We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
889 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1057
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$82
View deal
Booking.com
$82
View deal
FindHotel
$76
View deal
Priceline$82
Travelocity$82
Hotels.com$82
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 01/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 64 hotels in Bakersfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located conveniently off of CA-99, Red Roof Inn Bakersfield is located close by to many eating, entertaining and shopping opportunities including the Valley Plaza Mall and Maya Cinema. Many museums are nearby including Buck Owens Crystal Palace and Museum, Pioneer Village Museum and Buena Vista Museum of Natural History. Fox Theater, Mc Murtrey Aquatic Center, Golden West Casino and Rabobank Arena are also only a short distance from Red Roof Inn Bakersfield. Nearby colleges include Bakersfield College and California State University – Bakersfield. All guestrooms at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield include free Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-refrigerator, and flat screen TV. Select rooms include hairdryer, in-room coffee, iron and ironing board. A coin laundry is available for guest use. Relax in the outdoor seasonal pool (April – November, weather permitting). Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet is permitted. *$100 refundable deposit is required at check in for all guests.*
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
222Reviews7Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 81
  • 39
  • 22
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jørn B wrote a review Aug 2022
Klimmen, The Netherlands52 contributions30 helpful votes
This place is so old and not well maintained that it should be closed. The most annoying thing is the airconditioning. The noise is as standing next to an old car. Carpet is full of dirt and should have been replaced long time ago. Bathroom not clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shetal Patel, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Responded 19 Aug 2022
I’m so sorry about your experience. We are currently under renovation and the original baseboards were removed. The new baseboards are on back order and we should be receiving them in September. I can assure you that the room you were in will be completely deep cleaned Play my housekeepers today.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sabastion A wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
One of the best hotels in Bakersfield, very clean and very nice staff! Bathroom was clean and had a really good shower. Bed was comfy with clean bedding. It was also very quiet and I couldn't hear other guests so that's a big plus!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deborah F wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
This a small Red Roof Inn. No mention of a 100,00 security charge on the reservation website but demanded on arrival. People talking outside the room. If your on the 1st floor you can hear every pounding foot step above. The towels are very thin and almost worthless to dry off. Why are they charging Reward Members a security deposit?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna wrote a review Jan 2022
Grass Valley, California7 contributions
I have never filed a formal complaint, but did against this motel and the manager. The room above us was excessively loud the entire night, and we didn't sleep an hour. People were walking, rolling chairs, and talking nonstop the entire night. There is zero soundproofing - we could hear everything above us. We had an 18 year old staying with us who was scared. It was the worst experience I have had. At midnight I told the front desk. The clerk apologized, called the manager, and the noisy room. It quieted briefly then continued all night. At 3am I went up myself to ask them to quiet down after no resolution from management. No luck. At checkout I told a different clerk, who was also very nice and apologetic, and who said he had not known about the situation (despite the manager claiming he did, perhaps to try to blame him). I asked him if we were going to get the refund and he said he was sure we would, but that the manager would have to confirm. The manager called the next day to offer a 30% discount. She adamantly refused a full refund, blaming us for not complaining a second time, for not leaving the hotel room in the middle of the night to go to a different hotel, citing that they "barely break even." When asked what she would have done, she literally said she would have "gone to the Hampton Inn down the street for $150 where there is less noise." I told her I would file a complaint to the hotel chain and BBB, and considered calling the police given our concerns about what was going on in the room above - she said she did not care and offered to give me the sheriff and mayor's personal cell phone numbers. On top of this the room was very dingy and dirty with hair on the bed and a large sticky stain on the carpet. I will never return to a Red Roof Inn and hope anyone reading this will NOT go to this location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Roof Inn Bakersfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Responded 19 Jan 2022
I apologize you did not have a pleasant experience while staying at the Red Roof Inn in Bakersfield, CA. When you came to the front desk at 11pm to complain about the noise from the room above yours, room 215. I would have gladly offered you a different room had one been available, but there were none. All of our rooms were occupied. It is true you were offered a full refund if you wanted to leave even though you had been in the room for nearly 8 hours. You stated that it was too late and you would stay. The guests in 215 were called immediately and told there was a noise complaint. They needed to be quiet or they would be asked to leave. In addition, I watched the video from the security cameras and saw that 2 occupants in room 215 left shortly after the room was called. Since there were no other complaints regarding noise from that room or any other room during the night, I assumed the problem had been resolved. As a gesture of my concern, even though you chose to stay, I gave you a 33% discount and credited your card. I am very sorry that you and other members in your party did not feel safe. The safety and security of our guests and employees is my highest priority. Given the fact that you felt so unsafe, it is difficult to understand why you would want to stay, let alone feel it necessary to confront the guests in room 215 at 3am in the morning. We want all our guests to have a pleasant experience and restful night when they stay here. However, there are circumstances where this does not always happen. We address any guest complaint as quickly as possible. I do apologize, but it is not reasonable to expect a full refund when you chose to stay in the room for over 15 hours. Had you left at 11pm when you said you wanted to leave, you would have been fully refunded as offered. Once again, I am sorry that my 33% refund does not meet your satisfaction. I understand that we have lost your business, but I am hoping that you will not judge the entire Red Roof brand by your experience here in Bakersfield and reconsider staying at a Red Roof Inn in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin C wrote a review Jan 2022
