We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Malawi National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Best club sandwich with Nali sauce! Solid camping option with solid ablutions. Braai pits and cold beer. $10 pp p/night. Free internet (Malawi network slow in general). Cost terrace restaurant. Kid friendly. Big camp site. New bar opening soon too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmisashimi
Marketing M, Marketing at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for camping at Chintheche - i think you summed the place up perfectly! The campsite at Chintheche Inn really is such a fantastic location to just pitch a tent and relax on the beach, while sipping on a cold tipple of your choice (MGT for me!). As you mentioned the bar area is in the process of being...

michigan
Reviewed 13 June 2015

This is a nice inn right on Lake Malawi. It's not super deluxe, but is very nice and makes for a nice weekend getaway. The food on site is good (or good enough if you are visiting from outside Malawi) and the location cannot be beat. Single king bed room cost us about 45,000 kwacha and included breakfast. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pyegirl
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TA. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing time while at Chintheche Inn. We appreciate your point regarding limited internet access, and although as you said, it isn't something that is a prime concern for of many our guests we appreciate that there are...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2015

The couple who run Chintheche Inn really keep in touch with their clients. One day they realized that the evening menu didn't seem to work for the families staying at the lodge, so they changed it all mid-afternoon to keep everyone happy. We stayed with our two daughters and enjoyed lovely romps on the shore of Lake Malawi and, when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACE_Thibodeau
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Glad you had such a fantastic experience while at Chintheche Inn - the moon when its full over the lake is truly something to behold. I will pass your kind words onto our staff. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Richard and the CAWS team.

Lilongwe
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Having visited another Central African Wilderness Safari Lodge maybe our expectations here were too high. Whilst there is no doubting the wonderful location and the food as great, the accommodation and facilities fell far short of other beach lodges we have stayed at in Malawi. The biggest disappointment was the pool which was absolutely filthy and totally un-usable. On mentioning...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael23558
Marketing M, Managing Director at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take all feedback extremely seriously and have investigated and rectified all of the valid points you have raised. We were particularly saddened by your impression of our staff's perceived lack of care as the company prides itself on going the extra mile. We are the only property on the...

Reviewed 7 April 2015

We stayed 4 nights during Easter at the lodge with B&B and two dinners. The full moon over the lake made the whole thing magical. Church choirs for dinner out in the garden, dinner out on the beach with bomfires.. The hosts were very helpful, generous and organize lovely evenings for their guests. Next door is the hotel's small campsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sbh F
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

I''m glad you had such a great time, the full moon over the lake must have looked incredible! The bedrooms back onto the lawn and beach allowing you to be close to the lake, which is particularly nice to wake up to in the morning. Although the addition of gardens may create a visual barrier between the rooms and the...

Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

Have stayed for 2 days. The overall experience was really appreciable. Like the atmosphere above everything else. Warm receiption,wonderful kitchen. Lush n green sorroundings on 3 sides n the ocean like Malawi Lake on the other. Would like to visit again soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sadeesh K. J
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Richard and the CAWS team.

Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stay at Chintheche Inn for two nights, very warm welcome by the receptionist and all staff provided us with excellent service. Very private with spectacular views of Lake Malawi. The beach was very clean, we could relax on the beach for the whole day. Coming to the room, it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suleman K
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you had such a fantastic time at Chintheche Inn! At CAWS we always strive to maintain the Inns reputation as one of the finest destinations on the northern lakeshore, so its great to hear that you were able to experience the quality of accommodation, food and service that Chintheche Inn is known for. We look forward to...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this lodge for two nights. We were welcomed by very friendly staff, and we quickly got the sense that the lodge was well integrated in the community. The lake itself it beautiful and a nice place to relax. Our rooms overlooked the lake and had a "beach entrance". We chose to do the snorkeling trip, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulla H
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review, we really appreciate all feedback from our guests. We like to think that Chintheche Inn offers our guests a warm and relaxing stay with the chance to experience village life should they wish to. Our village tour always gets a fantastic response from our guests so hopefully you will be able to fit it into...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here in March 2008 with Kiboko Safaris from Lilongwe. Thoroughly enjoyed it here. Great location on the beach. Staff were helpful at the bar and in arranging trips (horse riding etc) very quiet resort as most are in Malawi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mark C, Thank you for the very positive review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in this magical spot. We have recently completed a refurbishment of all the rooms and the dining area so it is looking even better. We hope you are able to return soon to see these improvements for yourself. Thanks again. The Chintheche...

NYC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 day & night. What a pleasure. The food was great, the workers were very nice and the rooms were great (for the price and location). We were in a large group and they took great care of us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beany_from_Brooklyn
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Glad your group had a great time - we look forward to seeing you again soon! Richard and the CAWS team.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Malawi National Park
4.2 km away
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Makuzi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Chintheche
86 reviews
32.7 km away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
64 reviews
249.7 km away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
228.2 km away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
85 reviews
0.0 km away
La Exotica Lodge Chinteche
La Exotica Lodge Chinteche
#3 of 5 in Chintheche
4 reviews
249.7 km away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn

Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chintheche Inn is set in extensive, lush gardens dotted with splendid, shady trees and overlooking Lake Malawi which, oceanlike, stretches to the horizon. The distant Viphya Mountains form a dramatic backdrop. There is a central dining area and bar, and meals often take place (weather permitting) under the stars or in a secluded corner of the garden, near the large swimming pool. Chintheche Inn boasts some of the finest beaches on the lakeside as well as excellent freshwater activities such as boating and snorkelling. Meeting and interacting with the local people, biking through villages and learning about the Chintheche Tree Planting initiative from our staff are just a little of what makes the friendly, laid-back Inn such a unique place to visit. Birdlife is abundant, while the reclusive mutable sun squirrel may be sighted in the gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn

Address: Lake Malawi shore, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi (Formerly Wilderness Safaris)
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park
Price Range: ₹ 9,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms face the lake so which ever you choose doesn't really matter.”
 of 5 bubbles Evievbwalya, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wi-fi is available & fairly reliable (for Malawi) but limited coverage (only next to reception).”
 of 5 bubbles carterh769, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“All 10 rooms overlook the beach and lake”
 of 5 bubbles Michael23558, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All rooms overlook the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeGrahamHermanus, 21 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Number 1 has two rooms in one.”
 of 5 bubbles IanB447, 10 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5