We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport

Save
Share
8818 Spectrum Park Way, Bakersfield, CA 93308-9441
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Booking.com$119
Hotels.com$119
Travelocity$119
Priceline$119
Hampton$119
Traveluro$137
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 64 hotels in Bakersfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport California hotel is located off Highway 99 and Highway 65 in the heart of Bakersfield's most flourishing communities off of Merle Haggard Drive. This Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield California hotel is located just minutes away from several dining facilities, shopping centers and entertainment facilities such as the famous Famoso Raceway, Buck Owens Crystal Palace and Rabobank Arena and Convention Center. Bakersfield is conveniently located between Los Angeles and Fresno and is the perfect halfway point if you're traveling from Northern California to Las Vegas, Nevada. The Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport California hotel is the perfect destination if you're traveling to Sequoia or Yosemite National Park. In addition to the many recreational facilities surrounding our Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport California hotel, we are also centrally located in Bakersfield's fastest growing industrial area.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Korean
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
587Reviews4Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 337
  • 164
  • 47
  • 22
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paul55555 wrote a review Jun 2022
Koblenz, Germany54 contributions57 helpful votes
I understand that in post-pandemic times it is very difficult to find suitable staff in the hotel business. Nevertheless, this mustn't lead to conditions such as I had to experience the other day at the Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North Airport. Once again, I made the mistake ignoring the one-star reviews on TripAdvisor. No coincidence that the term "rude" appears there several times. I had reserved a "King" room with „Points&Cash“. I was already checked in the Hilton App when I entered the lobby at 2:45 pm. I was the only guest present. I told the young receptionist my name, he: "have nothing free and check-in is not before 3 pm". I replied that I wanted to go to the restroom first anyway. When I returned he told me that it would be still 9 minutes till check-in. I had not mentioned my diamond status. I asked if he really believed that in 9 minutes the situation would change fundamentally. But I would wait this time and walked about 50 feet to a seat (am slightly mobility disabled). Not 20 seconds later - I had just taken a seat - he shouted something at me which I did not understand since he sat behind a glass window. The fact that he now had to leave his place to tell me seemed to put him completely on edge. He now had a “King Study” room available. I asked him how he could determine that within 20 seconds. I insisted on waiting the 9 minutes as “ordered”. Then he started yelling and wouldn't even let me get a word in edgewise. He refused to give his name and claimed he was the manager. He didn't give a damn if I had “diamond status or any other intergalactic status”, check-in was at 3 pm and I had no claim to anything else. He would give me 10 minutes to leave the building. I replied that I am checked in and have partially already paid with points. If I leave, it will be only when he cancels my reservation so I get my points back. It turned out that the manager didn’t know how to cancel reservations. He had to get help from a colleague of back office to assist. She was able to cancel and was also very courteous. Good if she’d handle customer contact in the future. She even apologized, although she was completely blameless for the situation. I have never experienced such rude behavior in a hotel! At 3:10 pm I left the house and for sure I will never book a room in this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Potter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Responded 2 weeks ago
First and foremost, I offer my sincere apologies for any upset you may have experienced. It is disheartening to learn that we have disappointed a valued guest as that is never our intention.  Hilton has a zero-tolerance policy on discrimination, and we take your comments very seriously. As a global entity, Hilton welcomes guests of all ethnicity and cultures as well as our employees are of diverse cultures and ethnicity. As such, we hold ourselves and all of our Team Members to the highest standards of integrity, ethics, and service excellence. We also expect that guest engagement to be warm and friendly. With that being said we do also hold our guests to the same standards. Upon investigating this case we have established a few more details that have not been shared by you. We are aware that our employee was subjected to you yelling at him as well as insulting and cursing at him because he was unable to immediately accommodate your request for early check in. We do our very best to accommodate early check ins but they are not guaranteed. While I understand that this upset you this was not an invitation for verbal abuse or degradation of our staff. In the few minutes you were waiting our head housekeeper was uploading a list of vacant ready rooms for the 3 pm check in time. Our agent attempted to tell you he had been provided with a room and he had even upgraded your points stay which we are not allowed to do but he wanted to make you happy. You however did not hear him as you were occupied with uttering insults and making sure he knew you were a diamond member. He still attempted to accommodate you thinking you must be having a difficult day and he approached you to advise you of the upgraded available room but he was met with a barrage of insults and indignities telling him to "make up his mind", accusing him of having "mental problems" just to name a few.... it further escalated from there to which point he rightly advised you to depart the facility and that we would not accommodate you. Our surveillance does reflect your extreme reaction to his request to please give him a few minutes. Our oncoming desk staff was able to over hear and witness the exchange as well and even interjected to help him in processing your refund and to encourage you to depart in a more efficient manner. I have also received a guest assistance file in which you state he had "mental abnormalities" and call him a "psycho". Even in the first publishing of this specific review you were forced by trip advisor to either take down the review for hateful content or adjusted to remove the discriminatory statements and terms you used you called our employee a psycho with ADHD. I am sickened at your perception of people with disabilities and mental health challenges to which neither of those conditions apply to our agent. I strongly suggest you as a person with your own disabilities please try to be more kind with such disparaging and hateful statements regarding your fellow human beings. While I do not condone the way in which my employee finally advised you to leave I can understand that he had just dealt with too much of your verbal abuse and lost his normal and exceptional ability to be hospitable. In the future please remember that while work in hospitality we will not allow for the type of abuse that our employee was subject to from anyone including our diamond members. I wish you safe travels where ever those travels may take you.
Read more
Kachele **Nm**,... K wrote a review Jun 2022
San Diego, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
Showed up at 9:57, three minutes before close of complementary breakfast,, staff was already putting things away and shutting down. asked if there was any oatmeal, the gal told me it was 10 oclock and we are closed and I am not going to make any,, WOW,, needless to say, my Hilton loyalty and honors program,, I DON"T NEED IT!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
jo wrote a review Apr 2022
North Pole, Alaska1 contribution
The common areas were okay, but the room was dated and bathroom was so-so with towel bar ripped off the wall. Mattresses were super saggy as well. This was just a notch above a motel 6. Free breakfast was appreciated, albeit limited. We used 25,000 Marriott points for this one night pit stop, but think our points could have been better spent somewhere else. Don’t mean to be negative, but I would have appreciated reading a review like this so I could make a more informed decision.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Jesse S. M wrote a review Nov 2021
Charlotte, United States3 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a great stay here. The points used allowed my to get an extra two nights stay for my daughter. They even provided airport taxi service. Rooms were clean and the place was very convenient for my visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ilg499 wrote a review Jul 2021
Modesto, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Clean hotel and rooms. Poor pool maintenance and cleanliness. Still heavy Covid protocol witch is good for traveling but poor breakfast selection. I have stayed at other hotels that offer full breakfast. Had to spend money getting breakfast elsewhere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
John H wrote a review Jun 2021
Lake Isabella, United States6 contributions1 helpful vote
Can we blame this on COVID? Curtain was falling off the curtain rod. Bathroom floor was sticky - what could be worse? I absolutely hate slow drains in sinks and tubs and this was terrible! The plunger had been removed so the issue was known but not fixed. The tub filled up immediately upon running the shower which is really disgusting. In the morning we tried to make coffee but the pot was not the correct one so the coffee would not drip into it. The room had dust on almost every surface - we could write in it. When we checked out they asked if we had any problems. As I recited the list he said we should have requested another room! Easy to say in the morning at checkout time. These problems mounted up after we had unpacked late at night and just wanted to sleep. Well, just a bed should not cost what we paid for this room!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
tandrade21 wrote a review Jun 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution
Worst Hampton inn stay I am a diamond member The bed was uncomfortable my bathroom had fake marks in the tub morning breakfast was horrible the person at the front counter have no clue what Dimond‘s status was entitled to I did not feel welcome there at all I was charged $128 for a room that I did not want and I checked out early at 6 AM in the morning and arrived at 1 AM I left numerous messages for that hotel manager
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Potter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Responded 25 Jun 2021
Ms. Andrade, I am the manager and I have no messages from you. What I do have is a GA file where you made false accusations regarding our staff, our facilities and what you were provided as a diamond member versus what you were asking for. Our agent could not give you the 6+ items you were wanting. This is an abuse of your benefits. Additionally, I do have footage showing our agent giving you multiple items trying to appease you and of him greeting you in the morning at departure and asking you how your stay was, to which you response was to storm off. When you called later to speak to my morning desk shift she advised you that I would be in contact but you wanted her to issue a refund with no information as to the validity of your claim. Clearly in the event an accusation like yours is received it is taken seriously and is investigated by a manager prior to any action, this is so we can make a well thought out and correct decision. I already had the file from GA by the time I came in and when it was investigated it was found that our staff nor our facility had done anything improper or incorrect. It was apparent that you were also abusing the 100% satisfaction guarantee program put in place by Hilton Honors. Despite this, I issued the refund because you were unhappy and we wanted to close the book on this issue. We work very hard to accommodate our guest and unfortunately take alot of abuse from guests in the process who seem to have no upbringing or idea of how to be respectful to other human beings. I am advising you that we will not allow or honor any bookings from you in the future. We do not allow for dishonesty or slander from our staff or our guests regardless of their honor status.
Read more
lggg70 wrote a review Oct 2020
La Grange, Texas335 contributions193 helpful votes
I am very particular. This place did not live up to my expectations. Hamptons are our moderately priced hotel of choice. I knew the room would be small since we were just staying one night. The furniture needs updating and the shower needed to be detailed. The carpet seems dated, though it appeared clean. The front desk lady was very polite and efficient. She is enforcing the mask rule which we appreciated. Like I said, we’re here just one night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
pamelaL74 wrote a review Aug 2020
Boerne, Texas685 contributions190 helpful votes
They advertised a shuttle from the airport, which apparently was broken, and they wanted me to wait for Cab, but the cab was going to take 30 minutes. They told me to pay for an Uber so that It would be quicker, but Uber doesn’t come in this area. Not what you want after being on an airplane all day. That started off the trip. Then I finally got there and checked in and wanted to take a hot shower to relax from my day, but there was no hot water. I called the front desk and she said that the upper floors in the hotel have to turn the water on full blast and leave it going for 30 minutes before it gets warm. So much for water conservation! And after 30 more minutes it still didn’t get hot. It would get lukewarm for a second or two and then go back to cold. I decided to just go to bed, so I turned the air conditioner down to 77 and went to bed, and woke up at 2:30 in the morning sweating because the air conditioner was no longer working and it was 80 something degrees in the room. I called the front desk and the man said “oh yeah, I have to come up there and I can bypass something for you.” Which makes me think that this is a problem that happens all the time. But nonetheless, I had to have a strange man in my room in the middle of the night to fix the AC. By that time I’m wide awake, which is a good thing, because 20 minutes after he fixes it it breaks again. I was only in town for one night, and booked Hampton Inn and suites so that I would hopefully get a good night rest before my big morning, instead I got no sleep at all or nor relaxation and feel worse than before. I will never book here again. This was a absolute Horror!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Potter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Responded 28 Aug 2020
I am very sorry to read your review. I do understand that your stay was not to expectations and have issued a full refund for your time with us. I did speak with our agents and it seems that what you have stated and what they have stated do not seem to line up. It is an unfortunate situation, but I can personally can state that our shuttle is fully operational as I am sure you are aware because we did take you to the airport in the morning. When we do not have a driver we pay for a cab and due to covid19 staffing issues across many industries we do advise that it can take up to 30 minutes. Clearly you can understand that the cab companies are not our responsibility but that we do try to ensure that we have a reputable company to collaborate with. I understand that when traveling anyones patience can run out and I do feel that we were not adequately prepared to make you comfortable. Please forgive our shortcomings as we forgive the shortcomings that we encounter with our guests.
Read more
tropicalexpATX wrote a review Aug 2020
Austin, Texas29 contributions49 helpful votes
In route from Austin, TX to Roseburg, Oregon we decided to get a good restful night sleep before continuing our drive up north. We had booked online about 3 hours prior to our arrival and it was a bit off our I5 path but overall a good stay. Upon arrival the staff member who greeted us was very helpful and friendly, she asked us if we had a preferred floor and opted for something close and ground level. The room was adjacent to the parking lot, good sized, nice decor and clean. The bathroom had what appeared to be water damage and some mold near the corner by the door but was satisfactory for us as we were only there for the one evening. We did get a restful nights sleep as the bed was comfortable and the room very quiet despite being near the parking area. For the price we felt it was a great value and would consider staying there again should we ever make the stopover in Bakersfield.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn & suites bakersfield north-airport hotel bakersfield, hampton inn and suites bakersfield north-airport, hampton inn bakersfield, bakersfield hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBakersfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Denny's, Champs Smokehouse BBQ, and Starbucks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport have airport transportation?
Yes, Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Korean.