Hampi's Boulders Resort

Hampi's Boulders Resort

Narayanpet, Bandiharlapur Post Munirabad r/s, Koppal Tq, Hampi 583234 India
View right outside my room
Traveller (573)
open bath room
Room & Suite (136)
non chlorinated natural pool
Pool & Beach (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

₹7,665
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 7 hotels in Hampi
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hampi’s boulders resort is situated at Narayanapet, Karnataka, India, 7kms from the world Heritage site of Hampi’s Vijayanagar era Temple ruins. The resort is Nested on the banks of Tungabhadra river in the Yamini Hills. The resort is charecterised by a fascinating frontage of a network of water eroded boulders. An effort has been made to construct the cottage in harmony with the environment. The resort comprises of 16 rooms in total. It’s an ideal place for travelers who are nature lovers. The concept “being one with nature” is exploited here. Water, greenery and boulders are distinctive elements at Hampi’s Boulders.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Laundry service
Lazy river
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor fireplace
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
Hindi
460Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 100
  • 29
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bobby! wrote a review Jan 2020
14 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great time with my mother. We stayed for about 4 days and staff, food and location was excellent.
Breakfast was South Indian traditional and the staff was able to arrange taxi for site seeing and suggest best route and map tourist spots based on the time of the day.
We hired a taxi and Kumar and staff helped us with the map and directions and suggested the restaurant for Lunch! And not only that they communicated the directions and paths to the driver so we could cover all the places on time.
Stag if very knowledgeable and very trust worthy nice. The owner of the place is helping preserve the natural habitat so there is plenty of nature to enjoy.

We got here through Hampi Airport and it took us around 2 hrs to get here. GPS works to this place we just followed GPS as there are lot of dirt roads and no signs.

Kumar and team arranged taxis and costs were reasonable for site seeing and ride back to the airport.

Highly recommended this place.
Take a walk / hike around the resort (there is a guided trail) during sunset or sunrise it’s worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GPandrekar wrote a review Dec 2022
Thane, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful resort with only 16 cottages and all spread out nicely across the property. The resort is on the banks of the river Tungabhadra with easy access to the Boulders and greenery all around.

Rooms:
we booked the CROC room for the 1st night and 2nd night we stayed in the Otters cottage due to the unavailability of the CROC room. The Croc room is premium and gives you a nice feeling, the flooring is beautiful, the bathroom and the doors are old traditional style. It has a balcony facing the river and an open Shower in the balcony. we loved the stay there.
The Otter cottage comparatively is simply done but has its own charm. It's an individual cottage on the boulders and just a few meters away from the river.

Food:
The breakfast buffet and Dinner buffet spread is very nice. Food is tasty and not too spicy, we enjoyed it.

Activities;
We could not make it to the Sunset point on the boulders but we did the other 2 activities: Jeep Safari on Boulders and Rock formation tour next to the river. Some amazing pics we clicked on this trek on the rocks next the river. The jeep safari on the Boulders is something that one should not miss, what an amazing experience! its going to remain in our memories for ever.
@Vinay, one suggestion, you should have someone video shoot this jeep ride from outside, we are really missing such a video now.

Staff:
Very very courteous and helpful.
Vinay, the manager there is friendly and happy to guide you thru your stay.

