We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sukkar Khas Adjoining Rivulet Manooni, Dharamsala 176057 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$87
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$87
View deal
Agoda.com
$77
View deal
Vio.com$87
Trip.com$87
eDreams$87
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (244)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (21)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#16 of 249 hotels in Dharamsala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to the innate world of Prakriti Aalay – Most sought after ecological destination for true experiences …offering …holistic holidays while synergizing with the spirit of nature, craft of the locals, authenticity of food and the culture of the land. Prakriti Aalay offers you a liberating experience like no other in the entire Dharamshala. Motivated by the traditional rich Kangra style of architect, this picturesque boutique eco resort of sweeping panoramic vistas is bordered on one side by the perennial Manooni rivulet, flowing straight down from the nearby Himalayan glaciers, on the other side it is surrounded by Pine forests while entire snow clad range of Dhauladhars in the backdrop to enjoy nature from every window and every corner of Prakriti Aalay. Prakriti Aalay is located around ten km from the Dharmshala airport, and even closer to the main market, bus stand, zonal hospital, central university, monasteries, golf course, tea gardens and the international cricket stadium. There are no commercial or residential structures in the near adjoining, which means that the guests get a clear view and desired privacy at all the times. Prakriti Aalay has everything that a discerning traveler expects, be it spectacular views, incredible activities, bare luxury of rooms and suites, fine dining or just meditating at river front yoga hall, there are surprises for everyone. A serene hike in its adjoining forest, to shaking a leg in glacier fresh white water, to adventure sports of paragliding, to exotic forest, to angling, to unorthodox conference/open dining settings, to enthralling cycling routes, to fascinating treks and proximity to key attractions …the site is still very private in its location through controlled private access road and its own picturesque foot bridge over the rivulet Manooni to reach this natures’ heaven. Unique to its natural abundance and with true eco construction, the site forms a perfect backdrop to enjoy the nature – a philosophy on which Prakriti Aalay is being built. The picturesque town of Dharamshala is gifted with endless beautiful locations with each one having its own charm and story to tell, but the Spirit of Nature Stays at Prakriti Aalay away from the pollution, concrete and chaos.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Wifi
Breakfast available
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Outdoor fireplace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
Languages Spoken
Hindi
155Reviews6Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 16
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
traveljunkies2011 wrote a review 8 Jan
Mumbai, India14 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in Prakriti Aalay for 2N in 1st week of Jan 2023 which was a perfect start for the new year. Prakriti Aalay Resort has awesome picturesque view and serene ambience. Rooms are spacious and luxurious. Food was very tasty. Play area & Library was nice but pls add more books for children. (Age 8 to 10 years). Jungle trail trek, Bridge walk and river flowing through is the USP of the resort.Bonfire was a fun experience. Entire resort staff is very helpful and caring. Special Thanks to Mr. Sonu, Praveen and Avinash for making our stay comfortable. Few suggestions from my side would be in the jungle trail trek put fencing at the top of the hill for better safety and additonally have bathroom facilities in the parking area for drivers. Thank you team Prakriti Aalay for making my trip memorable and for lovely memories to cherish forever. Thank You, AJ
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pradeep J wrote a review Oct 2022
New Delhi, India1 contribution
The property was located in the lap of river and very pleasant environment to stay, if you want a nice and peaceful stay then this is the right place for you. It has sceneric and truly mesmerising veiw. The property has inspired from the nature. The rooms were spacious and clean with all the basic amenities being provided on time. The staff was polite and well groomed. Staying there was one of my best. Hope will come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Neha wrote a review Jul 2022
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India2 contributions
I visited dharamshala on June 16 ,2022 along with my husband Anurag n with my son and we were mesmerised to see the location of prakarti aalay yet on main road but secluded , tranquil .it is heaven if I summarise in one word...so courteous staff, food is osam, plus the homely feeling n river flowing n jhoolas in backyard n jungle trekking , bful river top restaurant plus open lounge , bful bridge. .what not there. It has everything..n u feel so blessed to have nature with u everytime
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Atif wrote a review Jul 2022
New Delhi, India1 contribution
Fabulous view with excellent food quality, the staff was very courteous. The sound of the river can be heard while sleeping it's very soothing. I came with 2 of my friends the experience was great we will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sutin wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Had a surreal experience during my 3-day stay at the property. The beautiful view from the rooms and the scenery are blissful in the early morning. Nights are equally peaceful and pleasant. I would definitely recommend it if you wish to spend your trip away from the hectic city life.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dhruv wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Starting of with the location, if you’re a person who likes to stay away from the city chaos and overrated mall roads, this is the right place for you. It was serene and truly mesmerising. The property is also very beautiful having a different touch in itself. The rooms were spacious and clean with all the basic amenities being provided on time. Coming to the staff, everyone was polite and active. Staying there was one of the stay I experienced in recent times. I was there for 3 days but would have loved to extend it for much longer… Thanks Dhruv Bhatia
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Swati wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
My husband and I visited Prakrit Alaya recently and it became a “one of a kind” stay for us. A stay which we will cherish forever. Prakrit Alaya in Dharmsala is tucked in the valley right near a river stream which is the USP of this property. The sound of river flowing throughout the night ensures a sound sleep and a couple of singing birds will leave you amused as you wake up. While it’s pretty close to the main road, this property promises quietness. Such quietness can be only experienced and not expressed. Everything about this place is positive - the ambience, the location, the quietness, the forest behind the property, the river flowing, birds chirping and not to forget, the STAFF who offer genuine service. You will be greeted by the ever smiling staff at all times. The rooms are spacious and we fell in love with the choice of furniture. Right from the booking process till the end of the stay everything was smooth. We met the owner of the property, Mr. Kishore Thakur, who was welcoming and made it a point to interact with all the guests to make them comfortable. We couldn’t stop ourselves from booking one more night on our way out of Dharmsala. “Not to miss property”.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kishore Thakur, Owner at Prakriti Aalay
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear Neha, It was our pleasure to host you both at ...both of our properties. We all enjoyed your company and our gup shup sessions. Appreciate your time to share this experience of yours ...means a lot to us. Looking forward to your next trip...soon. Regards/KT
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neha C wrote a review May 2022
Indore, India19 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
It is really a property in the lap of nature as the name suggests..we were 2 adults with 2 kids and had a wonderful stay at this place..the river is just close by & kids had lot of fun at the river banks..food was also amazing. Mountains are clearly visible from the resort..what more one can ask for..staff was also very polite and helpful.. overall amazing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kishore Thakur, Owner at Prakriti Aalay
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear Neha, It was pleasure to host you all and enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you people again. Regards/KT
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madhuri S wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
After having stayed at Camp Lungta and experiencing high standards of hospitality, f&b services, expectations had gone up for Prakriti Alay :-) Couldn't stay for long but thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it. Wonderful hike in the vicinity just added to the entire experience... Again, beautiful location, courteous services, delectable cuisine... Beyond expectations
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kishore Thakur, Owner at Prakriti Aalay
Responded 10 May 2022
Really appreciate taking your time to share your experience and a big THANK YOU to you and Shiv ...for capturing the beauties ( Birds ) of Prakriti Aalay so lively and so nicely. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards/KT
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rajan438 wrote a review Apr 2022
Mumbai, India4 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived in the afternoon at 1 pm. There was no one at the reception. The climb down was very steep, they had written to me that any adult could easily do it, this is not true at all. anyone with a city background will find it difficult to go up and down. and one of our group had a backache and could not go down. The manager one mr kishor thakur was contacted on the phone , When asked what they would do if there was a medical emergency , he said they would call fro a stretcher from the hospital. When we said we would pay for it, he said it would take a. lot of time. So i guess, if someone suffers an emergency there, they are doomed. mr thakur kept saying that we would get charged fully. He was least hospitable and was not even found on the premises. He was rude and said he would give me the phone number of the deputy director of HP tourism and i could complain. Of course he has not bothered to do this. The place is pathetic. go there at your own risk. There are very hospitable and fantastic places in dharamshala like Udechee huts. Avoid Prakriti by all means.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kishore Thakur, Owner at Prakriti Aalay
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear Rajan...would like to emphasize to all our guests that this review is still here despite NONE OF YOU STAYED at our Property and nor witnessed our overall experience. Now coming to your specific points.... ...1) We have very clearly shared the ''Approach Advise'' to you - despite you made this non refundable booking. At arrival one of your group member decided not to climb down ( PL NOTE THAT IT WAS NOT BECAUSE THAT SHE WAS NOT FIT TO COME BUT SHE DID NOT WANT TO COME BECAUSE OF HER OWN ANXIETY ISSUES). 2) We sent you two boy staff for luggage and two females on stand by to accompany the said member but you insisted on arranging a medical stretcher or a Doli ( which we very politely said no - that this is not an medical emergency and we don't arrange it otherwise but only the hospital/ambulance staff does this in case of real emergency ) and we also said that even we do it once, it wont be practical and feasible to do it every time, forget the cost. But despite all our requests and explaining you were not ready to listen about it but just adamant to bring Doli or Stretcher ..which we refused politely. 3) PL NOTE THAT IF THERE IS A REAL MEDICAL EMERGENCY , THESE ARRANGEMENTS ARE DONE AND NO ONE IS DOOMED AND THAT WILL NEVER HAPPEN ... EXCEPET THE WAY YOU HAVE PROJECTED BECAUSE THIS WAS NON REFUNDABLE PRE BOOKING DONE THROUGH SOME PORTALS AND THERE WAS NOTHING WE COULD DO TO IT AND YOU WRE PRE- CHARGED. We explained that to you ...but it was of no use at all. 4) All phone numbers and all appellate authorities email and number are very much available online. We suggested you that you can take up the matter with the local highest authority ( the deputy director ), if you wish so, as we have not done anything misleading or mis-information or misguiding or any misconduct to you or your group. 5) We do not need to say what our place is , this is reflected in the love of our guests who stay with us. Every person who walks a bit, does not have any medical issue or not severely obese or with any recent knee/hip surgery should take full precaution, rest all have been coming and enjoying to our place despite of age. I personally spoke to you and your your group member who came to reception on intecom, explained about the non availability of stretcher/doli, instead utilising female staff, and all other possible things but like i said earlier, it was of no use. I would urge you to visit again, with all the Three members ( where you claimed in our discussion that you all are seasonal trekkers and this approach of Prakriti is no issue at all to you three, except the anxious fourth ) and enjoy our place, hospitality, food to know more about us and then rate/review us ....will really appreciate that candid response. Looking forward to welcome you. Regards/KT
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshKangra DistrictDharamsala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PRAKRITI AALAY (Dharamsala, Asia) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Prakriti Aalay
Which popular attractions are close to Prakriti Aalay?
Nearby attractions include Divine Indian Music Center (7.7 km), Norbulingka Institute (3.2 km), and Tibetan Museum (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Prakriti Aalay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Prakriti Aalay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Prakriti Aalay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Prakriti Aalay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crepe Pancake Hut, Woeser Bakery, and Moonpeak Espresso.
Does Prakriti Aalay have airport transportation?
Yes, Prakriti Aalay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Prakriti Aalay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Prakriti Aalay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Prakriti Aalay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kangra Fort (12.6 km).