We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

High Shoals Cabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of High Shoals Cabins
 Click to rate
Poplar Grove, Arkansas
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We stayed here for a week in Cabin #1. It is nice and quiet. The cabin is clean and very quaint. The loft had a light out but i looked under cabinet and found a replacement. Everything we needed was already in the cabin. Alan was very helpful when my son hit a button and messed up the satellite. If...

Thank Lauralite
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We were in Cabin 3 and for privacy it was perfect. The cabin was way better than I expected. It was clean, tastefully decorated and had pretty much everything we needed. The living room furniture was a bit outdated, but it worked. The back deck was nice to sit on in the morning and evening. It was a great place...

Thank barbs0867
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 18 March 2016

This was a nice little cabin. The structure itself is really sweet, wood everywhere. The furniture is dated but clean. We were not there to hang out in the cabin so it was perfect for what we needed. It has all the pots and pans you need to cook and a little kitchen so you could plan every meal for...

Thank Angelique D
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

I absolutely adored High Shoals! We didn't stay in a cabin; we had rented the cottage in the middle of town. A little creepy at first because it was next to the cemetery, but honestly that did nothing to detract from the overall amazingness this place had! A lovely kitchen (with pots and pans and a lot of utensils that...

Thank Chessy B
Plano, Texas
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Our first impression of High Shoals was of benign neglect. The property was overgrown with grass and weeds, and Cabin 2's front entrance was dirty. The inside of the cabin needed a thorough cleaning. There was dirt and cobwebs in the corners of the cabin. The beds and couches were old and worn out. The wi-fi was spotty at best...

1Thank Robert C
alan188, Manager at High Shoals Cabins, responded to this review

Robert, we both know why you wrote your review. That's fine. Karma... As the welcome letter left in your cabin stated, there is a road that goes down to the river in addition to the path. If you didn't like the path you could have used the road. The Dish network satellite tv works fine. There is a laminated pamphlet...

Salem, Arkansas
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We enjoyed cabin 4. We wanted the convenience of the paved road/ easy to find access yet it is private enough in it's neighborhood setting with a huge yard and pond and great trees. The owners were wonderful, the cabin was furnished well. Great price. We will be back !

1Thank brodgers50
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We rented a cabin at High Shoals, we told him at first four people it slept 7. A 10 dollar charge per person over four a night, no big deal, we thought! Cabin was not ready at check in..check is at 2pm...we arrived 2 hours after check in..no big deal to us...we waited.. the owner/manager was so completely rude! If...

3Thank Brianna D
alan188, Manager at High Shoals Cabins, responded to this review

I’m confused by your response. Yes the rates are for up to 4 people. Additional people and pets are $10 extra per night, per person-pet. This has always been on the website. I had a turnaround on your cabin that day. I might have gone a few minutes past 2pm cleaning, but definitely not two hours past. We had two...

Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewed 23 June 2014

High Shoals Cabins are quite secluded, and since there are only three at this site quite separated, with options also for tent camping, you don't have to be social if you don't want to. Our group of five was quite comfortable in Cabin 1, although we spent most of the time on nearby adventures, or just hanging out on the...

3Thank FSTriptych
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewed 24 May 2014

have enjoyed previous stays there with my family, the last time i stayed there (summer 2013) I had extra quests coming for 1 night which was negotiated before hand, a problem arose when strangers came knocking on my cabin door because they were stranded in the river at 10 pm needing assistance, I sent them to the office/house of the...

4Thank Cinnamon B
alan188, Manager at High Shoals Cabins, responded to this review

Yes I think it was wrong for you to ask me for money for helping those floaters. I mentioned that the last time you called, and you didn’t understand. I didn’t say you could not make a reservation because of it. If I changed an old lady’s flat tire in a taco bell parking lot, I wouldn’t then go to...

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very clean and nicely furnished 1 bedroom cabin(two double beds). Has hide-a-bed in living area. Nice tub and shower also. Covered front porch and small deck in back. No problems with anything. Again, very clean and nicely furnished.

8Thank barrelmankansas

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (3)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
28.7 km away
Glenwood Golf Course and Resort
29.0 km away
Ouachita Mountain Inn
Ouachita Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenwood
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices


Room types
  • Kitchenette

Additional Information about High Shoals Cabins

Address: 2642 High Shoals Rd., Mount Ida, AR 71957
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from High Shoals Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cabin one and two get wifi free but cabin three is too far back. They are all the same price so go for the bigger cabins”
 of 5 bubbles Lauralite, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 3 has the most privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles barbs0867, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Located about 8 miles NW of Mt. Ida, Arkansas. Quiet area by river.”
 of 5 bubbles barrelmankansas, 27 Mar 2012 | Read review
3 of 3