We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#17 of 58 hotels in Bakersfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Rest easy at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield. Our hotel in Bakersfield, California is located near the Kern County Fairgrounds, Buck Owens Crystal Palace, and the campus of California State University, Bakersfield. After a busy day, retreat to the comfort of our spacious, newly renovated accommodations that boast plush bedding, complimentary Wi-Fi, flat-panel TVs, and views from private balconies or patios. Start your day at The Bistro, where you can fuel up with your morning dose of Starbucks coffee and breakfast and after a long day, make your way back for dinner paired with a tasty cocktail.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
271Reviews2Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 113
  • 58
  • 22
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
David L wrote a review Dec 2023
Cottonwood, California2 contributions
I broke down in my truck so needed a couple nights. Fortunately I picked this hotel. The staff is super nice, the bistro does not have a lot of choices but what they are is great and they make nice cocktails. Rooms and the whole place is very clean and the beds very comfortable. Please tell Monique she does a great job and was so nice and helpful. Would absolutely recommend this hotel ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Very clean and comfortable beds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
marlaine k wrote a review Nov 2023
Fort Mohave, Arizona42 contributions11 helpful votes
Great hotel. Check in/out is so easy. Great people. Hotel is very clean and quiet. Beds are excellent. The bistro has a nice assortment of items and is very quick. Nice bar also. We always stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
IllyCoffeeDrinkers wrote a review Nov 2023
Flagstaff, Arizona1053 contributions526 helpful votes
A hard pass in the future. Why? How about a $50 pet fee for two dogs for just one night, no free breakfast, no microwave in the room and if that if not enough, how about Marriot placing a single 1L bottle of water in the room and trying to sell it to us for $6? On the plus side, the rooms are neat and above average, there’s lots of parking and the staff is friendly. For us however, this just isn't enough to induce us to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtyard Bakersfield, Other at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield
Responded 5 Nov 2023
We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jin H wrote a review Sept 2023
Rancho Cordova, California50 contributions17 helpful votes
My family trip to LA, we stayed for a night. In the morning we ordered sandwich from the bistro in front of lobby to take out. It took more than 20 minutes so I asked to them. They missed my order, even it was not that busy time. After another 5 min got them. While my 5 years old son having sandwich in the car there was big vinyl piece was in the sandwich. I’m not sure it was piece of wrap or salad packing. He was almost swallow it but luckily he throw up since it is long vinyl piece. I took some photos in case and text to the lobby, and they voided charge for the sandwich. They didn’t do any action when I talk to the person at the lobby but After post my review on Marriott I got 5000 points from them. Look like they don’t really care about it. Size of vinyl was not safe at all if my kid swallow. Never saw this kind of thing not even Marriott but also any foods in my life.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
k8tklc wrote a review Sept 2023
Tucson, Arizona9 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed after a grueling drive from Big Sur…closed road, backtracked …ugh. Meant to stay at the Hilton Garden inn but cross eyed tiers we check3d in here which is next door and closer to the street. Smaller room with one king bed but very nice, newly redone, clean and quiet. Really liked that they have a casual food place in the foyer, ordered like fast food but it was not fast food-like. It was good and freshly made. also it was open until 10:00 PM so we, two starving tired people could be fed. I’m the morning they have a mini Starbucks Adjacent to the foyer restaurant. There were fewer choices but the coffee was good. Overall I would stay here again and preferred it to the Hilton next door
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
herculesmom wrote a review Sept 2023
Cancun, Mexico, North America137 contributions63 helpful votes
Booked online and secured an early checkin. Reception was welcoming. Room very clean and modern. Nice size TV. Fridge and ironing board. Decent fitness center. Guest laundry had two machines and neither working. Keycard entrance into hotel, laundry, fitness center. Quiet rooms even though near a freeway. Three floor hotel, and didn’t hear noise from hallway or other rooms. Property located across Costco, near gas stations, Starbucks, fast food locations, and two chain restaurants. Property on same footprint as four other similar brand hotels. Stayed at another next door, and this property and experience was 100% better in all aspects.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TimAndMattTravel wrote a review Jul 2023
United Kingdom530 contributions93 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for one night travelling between the national parks and Vegas. Easy to get to with plenty of parking, we had a gound floor room which provides access from both the main hotel corridor and also with a sliding door directly to the central courtyard area. For a video review of this room, head over to You.Tube and search for 'Tim and Matt Travel' for this and many more. The room was clean, and provided a sofa and desk with space for eating and working in the room. There were options for on site food, but also plenty within a short drive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cristina Herrera, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield
Responded 30 Jul 2023
TimAndMattTravel, Thank you for your stay with. We appreciate your business. We have recently renovated, please stop by again and see all the improvements we've made. Hope to see you soon!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark C wrote a review Jul 2023
Torquay, Australia75 contributions27 helpful votes
After a long day travel, excellent stop over point. Rooms spacious and beds comfortable. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was very tasty. Enjoyed the the chance to soak up the beautiful pool area before starting on our journey again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rachele G wrote a review May 2023
Sacramento, California46 contributions58 helpful votes
Ugh—this hotel was average AT BEST. Stay at the Springhill Suites. It was a much better experience. Here is why it isn’t worth your time or money: -Front desk staff did not welcome us as Elite Marriott members -Luggage carts were “lost.” -Given wrong directions to room. -Few parking spots after 9pm, had to park very far away and walk in near darkness to hotel. - Hotel looks rundown. (I’m especially salty about this because we arrived at 9:30pm after a long drive with our baby and all the things that babies require.) Some highlights: -Room itself was spacious and clean -Room was quiet I would not stay here again, simply because the staff fell short and I’m not going to lug all my things around a hotel without a luggage cart.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid late check-in.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtyard Bakersfield, Other at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield
Responded 28 May 2023
Rachele, Good afternoon! Thank you for taking our survey and letting us know what we are able to do to improve our service for the future. I do sincerely apologize for your experience you had at our property, as it is below our standards. We will make sure our front desk staff are properly trained with the location of the rooms. We did just have renovations and as soon as we get the landscaping completed around the property the hotel will feel more home-like. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We truly appreciate it. Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield 1-661-324-6660
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trent S wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have been staying at this hotel for at least 6 years and my last stay has completely ruined my experience. I checked in online at 4:40pm and called at 9:00pm to inform the staff that we will be arriving at midnight. They told me they would have the room ready. When we arrived, the front desk person was impolite, didn't greet me just checked me in like a robot. I noticed he did not request my credit card but since I had been using that hotel I assumed they had it in their files already. We got our keys and me, my wife and two toddlers went to the room. To our surprise, when we got to the room we found someone else's drinks and luggage. We immediately left the room and I went to speak with front desk to tell them of the mistake. They could not give me an explanation for what happened, they just apologized and told me that "someone" on the other shift gave our room to a stranger because maybe we had a "common last name" My family name is far from common. In addition, they no longer had the type of room we requested, we were placed in a smaller suite. It was midnight and we were tired so we took the room. I expected them to ask if we were comfortable or needed anything else to make us more comfortable. On the contrary, they just gave me the keys and when I called to request a linen set for the sofa bed it took a long time to be coldly handed a single pillow, a single sheet and a small throw. No comforter. Again I was tired and my children were very exhausted so we made due. The next morning, I was not feeling well and I stayed in the room while my family went to run some errands. At 12:30 house keeping knocked on the door even with the "Do Not Disturb" sign in place, so I told them to come back later. Minutes after the phone in the room started ringing nonstop. I finally picked up and the front desk rudely asked me when I was planning to leave the room because my check out time was 11 and if I didn't leave by 1pm I would be charged extra. At that point I lost my patience and ranted about how bad the experience had been and that we had the room for two days not just one night. She then looked at her computer and confirmed what I had told her. She called me to kick us out of the room before even checking her computer. I told the front desk person to let me speak with the manager but I was told she was not available. I then asked them to please make sure they didn't bill me for the bigger suite that we did not get as in the past I had been double billed. She told me we would not. Their incompetence further showed when I got two separate invoices for the wrong room. As soon as I saw them I took them to the front desk to show them. They told me the invoices did not have my credit card information therefore I would not be charged, but everything else was my information. I found this very ridiculous, a very bad miscommunication, badly trained staff, no support from management, incompetent employees and extremely bad customer service. I will not stay at this hotel anymore. I also filed a complain with Marriott as I don't think this hotel speaks for the brand.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: No good breakfast, ignore the description of the cafe at the website. Food is terrible and they...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtyard Bakersfield, Other at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield
Responded 25 Apr 2023
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Our Genral manager has emailed you regarding your stay. Please let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Courtyard by Marriott 6613246660
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bakersfield area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,032 - ₹13,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard by marriott bakersfield hotel bakersfield, courtyard bakersfield, bakersfield marriott, bakersfield courtyard
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBakersfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
134
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT BAKERSFIELD - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Nearby attractions include Buck Owens' Crystal Palace (0.8 km), Rush Air Sports (1.1 km), and Yokuts Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, Black Angus Steakhouse - Bakersfield, and Temblor Brewing Comany.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Courtyard by Marriott Bakersfield accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.