We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Budmarsh Country Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Budmarsh Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Budmarsh Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A lovely setting in very large well kept garden setting. The lodge is very quiet and peaceful and the service is good. The rooms are large and have a good size balcony with views over the gardens. The meals are excellent and weather permitting can be enjoyed outside in the garden. For lunches you can order picnic baskets and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diether K
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Diether Thank you for your kind review. We wish you well for 2017 Kind regards THE BUDMARSH TEAM

Joburg
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

My family visits the area quite often. Budmarsh has a beautiful surrounding and quaint decor. The first time we went to Budmarsh was for Sunday lunch which was really lovely. Having had such a good experience we decided to revisit it this December. We were disappointed. The sandwiches we ordered were burnt, pasta was over cooked and had too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiulZ_SA
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding BUDMARSH. We are very pleased you enjoyed your previous Sunday lunch with us and we are sorry you did not enjoy the Bistro meal you had on your last visit. Our new Executive Chef has made some changes to the Bistro Menu and has brought a wealth of knowledge and training...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2016

All I need to say is: EXCELLENT IN EVERY RESPECT! WELL DONE TO AN EXCELLENT TEAM. The service was wonderful, the room great, the food excellent - just a great stay. We will most definitely recommend Budmarsh to our friends and associates, and plan to come again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E1963LSrolandb
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we do look forward to your next visit. Happy, Prosperous and a Healthy 2017 Kind regards THE BUDMARSH TEAM

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We stayed for two evenings during December ''16, we were allocated a Luxuary Suite. We expected a "luxury suite", only to find a bedroom, number 5. This room as well as three others lead straight off an inner courtyard area adjacent to the reception area. It does not offer a private veranda or balcony. Should you wish to sit somewhere,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Coles
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Derek Thank you for your review of Budmarsh, we do take all comments very seriously and am sorry you did not find room 5 satisfactory. All our rooms are meant to reflect old world charm and I am sorry if this is not to your liking. I do see that you made your reservation online where there are many...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016

From the moment I booked with Tracey for our Christmas weekend the service has been exceptional. What an absolute treasure of a find! From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional, our suite was beautifully appointed with a huge patio and the toiletries were all "not tested on animals'' something I am personally very passionate about! Ok, now we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VictoriaJayneH
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Victoria Thank you for your very kind review of BUDMARSH I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas stay, I am also pleased that you were surprised by the Christmas Menu which you did not not want to see in advance. I will pass your comments to the staff and do hope to see you again soon. Happy...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Budmarsh is the perfect weekend getaway. The food was incredible, the staff were pleasant and ever-willing to assist us with whatever we needed, and the location of the lodge is picturesque. It is the perfect place to unwind and relax with your significant other.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suvigya30
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Its always great to receive perfect reviews, thank you. We look forward to your next visit. Happy holidays and safe travels. Kind Regards The Budmarsh Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The room and setting is beautiful and most of the staff very welcoming and informed. The food served at the restaurant is however not to the standard expected from such a facility. The risotto was undercooked, Salmon was overcooked and the streak was tough although the latter was correctly prepared. I would rather eat from the Bistro menu.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan C
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Johan Thank you for taking the time to review BUDMARSH and I am pleased that you found BUDMARSH beautiful and the staff friendly. Sorry about the "Mains" but I am very pleased you enjoyed the 5* Bistro menu. BUDMARSH has a new Executive Chef, Vincent, he assures me you will not be disappointed on your next visit. Looking forward...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I arrange a picnic for my wife and I for a Monday afternoon at the Budmarsh lawns - absolutely stunning! My Mrs was very impressed. It was quiet, with birds chirping in the background. The staff set everything up and they were great. The chef - prepared basket was delicious. I would recommend that the hotel provide and discuss a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olie K
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Olie Thank you for your great review, we normally do send an attachment with your confirmation for the Picnic, which has the menu, we also then request if you have any dietary requirements, my apologies if this was not the case. 96% of the year the road is fine for all vehicles to travel, your arrival after the well...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We recently spent a few nights at Budmarsh and what a gem just 2 house from the city. Rooms were comfortable, outside shower wonderful. Lounged around the lovely pool all day, the grounds are stunning and you can have a picnic basket under the trees. The meals are excellent and the presentation just lovely. The staff are exceptionally well trained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia Thanks for your kind review of BUDMARSH, we have a couple of rooms that have the outside shower when you call 011 7281800 for your next reservation please do indicate that you would like a room with an outside shower. We are looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards THE BUDMARSH TEAM

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you to the whole Budmarsh team for our special weekend away and the fact that you went out of your way to accommodate our special needs! Beautiful and perfect lodge. Food brilliant and service fantastic! Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinellErasmus
Mike P, General Manager at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Linell Thank you for the very kind review of BUDMARSH that is what we are all about "going out of our way". We are very pleased you were happy and wish Dietz well with all of our hearts. Kindest regards THE BUDMARSH TEAM

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.5 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
1.0 km away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
438 reviews
4.4 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
32.0 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
445 reviews
19.9 km away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in the heart of the magical Magaliesberg, Budmarsh Country Lodge awaits to welcome you to its world of understated elegance, tranquility and personalised attention. Escape through beautiful gardens to ramble amongst abundant bird life. After a sumptuous dinner, conjured by our Master Chef, relax in front of a roaring fire, engage in a game of snooker or simply escape to the quietness of the library to read and forget the stresses of your world. Retire to your bedroom with its antique furniture, underfloor heating, en-suite bathroom and sink into your king size bed for a sleep that is truly nature’s balm. With its lovely landscaped gardens, exquisite trees and alluring scenery, there is no better place than Budmarsh for an intimate wedding for special people. To enjoy your friendships in the peacefulness synonymous with Budmarsh, simply book for a High Tea, Picnic or Sunday Lunch. With enchanting views of the Magaliesberg Mountains, our state-of-the-art conference facilities are designed to inspire, motivate, develop and spoil your staff. Enjoy five star dining, service and accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budmarsh Country Lodge

Address: T1 Magalies Meander Road, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Price Range: ₹ 10,307 - ₹ 16,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budmarsh Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Budmarsh Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budmarsh Country Lodge Magaliesburg, Gauteng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Budmarsh Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 13-18 are on a higher level and offer great views of the gardens”
MakweM, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My room was quiet, private and extremely comfortable - only staying one night, I wasn't able to look around at the other accommodation.”
, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The standard room is luxurious enough (king bed, heated floors, outside shower and fireplace). There bigger and better suites.”
Gcobane_Quvile, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any of the upstairs rooms”
dietherk, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
896cynthiap, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5