San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Traveller (852)
more of 3012
Room & Suite (341)
Dining (84)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#4 of 11 hotels in Burlingame
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience style and substance combined at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront (SFO). Ideally situated minutes from SFO, our San Francisco, CA, hotel features complimentary shuttle service to and from the SFO International Airport, as well as easy access to the BART and Caltrain. After a busy day, relax in tech-friendly accommodations, workout in the fitness center or enjoy cocktails at Flights View Lounge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court offsite
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
San Francisco Intl Airport
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
18.7 km
See all flights
Millbrae
18 minCaltrain
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,256 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location, the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront is acclaimed by many for its convenience and safety. Guests frequently commend the hotel for its pristine rooms and the professional demeanor of its staff, though some point out occasional service delays and spartan atmospheres. While the spacious rooms with impressive views are a highlight for some, others cite concerns over room size and noise. Moreover, the additional costs for parking and Wi-Fi have led to some questioning the overall value of their stay.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,256Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 814
  • 895
  • 329
  • 127
  • 91
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
miscmail21455 wrote a review Jan 2020
Rockport, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This Marriott, close to San Francisco International Airport (SFO), has consistently been our favorite place to spend the night prior to our next-day flight from SFO. If you can spend some extra bucks and it is still daylight when you check in, get a room looking over the Bay to watch planes landing and seeing the shallow, changing tidal flats. The huge bar on the ground floor (which always seems to be packed) has commanding views as well. Depending on your room location, it can be a long walk to your room. If you have the time, there is a great public walkway along the Bay front just out the doors of the hotel. Nice dinner and breakfast on-site, as well as several good restaurants within walking distance. The airport shuttle has always been on time, quick, and professional. Only significant downside is the steep parking fees, with or without valet service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear miscmail21455, Thank you for making the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront your preferred choice to stay before catching your flights. We are thrilled to know overall you had a pleasant experience and that the convenience of our complimentary shuttle service to the international airport worked out well for you. We also appreciate you mentioning our newly transformed rooms with beautiful views as well as our on-site restaurant and bar. However, we regret your disappointment with our parking fee. Please know we review our pricing regularly to make sure that we are priced competitively. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Shane Okumura Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
W S wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, Alabama
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for busines and enjoyed the stay. Catching a ride form the airport was easy and fast. Check-in staff was friendly and quick. Comfortable rooms - thank you for the mini-fridge! Lots of outlets for recharging mobile devices.They have filtered water station on the lobby level which is an OUTSTANDING addition to the facility! Those of us who travel with water bottles appreciate the filterd water. The food in the lounge was excellent and reasonably priced! I'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Dear W S, Thank you for making the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront a part of your business trip. We are thrilled you appreciated not only our seamless service and thoughtful amenities but also our delicious food. It is also nice to know you loved our comfortable rooms. We are grateful for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to our area. Shane Okumura Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
SippyCupAdventures wrote a review Feb 2020
Roseville, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to SF for a music event in the city, but, we're a bit intimidated from staying IN the city, so, I was looking for an alternative, and we enjoy watching airplanes, so, why not stay next to the airport?

When we arrived, we were a "bit" disappointed in where our room was, but, probably not the fault of the Marriott. We asked for "water view" and a high floor, and that is what we got. We were on the top floor, but was obstructed a bit by the layout of the hotel. We really wanted a full view of the Bay and watching the airplanes come and go.

We called down, and at no extra charge, the staff got us a full view of the Bay on the 5th floor. So, if you want a full view of the Bay and airport, don't request for a high floor.

We had lunch at the Flights 101 Lobby Lounge which was good, and in the evening had dinner at the Hangar Steak. Dinner was very tasty.

In the room, we really loved that they have smart TV's, and we were able to listen to our music through YouTube at no extra charge. Bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Just NOT A FAN of the gliding restroom door which did not close entirely. I hate these doors, which seem to be commonplace nowadays. My wife does not feel comfortable with these. Really wish these more modern hotels would simply go back to the good old fashioned closing door.

As we were organizing getting ready to check out, and I was standing in front of the window, it was a REALLY REALLY windy day outside (as a matter of fact, SFO canceled all landings at this time), the main window came unhinged and was about to fall to the ground! Looks like a pin broke. My wife called maintenance as I stood up and held the window in place as best I could from the wind and the window coming crashing down lol! Maintenance came as soon as they could. Not the fault of the staff. Blame it on the incredible wind I guess.

