We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Berkeley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Berkeley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 340: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 May 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendell H
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Berkeley
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel is cleaned and nice a/c /heater not working right can not be turned off by switch only has to unplug it..coffee inside hotel room taste very bad... We came back to pick up our luggage from front office after checked out at 11am and had to go to a meeting and come back to catch up the taxi I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie L
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Sorry, you felt the service was not good. However, I recall you came back to pick up your luggage and you said, "the service was good and we loved the rooms!" We don't have a public restrooms. the restrooms are in the rooms only. you came after 3pm that is when everyone checked inn. no rooms are open to use...

Chatham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The room furnishings were tired. The bathroom (shower no bathtub) had been renovated and the shower was very good. Many steps and no elevator--so if you have much luggage, or steps are an issue--request 1st floor. One of the clerks was very nice--the other was surly. The surly one turned off the tv in the breakfast room at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in our motel. we are happy to know that you liked our well re-designed room and enjoyed a night in our motel. we please you to come back again and stay you few night. we are five block far from university and ten min walking distance from Bart station. we welcome you to come back again....

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed one night in the Super 8 in Berkeley and were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. It was clean and very spacious, the bathroom was excellent with a really good shower. It was conveniently situated on University Avenue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gr J
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay in our motel. we welcome you to come back again and stay with. we are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our motel, enjoyed our redecorated room, breakfast and attractive location with peace full environment. with much respect thank you. management.

Berkeley
Reviewed 20 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My supershuttle from the airport took nearly two hours from SFO and when I got there at 12:30am the door was locked and the night staff was surly. The room smelled very musty, the walls were thin enough to hear a neighbor cough, and the next day the same day staff was rude and unfriendly again. The water was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne F
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are open and dedicated to give you a service 24 hours a days. When you checked in we provided your room immediately. We don't remember making you wait and we have our front desk manager works at night shift all the time. Next day, when you came in for breakfast, I remember you saying...

Berkeley
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Everything was very good for this kind of hotel. Very comfortable and clean. The guys in the front desk were very kind and helpful. I don't live in the US, I was coming for a research visit in the University, so they helped me a lot giving me all the information I asked for and solving everything I needed. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catalina S
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for the response. Please come back again and stay with us. We are dedicated to give 100% service to the guests and we would be pleased to have you again in our motel. We always try to make sure customers are satisfied with the service we give and money the paid for it. Best customer service is always...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian C
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is a great value - wonderful location and great price. You're walking distance to UC Berkeley, 5 minutes from the freeway exit, and within a short walk of great coffee shops, pubs and restaurants, and BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) that can get you to San Francisco in 20 minutes. Plus: Plenty of off-street parking, close to Interstate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leotheleo
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome response. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back again. We are very delighted and would be happy to welcome you here again. We are centrally located in Berkeley few blocks to downtown and UCB. We have free parking, internet and continental breakfast in the morning. We are also...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place is horrendous. The customer service is beyond terrible, because it's nonexistent. Tony, one of the employees, has got to be pretty much the worst person I have ever met. Extremely rude, unprofessional, and unhelpful. Don't stay here, unless you want to feel uncomfortable and entirely regretful about your stay. It's not worth a cheap price, stay somewhere else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria M
tiny1980, Owner at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Dear guest, First and foremost we do not find you in our system. If you were the person who was overbooked and we had to relocate you somewhere else then we are truly sorry for the inconvenience. However, we also apologized at the moment and refunded the whole amount for the relocation. If you are upset about that then we...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.4 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
315 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,106 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.1 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1424
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: ₹ 5,662 - ₹ 24,129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Berkeley staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Berkeley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a choice ask for more interior an less exposure to University Ave - not sure how much that really matters though”
 of 5 bubbles Gringacriolla, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“In order to save you a call when the office is closed, I share this tip with you: the breakfast time is from 6:30-10AM.”
 of 5 bubbles cheryfan, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There's no elevator, so ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles N6807NYbarbaras, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at street side”
 of 5 bubbles G880KRrichardm, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't book the room here”
 of 5 bubbles LeonardoNeves, 6 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay