We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Booking.comUS$ 226*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is the second time we stayed here while visiting our sons. Our room was clean and neat. We had a small refrigerator to bring home leftovers from dinner and a microwave. The price was good. The WiFi was slow at night, but earlier in the day it worked. We plan to stay there next time we visit our sons.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank basketmommie
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is an adorable little motor inn. Our room was a simple king bed, HBO and free WiFi, complimentary breakfast, which we didn't partake. The WiFi went caput in the evening, probably because of the load that everyone was putting on it at night. Bathrooms are really nice. Overall, simply a nice, clean stay. You can also tell the the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maltaplication
LA
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We flew to Berkeley to see my daughter's dance show, and it also happened to be Cal Day. The hotel we usually stay in raised it rates, as many hotels do during special event weekends. This Rodeway Inn on University was the lowest price option and also had some reasonably good reviews. I was not disappointed with the motel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pwillard
San Diego, California
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Frankly, I was a bit surprised seeing the place after the good reviews. The place was just okay, better than bad, but not good. The rooms were not dirty per se, but there was something about the whole place that was just sketchy. On a good note, the man that worked there was pleasant and the breakfast was a decent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank darlene08
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that the front desk clerk was pleasant and our complimentary breakfast "decent". All of your comments have been sent to upper management. Thank you.

Irvine, California
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We didn't need a lot of room or luxury, so saved about $70 over our usual hotel down the street, and originally paid for two nights through hotels.com. Yes, the room was VERY small, and the furniture was scuffed. However, the carpet seemed new, and the tiny bathroom had granite counters and seemed completely remodeled. The TV was fine, as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SharonToji
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

It is nice to hear you found your bed was "comfortable and everything was spotless", the "TV was fine, as was the internet connection". We are glad the desk clerk was able to help you with your problem. Thank you for staying at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn, and for taking the time to write a review.

Kingsburg, CA
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It doesn't look like much from the street, but you pull in and find a nicely kept one story court. Our room had a nicely painted and upgraded room and bath with tile floor bath and crown molding in the bedroom. Small bedroom for two beds. Wireless internet was fast and easy. New flat screen TV. Breakfast was toaster waffles...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kingsburgguy
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to hear you found our exterior "nicely kept", the wireless internet "fast and easy", and enjoyed all of the new upgraded features of your room. Thank you for staying at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn, and we look forward to your next visit!

Redmond, Oregon
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed just one night to visit our son for his 30th birthday. One night was plenty. From the outside it looks nice and is very convenient to downtown Berkeley. Unfortunately, the property is quite tired even though some updates have been made. Beds are doubles, that is all that is available. Morning was quite noisy but the coffee was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dancingdonna
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your stay with us and your comments have been sent to upper management. Thank you.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights. One good thing is it is close to BART station - Berkeley North. (5 min walk). It has got few restaurants close by - Indian Food, HImalayan Flavor, pizza places and couple of cafes. But nothing else. If you do not have a car, its far away from amenities. Service was average, rooms are fine....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pushkar K
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

It is nice to hear you found our location close to the BART Station, your room "fine" and our complimentary breakfast "not bad". Thank you for staying at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn.

Northern Virginia
Reviewed 26 April 2013

On the positive side, this property is certainly nicer than most Rodeway Inns. The exterior is very appealing with flowers, fountains, picnic tables etc. The room had things you don't expect in a Rodeway like granite in the bathroom. The wifi was excellent, which is very important to me. The breakfast was decent - props to them for having quality...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J J
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know your found the exterior of the Berkeley Rodeway Inn "appealing", the Wi-fi "excellent" and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Your "drawback" comments have been sent to upper management for review.

Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were getting into OAK late. I called early in the day to confirm. The person who answered the phone asked me to wait. I heard water running. Then heard a toilet flush!! Needless to say on checking in I used my own pen! The rooms were small. BUT CLEAN!! The walls were patched. The beds were soft and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josh L
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to hear you found your room very clean and your bed "soft and comfortable" while staying with us at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn. We do apologize for the background noise you heard when you called earlier that day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (101)
Viewed
Handicap Queen (20)
Viewed
None Smoking King (23)
Viewed
None Smoking Queen (20)
Viewed
None Smoking Two Doubles (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.3 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,201 reviews
2.4 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
360 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.2 km away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#13 of 20 in Berkeley
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: ₹ 7,076 - ₹ 19,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Rodeway Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Rodeway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
  • Furniture needs to be replaced.
  • There was a spider in my room!
  • The bathroom was the cleanest part of the room.
  • The furniture was really gross.
adearajeanm, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 128 is very quiet”
avinashreddyb2016, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No views, all rooms face an interior court - so are similar in noise level”
ThomasT727, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“North rooms are furthest from the street.”
craigc409, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on north side are noisier near ice, vending, etc.”
craigchristiansen794, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 226* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 268
Expedia.comUS$ 226
TripAdvisorUS$ 226
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates