The total cost of your reservation would have been $1,573.60 and per our cancelation policy, we charged you for one-night stay or $323.68. 4) On Sunday March 3rd, upon seeing the charge to your credit card, you contacted our Front Desk and stated to them several times that you never made a reservation to stay with us. After the front desk associate pointed out that you made the reservation through Expedia you stated that it was fraud, that somebody else made the reservation and not you. The Front Desk then confirmed with you that the email provided for that reservation was in fact yours. You then demanded to speak to a Manager and were instructed to call the Hotel the following morning. 5) On Tuesday March 4th, you called and spoke to Donna at the Front Desk and informed her that you had cancelled the reservation through Expedia but that they never followed through with it. Donna informed you that you needed to take that up with Expedia. After several minutes of being on the phone with Donna, you then said you were going through Chemo and you needed the money for medications. We then received a call from Expedia requesting that we waive the charges. We informed them that we could not overlook the fact that you failed to cancel a 5-night stay in our best Ocean View room and that we didn’t just lose one night of revenue but several nights. At this time, Expedia also confirmed with us that you never contacted them to cancel this reservation that you made directly through them. You then called the Hotel and spoke to the Manager, Tara, who informed you that we were unable to reverse the charge based on the Cancellation Policy you were provided at the time of making your reservation. You proceeded to inform Tara that if we did not reverse the charge you would be contacting the owners of the Hotel, you would be going on Social Media, as well as contacting the News Media. What you fail to understand is that when you use a third party booking engine such as Expedia or Booking.com to make a reservation or cancel it, our staff does not make any entries in our system for these transactions. These transactions are automatically populated in or out of our system as you make the reservations or cancellations with these third party booking engines. In other words, there is no room for error on our end. We cannot buckle to blackmail with threats of disparaging our business on Social Media platforms and the News Media when we have done nothing wrong.
Read more
The room was beautiful and the view was breathtaking, the fireplace added warmth. Very serene for us. Corner room could use the more comfortable chairs like the middle rooms have. It was close to very good restaurants, however the breakfast could use fresh breakfast rolls and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Tara B, Manager at Little Sur Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, The views from our ocean front rooms definitely can' t be beat, and our guests love the ambiance of the fireplaces in the rooms. Due to space limitations, the ocean front rooms with two queen beds don't have the large chairs. Thank you for your valuable input, we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Little Sur Inn
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Photo provided by managementLittle Sur Inn
Ocean Front Room Patio
Photo provided by managementLittle Sur Inn
Oceanfront View
Photo provided by managementLittle Sur Inn
2nd Floor Balcony Room
Photo provided by managementLittle Sur Inn
Oceanfront Room
Photo provided by managementLittle Sur Inn
2 Queen Bed Room
Does the TV have a USB or HDMI port?
I would say Yes as they were latest model flat screen TV's
0 votes
Is there a safe in the room?
I also don't remember one but they had a fridge 🙈😊 it's a great place and I think you'll love it😊 enjoy your stay🌺
0 votes
Show all answers
Breakfast is from 8:00am to 10:am
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, are there hair dryers in the rooms? Thank you.
Just asked my wife and she said: "There will have been because I didn't take my hair dryer with me on that vacation" The Little Sur Inn is a great place to stay!
1 vote
Show all answers
"2nd floor, full ocean view. "
"Hotel is next door to the popular Oyster Bar and walking distance to the very popular Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill!!"
"If you are handicapped, bring a step-up stool to comfortably get up on the high bed which was very comfy to sleep in."
"Pay for the full ocean view upgrade "
"Upstairs, partial ocean view!"
US$ 145 - US$ 377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
little sur hotel cambria
United StatesCaliforniaCambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing