We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 784: English reviews
Start your review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
 Click to rate
Philadelphia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was placed into a recently renovated room which had all the features one could want; a small refrigerator, desk, coffee maker, etc. The room was exquisitely detailed with high end finishes like granite counters and a huge shower with oversized shower head. I was on the ground floor, and it was quiet. The resort feels very small and intimate;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovebeaches08
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful remarks. The renovated rooms are beautiful and incorporate many upgraded amenities which you enjoyed experiencing. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed soaking in our natural geothermal water and the seasonal landscaping that is done seasonally throughout the property. Our staff continuously strives to provide excellent customer service combined with a relaxing and tranquil...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night here in late February. It was rainy and chilly, but this made the pools even more special. Room and bed was fine but nothing too special, but we came for the hot water. The three pools are really nice. Large outdoor pool was a nice temperature for relaxing, and I liked that they had foam noodles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmptravels
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the mineral pools and took advantage of soaking during your stay. Our staff consistently strives to provide excellent customer service in a relaxing and tranquil environment. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Stockton, California
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Mineral pooks were great. Massage appt was a disaster. Awkward. Not handled well. My daughter and I only want a female masseuse. It was not a discussion while booking on the phone . I was told" on the web site it says make or female". Again booked by phone. The male masseuse was rude and put out to not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizannemiller1
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your massage appointment was a disaster. I apologize for your experience upon arrival to find that your masseuse was a male. You are correct that it does state on the website to request a male or female masseuse if one has a preference, it also should have been noted by our staff during the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Don't trust the info over the phone and double-check the details yourself if you book, because they will not take responsibility for giving you incomplete information (and make you feel terrible in the process.) When I called to reserve and inquired about the hotel's policy, I was told that I'd be refunded in full if I cancelled within 3 days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneBagJack
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate experience with us. Our cancellation policy states that if a reservation is cancelled within three days prior to arrival, the individual shall be refunded their full amount minus a $25.00 cancellation fee. I apologize if this policy was not made clear to you during the time of making your reservation...

Reviewed 27 January 2017

I've been going to the Roman Spa since the late 1980's, and it's always been a place of respite and solace. Maybe it's seeing the same folks behind the desk, and the same wonderful maids, and the fact that I can walk into my favorite room (one with a kitchen) and know it's going to be just as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We value and love hearing from guests such as yourself that return to us for many years in a row.It provides us with not only positive feedback but also is a reminder of why we continue to strive to create an amazing experience.

Reviewed 28 December 2016

I stayed over the summer. The place had a nice outside area. The room we stayed in was as good, no fancy. Average Hotel room, older standard room The hotel staff were friendly. The pools were a little to hot. The location is one of the best I have stayed at. It was off the street and walking distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Susan, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our pools are natural geothermal water and run between 98-102 degrees year round, depending on which pool you are soaking in. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed there with my husband, mother and daughter for a family get together. Hotel location is off the main street (it's a plus) and only 2 min walk to the main street, shops and restaurants. When we were there (weekend) the farmer market was open next to the hotel- fun! The hotel building is set in a small garden, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dafna D
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as being able to enjoy soaking in our natural geothermal waters. We seasonally landscape for the enjoyment of our guests as well as to enhance the serenity of the property. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Tracy, California, United States
Reviewed 11 December 2016

From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. Judy at the front desk was very helpful and we found our room easily. Had a great night's sleep on a large, comfortable bed. It was a bit chilly so we didn't go into the outdoor mineral baths. Will definitely do that next time. We walked to town, right around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaureeninTracy
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that your stay was the perfect getaway. It's wonderful that you took advantage of the ability to walk one block to main street while exploring the many shops, restaurants as well as meeting local artist Kokomo. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Northwest Indiana
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stayed at the Roman Spa for five nights because the usual place we stay at for our Napa trip was unavailable. We were very pleased, however, and will definitely return! The accommodations were clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size and it was nice to have a mini frig and coffee maker in the room. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cubfans
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's wonderful to hear that your experience with us was enjoyable and that you will be returning to us again! Our geothermal pools are truly a relaxing and rejuvenating aspect to our property, as well as guests enjoying the ability to soak and socialize with fellow guests. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We booked a room with the intention of pampering ourselves. We wanted to relax and that's what we got at Roman Spa. The front desk staff are great and the room with a kitchen is large. The pools are well maintained and the courtyard is very comfortable...Tables, chairs and umbrellas amongst plants and pavers. There were two barbecues available but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deno P
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Dear Deno, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay here at the Roman Spa. We landscape seasonally for the enjoyment of all of our guests and the changing of seasons. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Kitchenette (30)
Viewed
Family Unit (39)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Standard King Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
396 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
489 reviews
0.9 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.5 km away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
5.8 km away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1442
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Price Range: ₹ 15,054 - ₹ 20,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#8 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
7 months ago
1 month ago
Stockton, California
5 months ago
Visalia, California
6 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles lovebeaches08, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer the building in the back (150's) and don't mind negotiating stairs for the second floor quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles D7723RUkarent, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No elevator to second floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Cubfans, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pick a downstairs room for convenience. Stay away from a room near the pool area...I saw two rooms that are near the gate to the spa area.”
 of 5 bubbles den0p, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with kitchens looked to be more dated. They are updating a lot of their rooms. Maybe ask for an updated/remodeled room.”
 of 5 bubbles terip564, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5