Overall a lovely experience staying at Boulders resort, would love to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Would recommend to stay in Sun Cottage or the Croc Cottage, they are on the bank of the river...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty, General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 28 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, It was an absolute pleasure to host you at Hampi's Boulders Resort! We are glad you had a great time staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience in this kind review. Your recommendation will help fellow travelers choose the best of experience in Hampi. We look forward to seeing you soon again. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Canalfreak wrote a review Apr 2020
Appleton le Moors, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The boulders dominate the surrounding landscape. We stayed in one of the "semi-detached" Sun cottages. Here we looked down on the river and could see no buildings. Just the occasional net wielding fisherman making good use of the river.
The area for sitting out is shared with the other cottage but as there was nobody occupying that one we had it to ourselves.
We were staying there while visiting the local sights (old temples and palaces) and were out most of the time. However, on our last day we had the morning at the resort before moving on after lunch. It really is a most atmospheric site and I would recommend anybody staying there to factor in some time to relax and enjoy the remarkably peaceful location. We had a very pleasant walk after breakfast before it became too hot.
The food was mainly Indian and we very much enjoyed it. The evening buffet consists of numerous dishes both meat and vegetable, often with spicy and non-spicy versions of the same dish to cater for all tastes.
Contrary to other reviews I have read there was no beer (or any other alcoholic beverage) available.
A major plus was the calm, pleasant, helpful attitude of the manager.
Our room was relatively simple but entirely adequate with a comfortable bed and also air conditioning.
We would happily stay again, but perhaps arrange only half day and not full day tours.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty , General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Dear guest, At the outset would like to thank you for taking time out to write your feedback in Trip Advisor about your recent visit to Hampis Boulders. Your valued comments and suggestions are important for us to improve and ensure that all our guests leave Hampis boulders delighted with memories and experiences to cherish. We will be extremely pleased to welcome you back once again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karuna S G wrote a review Dec 2020
Bengaluru, India30 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we chose this property for our first vacation after a terrible covid-stricken 2020! At the price point of 17k per night for (Bfast and Dinner plan), we expected a comfortable stay, also because this is listed as a 'luxury botique hotel'.

Unfortunately, we had only negative experiences from the minute we arrived. Despite an advance notice of 24 hours and a reminder of about 4 hours, lunch wasnt ready on our arrival at 1.45 PM. With three hungry and tired kids, waiting for lunch was a tough ask.

We checked into rooms in an abysmal state (Attached pictures do not do justice in describing the state of the rooms). The bathrooms have no ventilation, which was a really bitter experience. The housekeeping failed on multiple counts - we had algae filled water bottles kept in the room, dusty floors, chairs, ceiling, doors and practically everything! The Games Room had not been cleaned in months.

Over 4 nights, the staff could not identify a manager amongst themselves for us to have these problems resolved. On being asked who the manager is, the response was always "why".

While some of the staff facilitated our requests, most of the staff served grudgingly. The restaurant being very small, could cater to hardly 8 small families at a time. The resort was running full and at any meal, the 7 of us could only share one table for 4 at a time, which obviously meant the table being cleaned multiple times, which too would not be done unless asked for multiple times.

The staff struggles to smile!

With a distance of about 25 kms (which is about an hour's drive) from the main Hampi site, I had rather stay at Evolve Back which justifies its price point with impeccable service and hospitality!

The timings for meals are so strictly followed that on most days, food was cleared off the counters while we were still eating!

This is about 68k down the drain for us and for the first vacation at (hopefully) the end of Corona, this was a tremendous heartbreak!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty , General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 1 Mar 2021
At the outset would like to thank you for taking time out to write your feedback in Trip Advisor about your recent visit to Hampis Boulders. We have noted your concerns & feedback , we shall work towards the same We will be extremely pleased to welcome you back once again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew P wrote a review Jan 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom71 contributions58 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm afraid the management proved untrustworthy. In January 2020 I booked a stay in December 2020, paying the full amount with a guarantee of a refund of 75% if I cancelled.
Because of the Covid pandemic I cancelled in August 2020. I did not receive any refund. I sent a further email and received the reply that they would process the refund as soon as they started operating the resort.
In November 2020 I noticed from their website that the resort was operating and I emailed again. They replied that they were processing refunds one at a time and asked me to be patient.
They did not reply to a further email from me pointing out that I had already waited 3 months and that they had promised the refund as soon as they started operating the resort.
I received no reply and so applied to my bank, whose credit card I had paid with, for a refund which I have now received.
I fully intend to visit Hampi once the pandemic is over but I would not stay at Hampi's Boulders.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty, General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Dear Mr.Andrew, We apologise for the delay in refund caused by the backlogs of Covid 19. You have been refunded your booking amount, We look forward to hosting you soon again. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry B wrote a review Feb 2020
Texas268 contributions105 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Either travellers are blind or have never really been further than their local Ramada Inn ! This place must have been fabulous years ago. The location is astonishing and the site is just kept above minimal level. In the tradition of this shall be sufficient for occasional visitors who shall never come back... Apparently the hotel has been sold and bought serveral times in recent years and management has other things to do than refurbish the place. It could be absolute paradise. The local guy in charge is really nice and does his utmost the keep the place going. the room are just a bit shabby, the bathrooms need some 21rst century tuning, the food is excellent and a campfire and barbecue was organised for the guests. That was a real plus and very nicely done. The natural pool is lovely and clean but please redo the chairs and supply pool towels. The staff cooked us breakfast one very early morning befor we left and that was exceptionnally nice of them. Once again the local people do their utmost to keep the guests happy but som kind of maintenance shoul take place before the end of this century. Investment is the key but I'm not sure wether the presentt owners are ready to part with some of their short term profits. Its sad indeed.
Do I recomend ? I'm not sure of any alternative but the absolutely fabulous Hampi site is 50' by car or a fast crossing with the local boats. Hampi is worth a little sacrifice and who knows, maybe the owners will have spent a few rupies .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Smitha S, General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review of your stay at Hampis boulders & sharing your stay experience. Our apologies and we shall look into your suggestions to better our facilities and amenities. Please note the property was never sold to anyone, its owned and managed by the single owner from the time Hampis Boulders been started. Thanks & Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nisha wrote a review Apr 2022
20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay and the whole experience in the resort was great. They are a wilderness resort with lot of nature activities to do around the property. With very spotty phone network and no TV, it made it more fun to be cut off from the usual chaos. Kids had fun hiking around the river too (given the time we stayed here, the water level was low and all these activities were possible). The food was good too. Was homely food (buffet) and they ask us to let them know about 3 to 4hrs ahead of time if we would be eating there as they prepare accordingly. There is a 4 wheel jeep ride over the rocks and corackel ride (for a fee) that are also available in the resort. Hiking with kids and getting them close to nature was one of the high points in this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty, General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, It was an absolute pleasure to host you at Hampi's Boulders Resort! We are glad you had a great time staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience in this kind review. Your recommendation will help fellow travellers choose the best of experience in Hampi. We look forward to seeing you soon again Thank you Warm Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susmita C wrote a review Jul 2022
Hyderabad, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we were very pleased when we found this place serendipitously. The resort is situated on 30 acre unexploited land, but the comfort of the room was uncompromised. This super eco friendly resort is like a hidden gem. The guided treks to the waterfall and to the hill top were something which brought us, urban dwellers, very close to the nature. Lots of photo opportunities. The monkeys, butterflies, boulders, the sound of the waterfall and the simpleness of the resort will linger in your memory for a very long time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty, General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, It was an absolute pleasure to host you at Hampi's Boulders Resort! We are glad you had a great time staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience in this kind review. Your recommendation will help fellow travelers choose the best of experience in Hampi. We look forward to seeing you soon again. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary S wrote a review Feb 2023
33 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an incredible hotel with no wifi, no tv's and they don't serve alcohol or take credit cards!

From the moment you arrive, you realise you have stepped into a very special place.

Completely off the beaten track (literally), the rooms are spread out across the grounds and everything is done tastefully and feels like no expense has been spared.

Our room, Croc Cottage has views out to the river (unfortunately we didn't see any crocs!) and prime position to watch the sunrise.

A guide from the hotel took us to watch the sunset and if clambering over boulders and rickety bamboo bridges is your thing, don't miss it!

At lunchtimes, you can only choose from the starters menu and everything we had was excellent with large portions, although the dinner buffet was also good, it wasn't quite at the same level.

The swimming pool was really unusual as it is carved from a huge rock and a great place to cool down - just watch out for the monkeys!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty, General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 7 Mar 2023
Dear guest, We are glad to have etched a memory to your holiday. Your words have lightened us and has delighted us to host you in the near future. Hoping then you would spot a few crocs that sure are a sight at Hampi's Boulders. Your kind words would create an impression to help others experience what we have to offer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Indiantraveljunkie wrote a review Jan 2023
Mumbai, India67 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is fully integrated with nature but yet comfortable. Network coverage is non existent which adds to the experience of "getting away". Try and book the Sun, Croc or Star cottage as those have magnificent river and sunrise views. We actually saw a crocodile directly from one of the cottages! It is quite far from Hampi city so you need your own transport to get around but the drive is worth it. The resort takes you on a a few awesome treks nearby which is complimentary and a unique (paid) jeep safari over boulders which make the experience unforgettable. The food like everything else is basic but quite decent. I would suggest visiting Whispering Rocks (20 mins drive) for a great lunch/dinner. The manager Vinay is quite helpful in planning the sight seeing. Highly recommend staying here to feel fully rejuvenated!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Try the unique pool made of rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavitra Shetty, General Manager at Hampi's Boulders Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2023
Dear Guest, It was an absolute pleasure to host you at Hampi's Boulders Resort! We are glad you had a great time staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience in this kind review. Your recommendation will help fellow travellers choose the best of experience in Hampi. Thank you for your kind words appreciating our manager and his efforts for making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you soon again Thank you Warm Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camper55085480208 asked a question Sept 2022
Is it pet friendly??
Answer from PriyankaMokashi
Mumbai, India25 contributions8 helpful votes
I don'tknow..But I wouldn't recommend taking pets as it's open country with lots of monkeys around...Having the pet inside the room at all times will be difficult.
anurag707 asked a question Feb 2021
Hyderabad, India22 contributions10 helpful votes
Don't they have Wi-Fi?
Answer from ChrisCharlesCT
Cape Town Central, South Africa51 contributions40 helpful votes
Absolutely, provided you provide food for your infant. But I'm not sure they have babysitting facilities... it's a rough and ready place in the most astounding surroundings.
Answer from Rachit K
Lucknow, India81 contributions11 helpful votes
It is a safe place. Had visited with twins of 3 years of age. Staff is friendly and the cottages are good. Ofcourse there is a trek and river, will advise against taking kids there. Otherwise it is all safe.
RichardCSwUk asked a question Feb 2018
Taunton, United Kingdom41 contributions47 helpful votes
Do they serve alcohol?
Answer from Naren S
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes they do serve alcohol. and try and get sun cottages if you can
prats wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You may get a good deal in the off season. The sun cottage has 2 rooms so if you take both you get a private party balcony "
Read full review
Companion30711042926 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its bit expensive compared to other properties. Rooms are decent when it comes to amenities. Compensated by quality of service & hospitality"
Read full review
Kayz wrote a tip Mar 2024
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan whatever activities either early morning or late evening during the summer months !! "
Read full review
Graham S wrote a tip Feb 2024
Leicestershire, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Short walk from car drop off to reception. Baggage is transported for you."
Read full review
Sightseer36584473889 wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This resort is 1 hour travel from Hampi. So take enough time for sight seeing. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hampi area.
PRICE RANGE
₹6,920 - ₹7,754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampi`s boulders hotel hampi, hampis boulders hampi, hampis boulders hotel hampi
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaBellary DistrictHampi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAMPI'S BOULDERS RESORT (Karnataka) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampi's Boulders Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Hampi's Boulders Resort?
Nearby attractions include Group of Monuments at Hampi (4.4 km), Hampi (4.0 km), and Matanga Hill (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampi's Boulders Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hampi's Boulders Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampi's Boulders Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampi's Boulders Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mango Tree Restaurant, Naivedyam, and Gopi Guest House and Roof Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampi's Boulders Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampi's Boulders Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Group of Monuments at Hampi (4.4 km), Vithala Temple Complex (5.9 km), and Elephant Stables (5.9 km).
Does Hampi's Boulders Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Hampi HotelsHampi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HampiHotels near Hampi's Boulders Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire