We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA

Save
Share
3318 California Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1074
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!CLICK HERE TO SAVE UP TO 45% BY BOOKING DIRECT!
Expedia.com
$85
View deal
Booking.com
$85
View deal
FindHotel
$82
View deal
Travelocity$85
ExtendedStay$85
ZenHotels.com$89
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (2)

About

#42 of 64 hotels in Bakersfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Free grab-and-go breakfast: Jumpstart your day with a free grab-and-go breakfast that includes a variety of breakfast bars and muffins, hot cereal, coffee, and tea. Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Special Offer:CLICK HERE TO SAVE UP TO 45% BY BOOKING DIRECT!
138Reviews4Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 14
  • 23
  • 25
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
The Nitusa wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Filthy, unsafe, exceptionally rude staff. There have been situations in my travels where I had to sleep in my car. I will sleep in my car once more before I ever stay at this crap hole. Hookers, people going through the dumpster, a line of guys sitting on the ground drinking in the hallway. The lobby door doesn't have a handle, only a deadbolt. You have to talk through a phone on the wall like in jail. What's that tell you?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rooms at any other hotel is my tip
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 21 May 2022
Dear Unhappy100man, Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our hotel. We were sorry to read your comments and would like to start by offering you our apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. Our main goal is to provide an exceptional stay for our guests with comfortable accommodations and responsive, friendly staff. After reading the details of your experience, we regret this was not your experience. We have shared your feedback with our team, so these issues do not happen again. Thank you again for your candid feedback; we cannot improve without it. We are looking forward to having you stay with us once again so we can provide you with the flawless visit you deserve Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BarbieNevada wrote a review Dec 2021
Nevada25 contributions62 helpful votes
This place is disgusting. My husband stayed here one night, had to wait 20 minutes for someone to show up to check him in, the room had sliced up chairs and holes in the wall. He asked to be put in a non smoking room, they said it would cost more??? It was listed as having shuttle service from the airport (Priceline) it doesn't. Do yourself a favor, don't stay here!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: None, they are beat up
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 7 Dec 2021
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize for our accommodations and service not meeting your husband's expectations and for the inconvenience caused. We have taken note of your comments and will address them appropriately. We also regret your disappointment with our airport shuttle service not being available during your stay due to the current circumstances. Please know that this information is available on our websites, so our guests can be aware while making reservations with us. We are very grateful for your feedback; we hope you will change your mind and consider giving us another opportunity to provide you and your husband with a perfect visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandro Chaviano wrote a review Jun 2021
Kissimmee, Florida, United States4 contributions7 helpful votes
We are travel nurses that reserved a pet friendly fly room at this location about a month before our traveling date. On the day of arrival, we called the front desk to request our room on the first floor. They said they found the reservation and the notes that we were traveling with pets but they didn’t have any let rooms available. They said they could not grant the reservation made a month before. We explained we traveled 3 days straight from Florida to California (14 hour/ 3 days) and asked if they could convert a non pet friendly room to pet friendly, since we’re were staying for at least 3 months. The manager said she can’t do that because she was concerned about a “possible” client with a “possible” allergy 3 months down the road. They didn’t care to fix a current client need that was on the street and didn’t have a place to stay due to their negligence. They said to call the other location in town to see if they could accommodate. We called the main customer service number and complained about what happened. They apologized and opened a case asking the regional manager to call us within 24-48 hours to fix the problem. They advice to reserve with the other location and their prices were higher but the regional manager could possibly help with difference in pricing. We then called reservations and indeed the other only location in town was more expensive but we were willing to go with them as we needed a room. When making the new reservation, I asked the lady on the phone to confirm with the facility if they indeed had a pet friendly room available. After checking, she said they didn’t have any per friendly rooms either. She advices to call customer service back. When customer service was called They advice to wait for the general managers call back (1-2 days) before even letting me speak. I explained I had new information. That the second location had no rooms for us either and that we were left on the streets. I explained I was arriving that day and I needed to hear from the manager for resolution. I was told the regional manager did not answered the phone but they asked him to call us that same day. It’s been 2 weeks and no one ever called. We needed up going with the competition and had to pay 1K more a month in rent because there was nothing else available in town. This is the way this company mishandle their reservations and their customers. They don’t care about travel nurses, they don’t care about human beings, they don’t care about nothing. Make sure you don’t give them business unless you want to end up on the streets as they are not reliable at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read about your experience and sincerely apologize for the issues you had with your reservation. We are reviewing this with our front desk team to see what went wrong, so we can avoid this in the future. We understand your frustration and hope you will consider this as an isolated event and will give us another opportunity to provide you with the wonderful experience you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raquel D wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I would definately recommend ESA to my family and friends. The staff here and great, and very helpful to anything you may need, from towels to toilet paper or even pots and pans. They make you feel comfortable just like if you were at home away from home. The rooms are always clean and they are very accomodating to my dog so if you have a pet/s, ESA is the place to be. They are located right off the freeway which is very conveniant as well is the many gas stations all around too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 30 Apr 2021
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review your experience at Extended Stay America. It's so nice to know you found your suite comfortable and you were pleased with the exceptional service from our staff. We work hard to provide high levels of service, so we will share your compliments with the team to let them know their efforts are appreciated. Thank you for recommending us to future guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natasha D wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
The staff here is awesome always understanding and kind. They definitely look out for their guests. They go above and beyond their jobs to ensure we are satisfied. The rooms are cozy and feel like home. I stay as much as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 30 Mar 2021
