We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

FogCatcher Inn

Official SiteUS$ 167*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 179*
US$ 167*
Great Deal
US$ 178*
US$ 179*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
FogCatcher Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,711 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for FogCatcher Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,660: English reviews
Laguna Beach, CA
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First, this is an older though updated motor hotel, as are most of the hotels on Moonstone beach. This means cars park in front of your room window and there's no A/C - so your windows are open and you hear a lot of noise. Not unique to this place, but notable if you're looking for a relaxing getaway. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LagunaGrrl
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. We appreciate and learn from each of our guests. We understand your concern about our rates during certain high-demand times. We pride ourselves in offering competitive prices and in giving our guests the best value. We will continue to look for ways to exceed our guests’ expectations. Since we guarantee your full...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

How this hotel gets the rating on trip advisor is beyond me. Miserable staff miserable room terrible breakfast. View out he front was my car and out the back was a fence. Where was the garden view? The photo shown for this hotel is very misleading as very few rooms can even see the sea. Stay away go somewhere else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MackemJStu
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are very dissapointed to hear we did not exceed your expectations as we value all of our guests and always strive to provide top notch service and comfort. If you would like to reach out to me personally, I would be happy to speak to you about your experience. I promise to address your concerns to your full satisfaction....

Brea, California
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our family has enjoyed this wonderful FogCatcher Inn for the past 20 years. The location, the staff, and the fantastic rooms keep us coming back. I forgot to mention the breakfast which comes with the above. Web are not talking a simple continental breakfast but a full spread of eggs, sausage, fried potatoes to die for, plus cereals dry and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boblev1044
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much your positive reviews! We are pleased to hear that the FogCatcher Inn is your families #1 destination when traveling to the Central Coast. We value your business and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to having you back soon! Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My new husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in February during our honeymoon roadtrip from San Francisco to LA. We arrived around 8pm, tired and hungry. The lady at reception was very helpful and immediately handed me a glass of champagne (said I looked like I could do with it!) She showed us a map of Cambria and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay especially being that it was your honeymoon--congratulations! Thank you for your positive comments and maybe you can make the FogCatcher Inn your annual destination to celebrate your marriage! Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Chicago
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for one night on my way down from San Franciso to LA and it was a real treat. The location is perfect, very scenic, the hotel it self is very cosy and the grounds are kept very well. The staff was the highlight of the trip very friendly from the GM to the cleaning staff. Would have loved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chicago2020
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Wow thank you for your positive review! We are happy to know you enjoyed not only our lovely setting but are staff as well. Our staff enjoys working here and I am glad you were able to experience first class service. We hope to have you back as a guest in the not to distant future. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location could not be better for moonstone beach just literally a 30 second walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was good with two large beds and (very) tall ceilings, however we personally found the beds to be uncomfortable. We enjoyed the self serve breakfast as there is a good variety of food to choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin241
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the FogCatcher Inn and appreciate the time you took to provide positive comments about the FogCatcher Inn. Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We really enjoyed the fogcatchers inn. The location was lovely for a walk along the beach and although out of town was within walking distance of the moonstone grill; which was great. The rooms were light and fine for one night. Breakfast the next morning was entertaining as it was all self serve (including making your own waffles). Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsrj
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Glad to hear you were able to enjoy your stay at the FogCatcher Inn. Also happy to know you were able to take advantage of the boardwalk along the beach and take in the beautiful scenery. Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We are two Australians driving around the USA during July. We stopped here on our SF-LA drive along Hwy 1 and the Big Sur. Lovely to hear the ocean at night. Bed was firm and we liked that. Only complaint would be the lack of privacy curtains, you can't let natural light in without getting a bit public as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheCrimsonRosella
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to having you back as a guest soon. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had stayed in Cambria before, but the hotel we wanted to book was sold out, so we ended up in the Fogcatcher Inn. We had chosen garden view. There is no garden by the way, just a parking lot and some flowers around the edges. But the first room we were given was in the back. Basically no daylight...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Conihor
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate the time you took to review the FogCatcher Inn and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am however, happy to hear the staff was friendly, welcoming and accommodating as we like to impress upon our guests our exceptional guest service. If you would like to speak to me personally, I would be happy to...

Reviewed 30 July 2014

From the mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect so I was pleased to find the Fogcatchers Inn was very nice. The room was very spacious and well kitted out. We walked just a few doors along to a pleasant restaurant for dinner and to watch the sun go down. The beach was spectacular and was only a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowleopard112358
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised with all the FogCatcher Inn has to offer! We will be glad to have you back as a guest soon. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

644 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (620)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (242)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
786 reviews
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
842 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
809 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: ₹ 11,886 - ₹ 23,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Partial sea view was more than adequate”
Destinationdick, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“703 gives you a peek of the ocean without paying the "view" room prices.”
JanetE060, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Splash out if you can, the ocean view rooms are delightful.”
Buggsi, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The inn is not inexpensive but fairly priced for the area. The rooms are modern, but the overall setting retains its older charm.”
donnac557, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Reserve a second floor oceanfront room. They're awfully nice.”
2peripatetics, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
US$ 167* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 178
Hotels.comUS$ 179
TripAdvisorUS$ 178
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates