We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection

Save
Share
2400 Camino Del Rio Ct, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6256
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$144
View deal
Expedia.com
$144
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$132
View deal
Travelocity$144
Ascend$144
Agoda.com$295
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (164)
Videos (1)

About

#29 of 64 hotels in Bakersfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection®, in the heart of Bakersfield, sets a new standard for boutiques with a modern touch. Only minutes away from the excitement of the Buck Owens' Crystal Palace, Mechanics Bank Arena, Historic Bakersfield Fox Theater and the California Living Museum, our hotel is ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers alike. Stay connected with loved ones using WiFi available throughout the hotel. Break a sweat in the fitness center or unwind in the outdoor pool featuring cabanas, sun loungers and a hot tub. We have a reception desk staffed 24 hours a day. Added perks include free coffee, free weekday newspapers available at the front desk, EV charging stations and complimentary parking for both compact and oversized vehicles. Energize for the day ahead with a freshly prepared Grab & Go breakfast available each morning.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Convenience store
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
14Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ernie B wrote a review 4 Oct
1 contribution
What a disappointment, no free breakfast or fitness center. There is a grab and go breakfast, but I wanted a hot breakfast instead. Bathroom floor wasn't clean very well, had visible hair by toilet and sink. Pool was quite large and nice. I would not stay here again, Double Tree and Hilton are next door.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded yesterday
My apologies for not meeting your expectations. We do offer a grab and go breakfast bag at the front. That is correct that we do not offer hot breakfast or advertise that we do. There is however a great breakfast restaurant within walking distance. Best wishes on your travels. Sincerely, Curtis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jbach1021 wrote a review Jul 2021
Massillon, Ohio119 contributions82 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This Choice Hotel is undergoing major renovations, but you’d never know it. As soon as you enter the lobby, you are surrounded by an air of relaxation and calm. The Ascend line of properties is known for a relaxing ambiance. This one did not disappoint. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room (163 to be exact) was spacious and very comfortable. No outside noise at all! Breakfast is still grab and go, due to COVID conditions. My only suggestion would be that the grab and go include a source of protein. Artisan biscotti, muffin, chocolate filled croissant, and banana were the fare. Protein would be welcomed. And, for families who don’t drink coffee or tea, offering a juice would be nice, too. Currently they only have the former. Otherwise, it was a lovely stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis Capps, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 23 Nov 2021
Hello jback, Thank you for the great review. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. At your service, Curtis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saurabh S wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California, United States15 contributions14 helpful votes
Comfortable room, really clean with housekeeping having attention to detail. When checking in, friendly front desk with smiles. Even on a gloomy day, felt sunny! Especially in the pool. Looking forward to coming back on business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back. Sincerely, Curtis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twinsgrandma wrote a review Aug 2022
Morro Bay, Ca5 contributions1 helpful vote
Be informed that there is no elevator if you are staying on the second floor. There is 1 ice machine, it was out of ice. Someone brought me a zip lock baggie of ice that had melted & froze as a block. There is no grab bar in the tub & our toilet paper holder was broken, there is no hook to hang a used towel. There is no continental breakfast, both my daughter & I went looking for it by the coffee area. I called down & was told it's at the front desk (?). I saw no evidence of it at all. Too much money for such basic accommodations. It was not on "the good side of town". The beds were comfortable & the staff was friendly & most important the room was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Hello twinsgrandma, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. We are currently installing more ice machines throughout the hotel as we open more areas. We installed a second one this week. We appreciate the feedback and will continue to work hard to create the best experience reasonably possible for our valued guests. Sincerely, Curtis General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SLT wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Interior is organized, clean, and aesthetically pleasing. Service is also good. We found something on the shower head & called the front desk. Paul sent the security to get it cleaned right away. Highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Thank you for the review and for recommending to others. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Curtis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Calidenna wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada61 contributions22 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel several times years ago when it was a different name and really liked the property. When I was back in the area I immediately looked it up and found different name/owner(?). Booked one night although I was going to be in the area several nights just to check it out first. I am passionate about great customer service and OMG walking in found world class customer service in April who was at the front desk. Friendly, welcoming, great personality and attitude and extremely helpful! I was already a fan of the hotel at that moment! Later in the evening I encountered another front desk person named Paul who was fantastic as well! Always helpful and smiling and a fun personality. If hotels could all clone these two employees they would have award winning customer service! The lobby is gorgeous and tranquil. It has been done in shades of beautiful soothing gray along with silver accent pieces. Seating areas are inviting and visually very nice. The room continues on with the same gray tones and made me just want to relax in there all day as it just sets the tone of serenity and calm. Extremely clean and well maintained and good sized (I had a king bed) The pool is a beautiful pool and super clean and sparkling and cabanas have been added since my last visit and a great touch. Grounds are well maintained and parking is easy. And as a note to my first night “test” stay, I am still here almost a week later!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Hello Denna, Thank you for the wonderful review and the opportunity to earn your business. I look forward to sharing your kind works with April and Paul. All of our associates truly care about creating the best experience reasonably possible for our valued guests. It’s always nice when their hard work is recognized and appreciated. We hope to welcome your back soon. At your service, Curtis General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennc04 wrote a review Jul 2022
Beaverton, Oregon242 contributions56 helpful votes
For a quick stop, this was a good hotel. Everything is clean. Just being remodeled and seems to be doing a good job. Check in was easy, front desk was helpful. Didn't give 5 stars for the little things...upon getting into the rooms, both were at 1/4 roll tp. Needed to ask/walk down for a 2nd roll. All about not wasting, but at a certain point a 2nd roll should just be in the room to reduce effort on the customer side.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Hello Jennc04, Thank you for the review. While we do conserve whenever possible, there should have been a second roll of toilet paper in the room. We typically place the second roll on top of the toilet, or on the top towel rack depending on the bathroom configuration. I will follow up with the housekeeping team to ensue we continue to work hard to create the best experience reasonably possible for our valued guests. Sincerely, Curtis General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gene F wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
BIKERS WELCOME—EVERYBODY ELSE GO ELSEWHERE!!! I do not know the person who just posted above me. I really do not post comments, but this was so bad I need to. We checked in on 02/26/2022. We did not know there was a "biker club" staying there. The club was the "Soul Brothers" from S.F. I spoke to some of its’ members the next day, they seemed like some pretty good people. I do not have an issue with them. I have a major issue now with the MGR. of the Hourglass Hotel. My friend of 50 years, who is African American, visited my wife and I in room #164. I was celebrating my 70th birthday. Around 7:00PM there were about 8 motorcycles revving their engines up directly outside our window that faced the parking lot. It was so loud we needed to put on ear protectors we had within us because we were shooting guns at Turner's Indoor range. We called the front desk and asked them to kindly ask the bikers not to do that. An hour later the bikers started up revving up again, then racing up and down the parking lot for about another 35 minutes. I called again. This time the noise was so loud that the front desk person said they couldn't hear me speaking to them. They told me there was nothing they could do. I told them I was not going to pay for the room. About two hours later around 1:30am THE BIKES WERE HOWLING AGAIN, THEN AGAIN AT 3:00AM AND 4:30 AM. I told the front desk politely to have their security guard go out and tell them to stop, or call the local PD. They said they would try to do something. Nothing happened the noise continued. I then left word for the MGR. to call me on Monday. At 11;00Am I still did not have a call. I called again and they said the MGR. was on the phone updating the system. I held for 15 minutes. I then called again and told them to please tell him to get off the phone and deal with my issue. The MGR. then called at said he would not credit me for my room because I had been "accosting" his staff and he felt uncomfortable with me. I then called their corporate office to file a complaint about the MGR. I dare the MGR. say I was “accosting someone” to ward me off. Trying to make the victim (me) out to be the bad guy. I sent the MGR. a copy of the audio recording (2 only, I have 6). I also recorded the conversations I had with his staff that shows I didn’t accost anyone, curse, or talk rudely to them. I told the MGR. he is not only going to credit me for my room, but I am now demanding an additional certificate for a free room. If he sends me one more email with excuses, it goes up to two. I will keep increasing by an additional night free as long as he tries to stall me. Regards, Gene
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 7 Mar 2022
Dear Gene, Let me start by saying that after working in hotels for over 22 years, I have not had many interactions with guests as I have with you. When you first called at 11am on a Monday morning I was already on a call after being on hold for 1 hour and only 3 hours into a very busy Monday. Your call with the kind and experienced front desk associate was so aggressive that she said she would prefer not to speak with you again if at all possible. That is why when you called back a male employee answered. While most of us in hospitality expect to deal with all types of personalities, we are not here to take verbal aggression or personal insults. I did however call you back immediately after I was finished with my phone call. I was personally called many inappropriate names by you and later multiple times in emails. You even went so far to call my mother names. I do apologize for the noise, as I have stated several times. The first audio you sent me had motorcycle noise for 25 seconds. Your inappropriate language toward the riders however was concerning and uncomfortable to hear. The second recording you sent lasted for 1 minute, but you recorded a full 10 minutes of the other person in your room sleeping. Even though you were the only guest that called the front desk, we value all of our guests and their concerns. However, your behavior was inappropriate and on behalf of all employees that interacted with you, we appreciate that you do not plan to return. The motorcycle group that booked 25 rooms was not from San Francisco or this state. They come to Bakersfield every year for a charity to honor the organizers daughter that passed away. They travel to all of her daughters favorite places to raise money for the foundation. Not one person in the group acted out and was very approachable and respectful of guests and hotel employees. They did however say that there were other motorcycle groups that stayed in many hotels in Bakersfield for the event. Sincerely, Curtis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveTravel778244 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
The rooms are way overpriced, guest request go unnoticed. Motorcycles revving up throughout the night. Late check-outs are not available. grab and go breakfast is a joke. The rooms do not provide table are chairs and 1/3 of the room is simply space. No coffee pot in room. Mold & rust around the windows in the "supposedly" new rooms. There is no mention on website or anywhere about the annexed restaurant being closed for renovations. Desk clerks are rude and unhelpful. WARNING! FIND A HOTEL SOMEWHERE ELSE! UNLESS YOU'RE A BIKER.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: WARNING! Find another hotel to stay at, unless you're a biker.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. I apologize for the noise from the motorcycles. I understand there was noise upon arrival and once more when departing. These groups arrive only a couple times a year and stay in all hotels in the Bakersfield area. Our guest rooms were completely renovated less than a year ago. The renovation was so extensive that it also included new insulation, sheet rock, plumbing, carpet, furniture, etc. I apologize that there was some extra space in the room. While we have the same amount of furniture as most hotels, our rooms are very spacious, which most guests enjoy and appreciate. I apologize that our website does not mention that the restaurant is closed. However, the website also does not mention the restaurant at all. We plan to renovate the restaurant once the hotel is completed. Because we do not have a restaurant, there is no mention of it. There are however many restaurant options within walking distance from the hotel. Best wishes on your travels, Curtis General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
I stayed at this location for a total of six nights split into two segments for business that extended beyond my original plan. The hotel was in a great location, easily accessible and well maintained in spite of ongoing construction/remodel. Staff were all extremely helpful, concerned for my comfort, diligent, accommodating and ready to serve. If business takes me back to Bakersfield you will find me at the Hourglass.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curtis C, General Manager at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Hello Natalieb, Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back for your next business or leisure trip. Sincerely, Curtis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red lion bakersfield, bakersfield red lion
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Rosedale
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBakersfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
172
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Nearby attractions include Buck Owens' Crystal Palace (0.7 km) and Rush Air Sports (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, Black Angus Steakhouse - Bakersfield, and Temblor Brewing Comany.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Hourglass Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.