Despite this, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: For a FULL view of the entire Bay and airport, don't request a "high floor"
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Sippycupadventures, We appreciate you choosing the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront while you were here for an event. We are glad we were able to accommodate you with the room you requested and that you were pleased with the comforts of your room and the lovely bay view it provides. It is also nice knowing you had a great time at Flights 101 Lobby Lounge. We would also like to thank you for helping out with the window situation. The winds were definitely strong, and we appreciate your timely assistance. It is always a joy to hear our guests are excited about returning; we are looking forward to it! Thank you again and safe travels. Shane Okumura Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PDM wrote a review Feb 2020
Needham, Massachusetts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t know about you, but when I travel I have trouble sleeping in a small bed so I reserve a king size bed. That is probably the single biggest factor in choosing a hotel. If a hotel cannot guarantee a king bed, I choose another hotel. So I was extremely disappointed when I reserved a king bed at the MARRIOTT Waterfront in SFO and arrived to find that they didn’t have the room/ bed type that I had reserved weeks earlier. The front desk staff said they had no more king rooms and assigned a room with two double beds. The excuse given by the front desk staff was that the hotel was sold out. That is not a valid excuse for not honoring a reservation made weeks in advance. The purpose of making a reservation is to ensure that the guest receives the desired room upon arrival. The hotel simply chose to not honor my reservation and gave the room I reserved to another guest.

Aside from that one major issue, there was a weird mechanical/ construction noise that started at 5:00 a.m. that added to the sleepless night. I was in room 5022 so you want to avoid that room if you plan on sleeping past 5:00 a.m.

The only good thing I can say is that the hotel is close to the airport and the airport shuttle was convenient.

This Marriott bills itself as a four star hotel.. it is not..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear Paulieboy9 We first want to thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our shuttle service. We are happy this service was an added convenience for you, and we thank you for sharing this with other travelers! However, please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding the room you requested. We do try to honor these requests; however, there are times when we do not have the room unoccupied and available. We do understand your frustration, and we truly regret disappointing you. We are committed to providing a comfortable stay with exceptional service, and we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience whenever your travels bring you back to the area. Shane Okumura Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary W wrote a review Mar 2022
Daventry, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for business meeting as close to airport, location good free transit every half hour after 7pm. Nice bay views and on waters edge. The Wi-Fi is not bad. But hotel struggling with services compared to European hotels in Covid. I’ve had safer and better breakfasts in Greece or Germany with self service gloves etc. The room was tired, low pressure shower with only 1 pressure “On” etc. I asked about cleaning after 3 days and was told I had to ask for it(forgotten at check in) they still forgot to hoover under the bed nor reset the safe that was locked open. Meals not great, there are better local restaurants we subsequently found, but not what you expect after tiring 11hrs travel etc. Also working in lobby in afternoon the bar was shut till 4 and Starbucks closed at 2 so no drinks other than vending. Staff friendly hence I gave average
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Minnie M wrote a review Feb 2022
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel, clean and comfortable with a nice track water side to have a jog. Theres a mini shopping area with a few grocery stores and a small Walgreens in Millbrae which is a half hours walk away. Nothing else to do in the area that’s walking distance and the only shuttle service is to the airport. You can hear the planes landing and taking off but it’s not enough to disturb you’re sleep (unless you’re a very light sleeper). FYI there’s a microwave on the 4th floor in the guest laundry room. You need your room key card for access, follow signs for guest laundry when you exit the lifts. My room had two double beds and a shower (no bath) a coffee maker and a fridge. As most hotels in the USA, the bedding is two flat sheets wrapped around an open duvet (duvet covers don’t exist here so when the flat sheets become separated from the duvet you’re sleeping with the previous occupants dirty duvet). This is normal and acceptable in the USA! You can watch Netflix direct from the TV by logging in with your subscription details. There’s a Starbucks open in the mornings and a small shop selling snacks and drinks and microwave meals. The club lounge is still closed at the moment claiming it’s for Covid reasons but all other food outlets are open as normal.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen D wrote a review Feb 2020
Los Angeles, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed her and paid over $600 and under $300 depending on what big convention is in tow. This is a convenient taxi or shuttle to and from the airport. There are really great views in the lobby and I imagine the rooms but I never seem to get a water view. My room looked out on to the atrium which was strange because people could definitely see in my room. The gym could be bigger.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Dear KarendU3998WG Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and the compliments on our shuttle service. We are happy this service was an added convenience for you, and we thank you for sharing this with other travelers! However, we apologize that you were disappointed by not having a water view, and we regret any frustration and inconvenience this caused. We do everything possible to honor requests; however, depending on our occupancy, it is not always possible. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an outstanding stay on your next visit to San Francisco. Shane Okumura Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phyllicia W wrote a review Sept 2021
Honolulu, Hawaii
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The service that I received was awesome. I was able to check-in early, which allowed me to relax and enjoy the walkable pathway behind the airport. I also liked that there was a Starbucks located inside the hotel. The room that I was first assigned had a great view and it was big, but I had an issue with the toilet because it wasn't flushing. The front desk moved me to another room in the corner, which was even bigger. The location is close to the airport and the on/off ramps to freeways, and since the hotel has a free airport shuttle, I ended up returning my car rental early.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SQUALO85 wrote a review Feb 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall great customer experience, comfortable atmosphere, all member of staff operated with a smile and happiness at all time, especially Mr. Devan has always been of great assistance and extremely supportive, loved his enthusiasm. Facilities, the hotel itself, all good, M Club Lounge Access was quite convenient as well, however, swimming pool would need a bit of cleaning, Jacuzzi a bit too hot, the gym was all good, the hotel itself in a pretty strategic location, easy to access the airport by a complimentary shuttle bus, or by your own car, stunning view to the runway of SFO from the lobby or some of the upgrade rooms. Will definitely recommend this place, it's a nice one.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear SQUALO85, Thank you for recommending us to future travelers. We are delighted you were impressed with the excellent service provided by our team, especially Devan, and that you also loved our fitness center and M lounge. Thank you also for highlighting our terrific location in your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Shane Okumura Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Momalita wrote a review Oct 2021
Holly Springs, North Carolina
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Marriott Airport Waterfront hotel for one night before departing CA. The hotel is close to the airport and offers a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes.. The hotel is impressive, (it is rated a level six) overlooking the water and SFO runway with a large common room. However, many of the amenities listed on their website (and repeated when you are placed on hold) were not offered. Food options were quite limited. The hotel restaurant ONLY operates on weekends. Their M Club was closed. The only place for breakfast was Starbucks, and as you can imagine, it was quite busy. Sandwiches were offered at the Marketplace, but they all contained pesto. Not a great option if you have a nut allergy. I requested extra towels, but they were never delivered.
I selected this hotel b/c of its proximity to the airport-but there are negatives- besides lack of services- like noise. The Soundproofing was poor. We could hear the planes as well as the person next door singing. The hotel should consider providing ear plugs (The Renaissance in Nashville does this). Nothing like hearing all of those Red eye flights taking off at midnight. Despite the hotel's mask policy many patrons were unmasked.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Elsibai, Guest Services / Front Office at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Responded 4 Nov 2021
Hello there, Thank you for this feedback and thank you for being Elite member. We are so eager as our customers are to have everything open and we cannot wait. I will share this feedback with the team and we look forward to serving you soon. Please reach out to me prior to next visit to ensure your stay is flawless and share with with you prior to your stay of what’s open and what is the current business level and availability of amenities. Looking forward to serving you soon. Mohamed
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T M asked a question Aug 2022
1 contribution5 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer in room dining (aka room service) as of August 2022?
Answer from Kalo R
Unfortunately, we do not offer in room dining however our Flights restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with dine-in or to-go options.
RD2607 asked a question Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore29 contributions13 helpful votes
Is there an outlet mall or a departmental shopping mall close to the hotel?
RD2607 asked a question Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore29 contributions13 helpful votes
Hi Is there any outlet mall close by or a large departmental store?
BAK wrote a tip Jun 2024
9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Forget about a pool. If its important look elsewhere this property seems not to care. Expect to pay excessive prices for food. "
Read full review
mauithunder wrote a tip May 2024
Cameron Park, California27 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was made very easy"
Read full review
Keith W wrote a tip Apr 2024
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania48 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room facing the lobby atrium or the bay."
Read full review
ANDY1888 wrote a tip Mar 2024
WALNUT51 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very rude and likes to discriminate "
Read full review
Worlds_of_Wonder wrote a tip Nov 2023
San Francisco, CA315 contributions263 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a water view in some way. Confirm and double confirm what they tell you and what is on the website."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Burlingame area.
PRICE RANGE
₹13,446 - ₹21,296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san francisco airport marriott waterfront hotel burlingame, marriott hotel burlingame, marriott burlingame, burlingame marriott
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBurlingame
NUMBER OF ROOMS
688
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAN FRANCISCO AIRPORT MARRIOTT WATERFRONT (Burlingame) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Which popular attractions are close to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Nearby attractions include Bayfront Park (0.5 km), Shorebird Sanctuary (0.8 km), and Rider Easy (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include New England Lobster Market & Eatery, In-N-Out Burger, and Grill and Vine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront have an airport shuttle?
Yes, San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront have airport transportation?
Yes, San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Burlingame HotelsBurlingame Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BurlingameHotels near San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire