We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Old Dairy Farm Bairagarh, Bhopal 462030 India
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Etrip
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 18/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Jheelam
Updated 18/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 302 in Bhopal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
South facing, quiet, pollution free green locale next to two rural villages, overlooking Upper Lake, with a private well maintained garden. We have four bed cum bath suites, on the ground floor of a two storey house of a retired Army officer, with all modern amenities - internet hotspot, geysers, backup inverter in every room. Two rooms are AC fitted with TATASKY TV connection and a drawing cum dining room with kitchen plus complimentary breakfast. The other two rooms can be given desert coolers, when required. Preference is for paying guests who may wish to holiday in or tour Bhopal for a few days or attend family ceremonies like marriages, or visit on work. Guests who may wish to stay for longer than 10 days, even up to a year or more, on temporary duty or professional research or studies are welcome with suitably reduced tariff. Extremely convenient location for company executives or cine/TV artistes desiring privacy while working in or around Bhopal. The rental is Rs 2000 per AC suite and Rs 900 for the non_AC rooms, for 24 hours. Other meals, laundry, taxi etc will be charged separately, on specific demand. Home cooked all types of Indian, Continental, Chinese or other desired cuisine can be provided, with due notice. No problem with non-vegetarian meals provision. An advance payment would be mandatory before occupying the room(s).
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
59Reviews4Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 14
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
manoj wrote a review Jan 2022
Mumbai, India1 contribution
Superb stay at Jheelam. The property on the banks of Bhopal lake; is beautifully maintained with the care & perfection with a professional touch of an officer of Indian army. Stayed at this property owned by Brigadier Goswami for 3 nights during this year end on a self drive family trip to Bhopal. We found the property exactly as visible in pictures at trip advisor. The meals prepared by Mrs.Goswami matched the love & care as that of my mother during my visits to the hometown and up & above served impeccably with a professional touch. Love you Mrs.Goswami. The cake prepared & served by Sharat on X-mas day was delicious in its simplicity. My children liked the way Brigadier engaged them with his humour and face reading observations. The time spent at the property and with Mr. & Mrs.Goswami is now part of our unforgettable memory lane which we’ll cherish whenever thinking of Bhopal and is longing to stay there yet again for a soulful experience yet again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Staying at Jheelam; make a special request to have dinner with Mr.&Mrs.Goswami at least once for...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 9 Jan 2022
Thank you for your so very warm and kind review. These observations made our day. We strive more to satisfy such guests. Your comments show how observant you are. That the actual looks of our property and rooms are akin to the published photos. My wife, especially, thanks you for your compliments. We enjoyed our interactions and wish all four of you the best in the future. We also do look forward to other visits, as and when convenient, possible and part of your itinerary. God bless and take care.
Read more
saibal m wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions
The stay was excellent. Nice and cozy room with all amenities. Very homely and helpful host. Dinner was superb and my son became a big fan. They have a beautiful garden in front and a small lawn. The view from the roof top is breathtaking during sunrise. We had an excellent stay and would definitely go back in future. Preferably you should have your own vehicle since it is slightly off the main road.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 9 Jan 2022
Thank you for your kind and warm review. Please do come again, as convenient & possible. Our best wishes for a happy life ahead, are with you.
Read more
T S Charan Kharthik wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Overlooking the banks of the upper lake, Jheelam is a home straight out of a writer's day dream. The expansive front lawn, the central pond of water, the meticulously maintained flora along with the local birds, squirrels and butterflies that call Jheelam home, make for a scene that can satisfy a city dweller's thirst for nature. The rooms, kitchens, the hospitality and the service leaves one wanting noting more, save perhaps a longer stay under the care of host Brig. Goswamy sir.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 18 Dec 2021
Thank you so mucg for your warm review. We feel good when a guest appreciates our home. Wish you all the best. God bless
Read more
keerthi p wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
A wonderful place to stay and enjoy Bhopal. Run by a couple who help you from booking to checkout. Also has facilities for you to do your own cooking. Very near to the Airport of Bhopal. A scenic lake front view and a beautiful Garden to relax in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 13 Dec 2021
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you liked your stay. We look forward to your visiting us again, as possible.
Read more
Deepak Singh wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Brig. Goswamy and his wife are amazing host and you really feel at home. The care which our kids got from both of them was amazing. The stay was so comfortable that it didn't feel like we were in another town. Also the home cooked food was the highlight of the stay although you have to tell them in advance if u need meal. This stay at jhelum has completely changed my perspective towards home stay. I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for homely atmosphere while traveling. Deepak Singh
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you Deepak for your kind and warm Review. Wish all in your family the best in the future. Do come again, as possible.
Read more
Dev0070 wrote a review Oct 2021
Harda, India1 contribution2 helpful votes
Some places are lively and you feel safe & secure like home. Jheelam is one of them. Lush green garden right infront of lake. I highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable, clean and home like stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Dear Dev, Thank you. Am glad you had a satisfying stay with us. You were excellent guests and we were happy to host you. Wish you both the best in your future endeavours. We would be happy to host you again, as possible. God bless.
Read more
Diksha wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Lakeside View is amazing!! Jheelam home stay is one of the best comfortable and relaxing place. I visited Jheelam homestay with my husband here and stayed for around a month and continued our work from home. Do check out the pictures !! Mr Prabir Goswami and family are great hosts. Mrs Goswami is a very generous and thoughtful lady she made sure our stay was comfortable Home cooked food is delicious 😋. The garden is so beautiful and green with lake side view, perfect setup for a cup of coffee. Surely recommend this for place short / long term stay. Perfect getaway place from city life hustle with all the places nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 13 Oct 2021
Dear Diksha and Dev, Thank you for the warm and kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. With best wishes from us at Jheelam.
Read more
Prafull Kumar wrote a review Mar 2021
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India6 contributions
+1
I had a great time staying here with my friends. This is not a normal hotel but a bungalow which was built in 1965, so you will get the very vintage yet modern feeling in terms of decor. - Lakeside View is amazing - Price is very very low compared to other hotels - It’s maintained by Brigadier P. Goswami, you will have an amazing time sharing a tea or lunch with him. - Washroom has all the proper amenities. I’ll definitely suggest anyone coming to visit Bhopal to stay here :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Washrooms are very big with all modern ammenties.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 17 Mar 2021
Dear Prafull, It was a pleasure having you stay at our home and interacting. You have qualities of heart and mind which most Indians would envy. I wish you the best in your life, going forward. Your kind words about the Homestay and us make me feel good. God bless and take care.
Read more
Aarti wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
ONE OF THE HEAVEN UNDER THE SKY Jheelam home stay is one of the best comfortable and relaxing place for visitors. I visited Jheelam homestay with my mother here the feeling to be in home .Mr Prabir Goswami brigadier and his family and we fill together as a one family. Here the garden is so beautiful and greenery and also Mrs Goswami food are so tasty and yummy. I suggesting all the people who are wandering for a safe and peaceful place here it is in bhopal JHEELAM HOME STAY DATE OF STAY : MARCH 2021
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 10 Mar 2021
Dear Ms Arati, It was a pleasure to have your Ma and you stay with us. Am happy that you have said such kind words. Thank you. We wish you the best for your future endeavours. God bless.
Read more
Prash wrote a review Jan 2021
4 contributions
A nice, clean and comfortable place to stay with a rural feel to it beside the upper Lake. Unfortunately didn't have much time to spend due to travel plans. I definitely got the vibe of a friendly atmosphere in there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Prabir Goswami, Owner at Jheelam
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Dear Mr Prashant Shekhani, thank you for your appreciative comments. I did want to be able a little more time with you folks but you had a time schedule. Maybe another time. All the best and God bless.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaMadhya PradeshBhopal DistrictBhopal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jheelam
Which popular attractions are close to Jheelam?
Nearby attractions include Madhya Pradesh Tribal Museum (5.6 km), Yodhasthal (2.9 km), and Indira Gandhi Rashtriya Manav Sangrahalaya - National Museum of Mankind (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jheelam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Jheelam?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Jheelam?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Jheelam?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jheelam?
Conveniently located restaurants include TAO-Tattenham Across the Orient, Under the Mango Tree, and Shahnama.
Does Jheelam have airport transportation?
Yes, Jheelam offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Jheelam?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Jheelam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Jheelam?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gohar Mahal (6.7 km).
Is Jheelam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.