We are so pleased you had an excellent stay at Extended Stay America. We couldn't be happier that you liked our comfortable accommodations. We are especially glad to see that our associates made you feel welcome and left you with a good impression of our hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback. We would love to have you stay with us again! Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wanderlust5260 wrote a review Feb 2021
368 contributions64 helpful votes
One of the worst motels I've stayed in. Staff ignored emails and messages sent on booking.com. Check in/out process is a pain (you have to call first). No coffee or grab-and-go breakfast provided. The room has a kitchenette but no pots/pans/plates/utensils provided (they expect people to travel with these things?). There is one chair and a one seater sofa in the room. So cheap with toiletries - you only get one packet of shampoo.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant stay you had, and we regret you were not aware of our kitchen amenities. Kindly note, to ensure cleanliness, kitchenware for your suite is available at the front desk, and our team delivers it to your suite upon request. Also, we regret your disappointment with our breakfast not being available during your stay due to the current circumstances. Please know we have updated information on our hotel's website so our guests can be aware of what we offer currently. We do hope you consider staying with us again, as we would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrlee W wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
I have stayed with ESA in several locations and enjoyed my stay. At this location, I felt that my privacy was violated and I was not treated respectfully as a customer. I was charged a $100 deposit at check in that was not returned to me and my bank debit card was not accepted for payment. I was asked to pay cash throughout my stay. The room had carpet and laminate flooring damage at check in. People entered my room while I was away and management reported to me that my room was not clean to their standards.I ended my stay early as I was uncomfortable extending my stay there. I left the room clean. I will not visit this location in the future and I would not recommend to other travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ESA GM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 3 Feb 2021
Thank you for sparing some time to share your concerns with us. We are disappointed to read your comments and regret the inconvenience you had. Concerning the refund of the incidental fee, we humbly request you to reach us at our front office as our associates will be more than happy to assist you. We will also review the rest of your comments with our front office team. We appreciate your patience and hope to restore your trust in us. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yup y wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Spent 3 days at this hotel. Room was clean and very nice like recently remodeled. Security did a great job patrolling the area. Front staff very respectuctfull and courteous. Would definitely go back again if I'm ever in bakersfield.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from iResponze Alerts, Agency / Consultant at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 7 Jan 2021
Thank you for the glowing review of Extended Stay America. It's a pleasure to know you liked our well-kept accommodations and were impressed by the service provided by our courteous associates. On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
staceywalk wrote a review Nov 2020
Sacramento, California104 contributions30 helpful votes
I was a little bit afraid to book a room after reading the reviews here. However, I was only staying the night and leaving early so the price tag appealed to me. Cons: bed was small, itchy blanket, fan too noisy, thin walls, floppy pillows, and no breakfast served at this time during covid. Lots of cats hanging around the property. Pros: kitchen, location, free WiFi. Regardless of reviews, I didn’t find the location to be sketchy with homeless people. We stayed on a Friday night and all was quiet and safe. I was disappointed about the breakfast but we took advantage of the kitchen and cooked. We had to call down to get a box of cooking supplies. Even though they said they delivered it if we asked, we had to go down and get it. That was a pain as we were on the 3rd floor. Overall, it’s the not the worst hotel or the best. Of course I could pick it apart. You get what you get at the price you pay. We paid about $60 a night so it’s fine enough for one night sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from iResponze Alerts, Agency / Consultant at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 21 Nov 2020
Thank you for choosing us for your overnight stay. We are happy you liked our great value, convenient location, full kitchen as well as our complimentary wifi. However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations with your suite and the breakfast. We have also shared your comments regarding the kitchenware with our team, and we will make sure our associates are more diligent going forward. We hope to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Virginia wrote a review Nov 2020
Bakersfield, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
All bad,I booked a room online went there a little after 1:00 PM because online said come anytime, so anyway I went there girl at the front desk said I was confirmed with my booking but I could pay $25.00 dollars to get in my room right then but she said it was better to wait until 3:00 incase I didn't like the room. I thought that was kind of odd so I left and hung out at the park drive around just to kill time,it was about 15 minutes when I headed over there I get there about 3to5 minutes after 3:00. Here goes the really good part! The guy proceeds to ask me for help I told him I had a room reserved and he goes looking online while the girl who helped me the first time on arrival and another girl standing next to her, he looks at me and says there were no more rooms left that accommodates dogs, another words they had gave my room to someone else and I wasn't getting one! I looked at the girl who told me to come back at 3:00 that my room would be ready. I was very upset asking questions why while the girl had nothing to say but the girl and guy did .Needless to say I waited 2hrs.for nothing!!! I will never return there or and I'll be sure to tell my friends, my family ,my friends friends, my family's friends, anyone and everyone for that matter to never stay there or anyone affiliated with them it's all bad. Thank you for your bad experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from iResponze Alerts, Agency / Consultant at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Responded 14 Nov 2020
Thank you for sharing your review. Please accept our apologies for any issues you encountered at our front desk. We will share your remarks with our team to ensure these types of mistakes are not repeated. Also, we are sorry that our hotel was overbooked and we were unable to accommodate you. We offer no excuses for this mix-up, and we regret the inconvenience. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will offer us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
extended stay america bakersfield, extended stay bakersfield, bakersfield extended stay
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBakersfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA
Which popular attractions are close to Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Nearby attractions include Camelot Park (0.1 km) and Saunders Park (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Bear Diner, Firestone Grill, and Bootleggers Craft Pub & Eatery.
Are any cleaning services offered at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, CA accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.