Los Gatos1 contribution
In reply to other reviews, this is what we experienced: The good- The lady we talked to on the phone to book our room and who checked us in was very pleasant. I'm sure she is somebody's sweet abuelita. There were no cockroaches. Our room did not smell like smoke. Our dog was free. After $75 the night before somewhere else, free was amazing. It was a fairly quiet night. Yes, it is on a busy street, but the traffic did not keep us awake. We heard the people above us arrive, but once they settled in they were quiet. The not-as-good- We checked in in the middle of the afternoon and the lobby was locked. We had to talk through plexiglass and a small window. Not sure if this was because of covid or security. Some things seemed a bit sketch, but nothing bad happened. The heater/AC unit sounded like an airplane when we turned it on. Thankfully we didn't need it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Roof Inn Bakersfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Responded 12 Jan 2022
Thank you for your review our stuff does try very hard to make your stay comfortable and the room clean. We have the lobby doors closed because of Covid and because of the homelessness in the city. Ever since Covid, the streets of Bakersfield has seen a rise in homelessness and mentally ill individuals on the streets. Unfortunately our business and lobby doors face the street so for the safety of our staff we have kept our lobby doors closed and continue checking in guests through our night window. The plus side is our lobby is facing the entrance so we do keep our hotel safe and secure. I will make sure to fix the AC unit immediately. Thank you again for your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jasmine wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Recently traveled here with family and I would definitely stay again! Beds were comfortable, room was clean, and staff was extremely helpful and kind. Free wifi was really helpful to get some work done too!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Roof Inn Bakersfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for leaving such a great review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Bakersfield.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had a great experience staying at Red Roof. The rooms were very clean, the staff was helpful, very comfortable beds. The rooms have everything you need, they’re so neat and cozy. 10/10 would recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Roof Inn Bakersfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your review. We have double pillow top mattresses that are more on the firm side and we love them too. We are also pleased to hear that our stuff took care of you well you stayed with us at the Red Roof Inn, Bakersfield.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie M wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Red roof was a pleasant experience, I enjoyed the clean room and the employees were all very friendly, housekeeping was also very welcoming and no matter how many towels I kept asking for no one gave me a problem, I definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Roof Inn Bakersfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Wow, thank you for such a glowing review of our hotel. our entire staff tries really hard to make each and every guest’s stay a wonderful one. Thank you again and we hope to see you return to the Red Roof Inn, Bakersfield soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony Mitchell wrote a review Jun 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed here two nights for buisness. Two of the staff members there were excepitional. The first was the manager. Her name is Zina. She very polite and courteous. Although there is not much parking for large trailers, she showed me where I could park my RV. She also instructed the staff to keep an eye on it for me. The second person names is Gelsey. She is an absolute doll. She is so nice and genuine when it comes to her duty at the front desk. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that what's a clean and friendly place to rest.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Roof Inn B, Manager at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Responded 26 Jun 2020
What a great review!!! Thank you so much for mentioning the names of our staff. We love Zina and Gelsey too. At Red Roof we are obsessed with our guests and try to make sure they enjoy their stay. Thank you again for your wonderful review and hope you will continue to tell others of our hospitality. We hope to see you again when traveling thru Bakersfield.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Genice Marie wrote a review Jan 2020
Homestead, Florida28 contributions9 helpful votes
After driving for many hours we stopped around 10pm and check in to The Red Roof Inn. The bathroom had wood rot on the floor boards it was clear that the shower or toilet had over flowed. The bathroom/room smelled like mold/animal urine. In the morning when we woke up to see the real deal. It was full of dust plain gross. The bed was clean that was a plus. Stay at your own risk!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Americas Best Value Inn - Oak Street
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBakersfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Which popular attractions are close to Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Nearby attractions include Camelot Park (0.5 km) and Saunders Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Bear Diner, Firestone Grill, and Bootleggers Craft Pub & Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Inn Bakersfield?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Red Roof Inn Bakersfield accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.