We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

After road tripping California for two weeks this was a lousy way to end the trip. No hot water & no AC. Owner offered a $10 discount on the room after we already took cold showers. She would not refund money and offered us a different room. We've stayed at several America's Best Value Inn's before but this franchisee clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessinFlag
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that there was a maintenance issue with your room, and I’m pleased to hear that we were able to resolve this for you by moving you to another room, meaning that no refund was necessary and you were able to complete your stay. The discount was by way of an apology for...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Undergoing upgrading construction at present of an older motel. Notwithstanding that we spent three quiet, restful weekend nights here. Yes, it did show its wear, but will be upgraded soon. Manager and wife were very helpful. Quiet, off the main street location but yet close enough to walk to restaurants. We look for secure, quiet, clean and reasonably priced rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hplunkett
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. We are indeed making changes to the property to make it an even nicer experience for guests like you. I’m glad you were satisfied with our great location and clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. That experience will only improve as we complete our renovations. Thanks again for staying with us, and I’m sorry you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The room is a good size with a little kitchenette and an ensuite shower. The building is quite old and the towels were off White with age and wear. Definitely need replacing. The breakfast was quite good including corn flakes with milk, crunchy red apples, fresh muffins, and orange juice. The breakfast is placed in the very small office so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jetset700
Culver City, California
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is obviously a economic choice, a motor lodge sort of motel for the value-minded customer. It was the cheapest room I could find in Bishop, and I knew we were only going to be there long enough to sleep and get back on the road, so I took the chance. The owner called me while I was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank butfoodcomesfirst
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I stayed in #105 for around $55 (w/AAA discount) for one night--you can't beat the price! The room was decorated with light green theme. It was clean and was actually a true "non-smoking room" (many older motels like this say non-smoking, but you can still smell the smoke from decades of being a dive motel; this was not the case...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ryan P
Reviewed 16 September 2012

What can I say. A bad experience. A/C didn't work, flying insects in the room, bathroom ceiling leaked water, coke machine non-op for dollar bills. This establishment has all the looks of a bad owner operator. Stay somewhere else in Bishop.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justabmwnut
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the ABVI Bishop CA during your last visit. We have referred your review and appreciate your observations. We shall take it seriously and wholeheartedly for improvement. We have carefully checked the points like the ceiling leakage, AC, insects and also all other amenities. Please note that we have checked and improved upon all the...

Reviewed 14 September 2012

During our one night stay, we made a few informational visits (for wireless connection, coffee creamer, and bath tub, etc.) to the office in courteous manner, and consumed at most 5 minutes of their time. Shortly after these visits, the hotel staff called our room, telling us that we had made a lot of troubles, and that if we weren’t...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jongleur9418
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for staying at the Comfort Inn, Tulsa. We noted your review and apologize for the inconvenience caused howsoever. We have investigated the issue and we have never come across such a complaint earlier, but your review is serious to us. We have ensured that such a report never comes again from any guest and the hotel...

MANNHEIM
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Bishop is a pricey location, so I had to leave other better known chains out of consideration and settled for this one. Of course it is an old small place, but the reception was friendly, even cheerful, check-in went smoothly, the lady was very helpful with suggestions where to eat. The rooms were the usual motel-style, a bit worn, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VolkerS2
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here inbetween driving from death valley and Yosemite. As a cheap stopover it's fine. The room was a decent size, restaurants close by, free wifi and generally quite comfortable. We weren't expecting luxury so it suited us fine. Our room and bedding was clean. My only issues were - the breakfast is not great & the pool looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusty1103
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the ABVI, Bishop CA. We appreciate your review and observations which will definitely help us to improve. We are thankful for putting the good things as well as the improvement points straight. We have definitely acted on improving the breakfast and also to keep the pool clean. We would love to see you again...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 29 July 2012

absolutely filthy place! Blood stained bed sheets .. stained chair, grey towels (had they been washed in the last couple of weeks or were there used for wiping the floor before ? unclear).. it is amazing that this filthy place got a license to operate. You better sleep in you car than sleep there! So basically, either skip Bishop altogether...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smart_and_select
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and the review. We definitely appreciate every kind of criticism and suggestions about our hotel. In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve. We have addressed to your observations like bed sheets, towels and also the amenities in the best possible manner and would like you...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.8 km away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,404 reviews
0.4 km away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
170 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
425 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
222 reviews
0.9 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#16 of 20 in Bishop
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514-3538
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: ₹ 4,642 - ₹ 7,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn Bishop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles RonR987, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the ground floor to save lugging gear upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles muzicluver, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“just don't book at this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cpostali, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Get a non-smoking room--cleaner”
 of 5 bubbles veliagonick, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try staying on the ground floor motel part”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelW175, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay