We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlin Country Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carlin Country Cottages
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Carlin Country Cottages
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Spent 2 nights here, the rooms are ok, but could do with some maintenance, just minor things. But overall the place was ok, the pool was good to relax in after a long day sightseeing. The area has some nice shops locally all within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
San Francisco, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in Cottage 14 recently after not visiting for a couple of years. Maybe it depends what cottage you get, but this two-bed (in one room) kitchen cottage was uninviting. Both of us struggled with the metal key (old school style) every single time we had to use it. It was all we could do to get the key to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
San Mateo, California, United States
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Other than the pleasant front office desk staff, this motel has little to recommend it. The cottages were very sparsely furnished with old, worn furniture, and the walls were almost barren of any pictures. The hot tub, supposedly fed from the natural hot springs that underlie Calistoga, was not very hot, and whenever the jets would come on, the first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike_SanMateo
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Booked room over the phone. Friday, 01-20-17 8:52 pm checked into room and was charged in full. 9:30 pm realized that both televisions did not work, picked up phone to call office and realized the phone did not work. Walked to the office and found a note on the door indicating the office was closed until 9:00 am. Experienced issues...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank connieb05
Sun City, Arizona
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Carlin Cottages is an older property, however, our Room #1 had been recently renovated with all new paint and tiles and fluffy white towels, tasteful wall hangings.The micro, mini-frig and bar sink came in very handy for our 6 night stay. The mineral water was piped directly into our in-suite Jacuzzi...oh what a beautiful feeling. Don't be concerned about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucky M
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I booked our room over 3 months ago. This morning I received an email that they canceled my reservation. When I called, the lady stated they were canceling due to "construction." We are set to visit next weekend and have our flights booked. I asked the receptionist why they didn't call me earlier, and she said "the owner wanted me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruffanddrool
georgicos, Manager at Carlin Country Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry that we had to cancel your reservations with us due to our construction. I understandstand you had booked your reservations in December 6 weeks ago. Since you mentioned that you had bought you airline tickets we tried to help you to find a hotel room to our other hotel in same price. We could only accomodate your...

Reviewed 3 January 2017

I realize lodging is expensive on a New Year holiday, but with a 704 price tag I would have at least expected an open socket to plug in my cell phone without having to put it in the bathroom. The desk clerk had to bring over an extension cord and pull out the bed to plug it in. The jacuzzi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverly O
georgicos, Guest Relations Manager at Carlin Country Cottages, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you didn't have the experience you were expecting and want you to know that we are making corrections to fix them. We are in a process off remolding and replacing the furnitures and other amenties in our rooms. We have natural hot spring mineral water which is naturaly hot. When there is more then one...

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Very comfortable rooms. We enjoyed the spring fed swimming pool very much as well as the hot tub. The cottages are located right in town so it's easy to walk anywhere. The rooms could use some updating but they are clean and comfortable. The rooms have kitchens so one can prepare meals and/or barbeque. Very peaceful location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia195854
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Mold smell, huge stains on carpet, front door does not lock, not a two room suite, what a laugh The internet connection does not work, Refrigerator does not cool. What else, no hair dryer, They have a no return policy once you pay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia S
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewed 9 November 2016

older units, quaint with spa tub in room. no bath fan was disconcerting. good quiet location within easy strolling distance of main street shops and restaurants. priced well. well maintained swimming pool and hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank furch1

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.1 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
496 reviews
0.6 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
403 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
1.1 km away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
421 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Carlin Country Cottages

Address: 1623 Lake St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1329
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Price Range: ₹ 10,178 - ₹ 16,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlin Country Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Carlin Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlin Country Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlin Country Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carlin Country Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In March 2017, Cottage 14, bad as it was, was still better stocked than Cottage 15.”
janicer439, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Although there is a large outdoor pool, we much prefer the privacy of in-suite hot tub.”
LuckyM_11, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't believe the pictures, internet does not work no hair dryer as advertised”
cynthiasL5071HB, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Shop and you will find this room compares well.”
, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“keep looking”
JBScoold, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5