We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
558 Old Chari Road Kotwali Bazaar, Dharamsala 176215 India
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (5)

About

#38 of 218 in Dharamsala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel is built in traditional hill architecture, the hotel is a 200 year old country manor and a statement of elegance & courtliness against the backdrop of the richly forested Dhauladhar range. Grace Hotel belonged to Late Mehr Chand Mahajan, the first Chief Justice of India and prior to that Prime Minister of Kashmir during the reign of Maharaja Hari Singh. His son, Yogeshwar Mahajan restored his ancestral home and has adapted it to a WelcomHeritage hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Yoga room
Coffee shop
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Massage
Baggage storage
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Concierge
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
133Reviews3Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 49
  • 23
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DipikaMumbai wrote a review Dec 2020
Mumbai9 contributions10 helpful votes
What a lovely place. We stayed here for 6 nights and were completely bowled over by the service and the food. It's a charming little place with plenty of history and character. It's very comfortable with a quaint heritage look and feel. And the service is impeccable. They will really look after you. Most rooms have a balcony attached but they also have a small terrace on which they built bonfires which were a lot of fun. The food takes the cake! Do try the butter chicken!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
rahul r wrote a review Jan 2020
Mumbai, India60 contributions33 helpful votes
Rooms are spacious..each room different from the other. Chief Justice suite was large and had good views and closest to the main entrance. Breakfast options are limited but well made.. Soup in dinner is delicious.. Courteous staff
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RAHUL S wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
good food, well maintained heritage property, helpful and friendly staff, centrally located, easy to travel to main market and tourist attractions, quiet and clean, highly recommended to a quiet and serene stay..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
glen077 wrote a review Jul 2019
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom132 contributions71 helpful votes
We were unfortunately ill when we arrived here due to food at a place we had stopped off at en route. This proved to be a very comfortable and relaxing place to spend a day getting better. We unfortunately missed our days sightseeing but were well looked after by the hotels staff. The hotel is a distance away from the hustle and bustle of McCleod Ganj but there is a nice (non-touristy) shopping street close by.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from phoenixtraveler19, Guest Relations Manager at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
We are happy to hear you had a relaxing stay at WelcomHeritage Grace hotel and were well-taken care of by our staff. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we assure you of many more pleasant and relaxing stays should you visit us again.
Read more
Gurminder wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions
A very comfortable stay.Reminds u of the old heritage times and gives you a royal feel. Each room gives you a view of the scerine mountain ranges. The complimentary breakfast requirs an upgradation in terms of number of items served
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from phoenixtraveler19, Guest Relations Manager at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the heritage grace of the hotel and the wonderful views. We are happy to share that we have added more items on our breakfast spread. We hope you have a chance to enjoy your stay at our hotel once again. We assure you once more of the best service.
Read more
nahariyya wrote a review Mar 2019
Toronto, Canada201 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for two nights. It was a 200 year old house that the Chief Justice lived in. It was just so beautiful and cosy and the view was stunning. I loved the family of monkeys just below my window. The service was very good. My only reservations were that the breakfast could have been much improved by making some fresh bread and some nice jam or local delicacies. The dry toast and egg were a bit disappointing. Also the towels were so scratchy, I think they may actually have been used last by the Chief Justice himself.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from phoenixtraveler19, Guest Relations Manager at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the heritage charm of the hotel and beautiful views. Our staff is always willing to cater to your needs and we are happy they performed to their utmost to make your stay pleasant! As for the breakfast, we are happy to share that we have made changes and our breakfast spread includes more items tastefully made with love for a delicious experience. We hope you may visit us again to see all our upgrades in these areas. We have fresh and soft towels to make your stay very comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Read more
Sharon P wrote a review Nov 2018
Dunstable, United Kingdom47 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Grace Hotel is an old country manor house. The rooms are richly decorated with an old-world charm. Our room was at the back of the hotel and opened onto a huge terrace with great views. Our group of 10 were the only people staying here and we loved it. There was a good variety of food which was served buffet style in the intimate dining room. If you want any beers with your dinner, just let the guy know when you arrive as it seems he has to go to a local shop to get some! Unfortunately, we didn’t have any running water (hot or cold) in our rooms after 9pm on the first evening until around 7am the next day, but hey, this is India!  
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from phoenixtraveler19, Guest Relations Manager at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and savored the variety of food at our hotel restaurant. We assure of no water issues in future as our hotel is constantly upgrading and adding facilities to make our guest experience most comfortable. Thank you again
Read more
Dinkar_gopal wrote a review Nov 2018
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful Heritage property, takes you back in time to enjoy the luxury of the Raj era. Very courteous team, excellent food and warm hospitality. Appreciate Mr Inderjeet courtesy to make our stay memorable and Nostalgic
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from phoenixtraveler19, Guest Relations Manager at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad our manager, Mr. Inderjeet Rana, made your stay memorable! We hope you visit us in future. We have made many updates and would be happy to share with you for a most pleasant stay once again.
Read more
Arun K wrote a review Jun 2018
Nagpur District, India2870 contributions214 helpful votes
+1
The hotel in a charming town is set amidst the majestic Himalayas . The 200 year old country manor house built in traditional hill architecture with beautifully furnished rooms offering a breathtaking view of Kangra Valley and Pongdam Lake. The understated elegance of the hotel, its old world charm and the surrounding beauty of the mountains all come together to make it a perfect magical experience. The ambience of deep-rooted heritage and ingrained hospitality quietly pervades the establishment The interiors /decor of the 14 rooms / suites and the dining area in Grace Hotel are all in-line with the old world charm and dignity of the country manor. The rooms are named after various national & international dignitaries. We enjoyed our 2 day stay in Sardar Patel Suite. with excellent service. Camp fire in the open terrace on the new year day was simply awesome !! A magical experience indeed!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Almost all rooms are simply excellent but then one can select room as per his / her fancy for...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from phoenixtraveler19, Guest Relations Manager at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
We are absolutely delighted you had a magical experience at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel. We hope to have you again and would be at your service gladly.
Read more
anuragaggarwal2018 wrote a review May 2018
Chandigarh, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
Trusted on the ratings and booked the hotel. It has actually nothing. Rooms are bad, towels are stinking. Food have specific timings beyond which you do not get anything. The options are a few. Rates are bomb but value is Zero. Please Avoid to Not to Spoil Your Holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from phoenixtraveler19, Guest Relations Manager at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
We apologize for your uncomfortable stay with us although we are happy you enjoyed a photographic journey during your stay. We have made many improvements and we hope you have a chance to experience this. If you have any concerns kindly write to us at heritagegracehotel@gmail.com We would be happy to work with you and make your future stay pleasant and enjoyable.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$46 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshKangra DistrictDharamsala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kangra Valley (0.5 km), Aghanjar Mahadev Temple (0.8 km), and Maximus Mall (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carpe Diem, Janak's Angrish Sweets, and Punjabi Dhaba.
Are there opportunities to exercise at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a yoga room during their stay.
Does WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boh Valley (15.8 km).