We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Orbitz.comUS$ 247*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 247*
US$ 247*
US$ 247*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 790: English reviews
Start your review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
 Click to rate
Parker, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Location since it is one block from downtown Calistoga. Clean rooms, fridge, kitchen, stove, small table. Nicely remodeled and a mineral pool heated by the Hot Springs into 90s year round. We enjoyed a wine tasting on the Friday evening and had a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimCrypto
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as taking advantage of your room with a kitchen and soaking in our natural geothermal water. Our wine tasting's will continue throughout the late fall on multiple Fridays of every month. We look forward to serving you again in the...

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am not sure why this place does not have a ton of stars. If you are looking for a relaxing quiet, serene place where you can really rejuvenate this is it. I was debating whether to write this or not as you will find my nirvana spot. I come every year and hang out in the pools (notice there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allbusinessnoplay
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We love receiving reviews such as yours that share your wonderful experience with us time and time again for other traveler's to see! We truly strive to create a serene, peaceful and relaxing environment that we hope can be our guests home away from home. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoy so...

Sacramento, United States
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from another fantastic weekend at the Roman Hot Springs Resort. The staff is always professional and helpful from the office staff to those who clean the rooms and keep the grounds. This is our 3rd time staying here and on this visit we received a free upgrade to a room with a kitchen. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherilyn B
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We love hearing from repeat guests such as yourself that enjoy returning to the Roman Spa time and time again. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed soaking in our geothermal waters and exploring the town of Calistoga. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Beijing, China
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were a party of three adults and three kids (grandma came along) and booked two rooms. The geothermal pools were really great, but what was the highlight of the trip were two hanging hummingbird feeders that attracted so many hummingbirds all day long. I couldn't peel myself from them as you can see the birds so close that sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivy W
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you found our overall property, rooms and pool area to be enjoyable. It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed exploring other areas of the Napa Valley including the Rutherford Grill, a local favorite. In regards to our pool area rules, the Napa health department regulates and restricts...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to a Calistoga spa for mud and massage. Roman was great for a couple who each need their own space while still doing a "couples" spa day. We prefer shared mud and shared shower so there is help getting the mud off! The staff was great, as was the massage, and the value is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brit E
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your second visit to Calistoga as well as our mud baths! I will pass along your encouraging and rewarding compliments to our staff at the spa. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Benicia, California
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Spent the past weekend with my three daughters for birthday weekend. The hotel is a block from middle of town. There is a farmers market on Saturday from I believe 9am-1:00pm. The three pools are perfect after a day of wine tasting and walking the town. Nice way to relax. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you like deep tissue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 851travelbug
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your deep tissue massage. You are correct in that we do rent robes, however we rent them for $5 per day not $24. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Philadelphia
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I was placed into a recently renovated room which had all the features one could want; a small refrigerator, desk, coffee maker, etc. The room was exquisitely detailed with high end finishes like granite counters and a huge shower with oversized shower head. I was on the ground floor, and it was quiet. The resort feels very small and intimate;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovebeaches08
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful remarks. The renovated rooms are beautiful and incorporate many upgraded amenities which you enjoyed experiencing. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed soaking in our natural geothermal water and the seasonal landscaping that is done seasonally throughout the property. Our staff continuously strives to provide excellent customer service combined with a relaxing and tranquil...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We spent one night here in late February. It was rainy and chilly, but this made the pools even more special. Room and bed was fine but nothing too special, but we came for the hot water. The three pools are really nice. Large outdoor pool was a nice temperature for relaxing, and I liked that they had foam noodles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmptravels
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the mineral pools and took advantage of soaking during your stay. Our staff consistently strives to provide excellent customer service in a relaxing and tranquil environment. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Stockton, California
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Mineral pooks were great. Massage appt was a disaster. Awkward. Not handled well. My daughter and I only want a female masseuse. It was not a discussion while booking on the phone . I was told" on the web site it says make or female". Again booked by phone. The male masseuse was rude and put out to not have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lizannemiller1
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your massage appointment was a disaster. I apologize for your experience upon arrival to find that your masseuse was a male. You are correct that it does state on the website to request a male or female masseuse if one has a preference, it also should have been noted by our staff during the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Don't trust the info over the phone and double-check the details yourself if you book, because they will not take responsibility for giving you incomplete information (and make you feel terrible in the process.) When I called to reserve and inquired about the hotel's policy, I was told that I'd be refunded in full if I cancelled within 3 days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneBagJack
Elyse Q, Guest Relations Manager at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate experience with us. Our cancellation policy states that if a reservation is cancelled within three days prior to arrival, the individual shall be refunded their full amount minus a $25.00 cancellation fee. I apologize if this policy was not made clear to you during the time of making your reservation...

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Kitchenette (30)
Viewed
Family Unit (39)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Standard King Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
406 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
501 reviews
0.9 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.5 km away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
5.9 km away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1442
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Price Range: ₹ 15,826 - ₹ 21,575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#8 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
9 months ago
3 months ago
Stockton, California
7 months ago
1 month ago
Visalia, California
8 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the first level”
JimCrypto, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They have a set of upgraded rooms that were totally renovated which are quite lovely may want to check into their cost and availability.”
allbusinessnoplay, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Those with little kids or seniors would find first floor rooms much more convenient.”
841ivyw, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the pool which closes at 10:00pm”
851travelbug, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
lovebeaches08, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 247* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 247
Hotwire.comUS$ 247
Booking.comUS$ 247
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates