We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grey Squirrel Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Grey Squirrel Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Grey Squirrel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Chula Vista, California
Reviewed 21 October 2012

While there are mostly cabins here, we stayed in one of the motel-type rooms, Buck. It was a warm weekend during the day, but got pretty cool at night, so this end room was really nice with windows on 3 sides that opened. There was a fireplace for cooler evenings and also a wall heater with a thermostat. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bshelhuntr
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review

You are great to come back after 10 years. Thank you for the review and I hope you don't wait another 10 years!!!

Costa Mesa, CA
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We called Grey Squirrel Resort after trying several other places in the area the same morning of our stay. They had one cabin left and we took it. We stayed in the Coyote cabin, which has it's own little driveway off of HWY 18. The Cabin was just fine for us...decorated a bit like Grandma's house from the 80's, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kinikin
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband kids and I stayed in the badger and loved it! It is a nice clean cabin with hardwood floors and a beautiful kitchen. Also it has a little gated area so we were able to leave the cabin door open and not worry about my black lab running out. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the utensils....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Stephanie R
Rancho Mirage, California
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I just completed a 3 night stay in the cabin called Moose at the Grey Squirrel Resort. This little one bedroom cabin exceeded our expectations by a long shot. It had a generous sized living room, dining area and bedroom with a full bath. The kitchen was clean and well stocked with all the dishes and utensils...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dogmother36668
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review. It makes owning this proerty worthwhile after 25 years of trying to appeal to customers like you! I remember you, I was the one wrestling with trying to catch a gopher in the grass! See you soon

Wrightwood, California
Reviewed 14 May 2012

After some tough weeks, work-wise and while building a small home as well, it was suggested by a friend of mine to "escape" for a little weekend getaway and what better way to enjoy such a mini vacation, then to plan it on Mother's Day weekend... the crowds of ski season were gone and there were a few weeks to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Luv2Travel4662
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review. We have recently switched over to the "European-type" bedding which provides a more inviting, comfortable and clean experience with the extra pillows and sheets. We are older but unique in our presentation. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was not our first visit to the Grey Squirrel Resort, and for good reason. This is a fun little hideaway resort, where you can stay in a motel style room, or a cabin. It is not new or fancy, but it is "clean, comfortable and friendly". Has a good size jacuzzi, and I appreciated that no children are allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Remlapm
Orange, California
Reviewed 10 February 2012

this place is clean and nice - nothing super special kinda older but its central location and its parking is good - you get the feeling that you are in your far away babin but near others. they keep the grounds clean and nice - they also have available other homes for rent off the main property. the heating is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JohnSarfati
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do Manage Vacation Rental Homes around the Grey Squirrel Resort proper, which can give you a different perspective on the lake, new or whatever. The Resort is older almost"historic" so indeed takes even more care in updating, re-modeling and re-decorating. We are always trying. Thanks for noticing!

Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Beware the fine print; internet only works at the front desk if you're staying in one of the cabins. Might not be a problem in the summer, but when its snowing and you're stuck in doors its a pain. TV has maybe 15 channels so that's not much comfort. Staff was also rather rude when we asked about wifi. Other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichNewark
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't necessarily enjoy your stay. Wifi has 2 antennas but Charter cable does go in and out if we are having storms. We now have an upgrade with the 2 nd antenna, but can't guarantee storms. Cable TV has expanded stations, 2-74 and you have a Flatscreen and a TV in every bedroom. I don't want to be...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This place is okay, very rustic, as you would expect from a cabin rental in Big Bear. It's a five minute drive from the Village. Unfortunately we had two major issues with this place. Firstly, when we lit the open fire in our cabin (it was called Beaver), it completely smoked out our entire cabin. When we arrived we noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canyonmom
BigBearBlueSky, Owner at Grey Squirrel Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Bunk beds can be difficult as the matress sets on a board but I thank you for your comments and will check it out. As far as the fireplace, the grate must be puhed to the back of the firebox or it will try and draw air from the room verses...

Heber, California
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in Mink cabin. The location was good close to Alpine Magic Mountain and not too far from the Village and city grocery stores. Well equiped kitchen. Fireplace was great. Not a 5 star but it is a cabin so it worked out fine. Stayed for new year's eve so was a little pricey but fits quite a few guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 32332Michelle

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 km away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
2.1 km away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
128 reviews
1.5 km away
Shore Acres Lodge
Shore Acres Lodge
#6 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#23 of 44 in Big Bear Region
151 reviews
1.7 km away
Embers Lodge
Embers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Big Bear Lake
6 reviews
4.1 km away
Wolf Creek Resort
Wolf Creek Resort
#14 of 44 in Big Bear Region
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grey Squirrel offers cabins on a 3 acre park-like setting, for individuals, families and groups. There is a seasonal heated pool and indoor jacuzzi (adults), volleyball, shuffleboard, horseshoes, croquet, basketball,and even a chipping area. The Grey Squirrel also has Vacation Homes all within a 2 block radius of the resort, providing larger accommodations with various amenities like private jacuzzi's and Pool Tables. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Squirrel Resort

Address: 39372 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Price Range: ₹ 10,394 - ₹ 18,696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Squirrel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grey Squirrel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Squirrel Hotel Big Bear Lake
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grey Squirrel Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles cynlife, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“The Doe is connected to 2 other rooms, but no noise or running into people. Limited parking for the room/building.”
 of 5 bubbles nrg04, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles CherylS0, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask about room sizes!”
 of 5 bubbles BrittN201514, 25 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Better places for less money. Do your homework.”
 of 5 bubbles MarkB662, 15 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay