We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

whala!bavaro

Los Corales, El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1258)
Pool & Beach (339)
Room & Suite (99)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 9 resorts in Bavaro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in front of the beach, whala!bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Full body massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish
945Reviews99Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 349
  • 212
  • 124
  • 102
  • 159
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gillian C wrote a review Yesterday
Rossendale, United Kingdom16 contributions13 helpful votes
After visiting here 8 years ago we can honestly say that this hotel has seriously gone down hill apart for Juliana in the restaurant and the bar staff we have felt very ignored and over looked, problems with having to move rooms toilet not working reception couldn't give a darn wouldn't return for free.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tony D wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
+1
The staff were amazing we felt right at home. The view of the ocean was magical. Also, we will never forget the entertainment! And a staff member name Jhon David is the reason we will visit every year! The guests were very friendly as well. We absolutely love the multiple pool options.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The food was great, however, some days the food was redundant.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the time you have taken to write this review about our hotel. We are pleased to know that, through Jhon's intervention, your experience improved significantly, turning your stay into a series of memorable moments. It is inspiring to hear that our commitment and dedication have resonated with you, creating a welcoming and relaxed environment. Sincerely, Johanny Martinez Concierge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Haley R wrote a review 4 Apr
4 contributions
First things first, this is right on the beach, the sunsets were beautiful and gave us an hour to sit back and appreciate the sky. It’s a smaller hotel, with a big heart. The staff try very hard and are so friendly, we’re not really used to that ! It has everything you want, small pool, bar and that beach. Breakfasts were great, fresh eggs along with the holiday specials. You won’t wear half of what you bring, it’s really relaxed. So into the way of life here, sad to go home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Haley, Greetings from Whala!Bavaro Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in our hotel. We would like to apologize on behalf of the entire team if we did not impress you during your valuable vacation. According to your rating, our hotel has not lived up to your expectations, please accept our apologies, of course, this action saddens us a lot since it is not our intention that these things happen. Also, we are very sorry that the service and attention in general has not been to your liking. We shall use your constructive critique and ideas to help us reach our goal of providing our guests with a memorable experience. Once again, we offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced, we hope you had a safe trip back home. Best regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim S wrote a review 4 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I would give this resort a minus score if available. Do yourself a favor and book any place other than Whala!bavaro. There were four of us in our party. My brother in law booked a condo for our stay which turned out to be a scam for which we lost all our money. We were left scrambling to find a place at 6 p.m. in the evening. We searched online to find the most affordable place for one night until we could find another place for our one month stay. It indicated a rate of less than $100 per night. We decided to just to go the resort to book the room. When we arrived they would not honor that rate but charged us $500 USD for one night for the four of us. We were tired and desperate so we took the room although we tried to negotiate a more reasonable and fair rate to no avail. I feel they took advantage of our situation. To top it off this is the worst all inclusive resort I have stayed at. We have stayed at dozens of all inclusive resorts in many locations. The food was sub par at best with limited selection. On the positive side the resort was clean and close to the beach but all the positives were absolutely soured by our experience mentioned above.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kims, Greetings from Whala!Bavaro Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in our hotel. We would like to apologize on behalf of the entire team if we did not impress you during your valuable vacation. According to your rating, our hotel has not lived up to your expectations, please accept our apologies, of course, this action saddens us a lot since it is not our intention that these things happen. Also, we are very sorry that the service and attention in general has not been to your liking, considering that our staff is usually highlighted by their predisposition and professionalism. We shall use your constructive critique and ideas to help us reach our goal of providing our guests with a memorable experience. Once again, we offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced, we hope you had a safe trip back home. Best regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jay B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
+1
I had a great stay at Whala Bavaro. Although the place is not super big but what the place makes it big and better are the staff (like John) who were super nice and helpful. The new year celebration at Whala Bavaro was truly memorable and unforgettable!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, It gives us great joy to know that you have obtained a beautiful stay. Our goal is to exceed each of your expectations. we thank you to take the time to share with the TripAvisor your pleassant experience with us. We hope we can have the fortune of having you back in the near future, so that you can enjoy another wonderful stay with us. Best regard Johanna Villaman Reception Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alonso E wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The best experience If ever had. Great food, affordable, nicest people I’ve met that have worked at a resort. Animator Jhon was the best worker out by far. Very intelligent and very nice. Helped out everyone and was a man worth a thousands words. I recommend anyone from any age to stay at the whala bavaro!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for such a positive comment about your stay. Your kind words about our hotel and our staff, especially Jhon who, like the rest of our team, is dedicated to providing attentive and attentive service to all the needs of our guests, guaranteeing a relaxed and worry-free stay. Sincerely Johanny Martinez Concierge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James wrote a review Mar 2024
New York City, New York1 contribution
The staff here are probably the most fun people you will ever meet. Everybody here is so friendly and nice, the beach activities are innovative. You will definitely get new experience from the nightly performances, they are always refreshing and eye opening. The services exceeds all expectations. The bartenders are amicable, and connect guests with conversations and enjoyable drinks! Jhon, the activities director, is probably the most positive, animated, and fun loving person I’ve ever met! He always loves to talk and teach the guests about Dominican dances, songs, and sport! Jhon is definitely worth talking to and learning a dance from when music plays at the pool! My friends and I stayed here for about a week and all thought the animators Jhon and Alexander, the bartenders Evelyn, Misael, Genesis, Wander, Cesar Luis, Sammy the Barber, and all the Frontdesk workers did amazing jobs. The private security guards did amazing work to provide protection and information. The chefs provide various options, some of which I admit I shyed away from. The Italian restaurant however, which is across the street available by reservation and not included for free, is surprisingly very good with impressive Italian fusion cuisine. The drinks taste amazing (try the Mama Juana if I left any) and the beaches are more than you could ask for. It costs $50 to bring a guest in who is not staying there. The Whala!Bavaro is a fun time for everyone of any age. Pedro is pretty interesting and I recommend you talk to him. Truly the staff turn this resort into a more special experience and Jhon the activities director is the crown jewel. You will not regret a stay at the Whala!Bavaro!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make conversation with the local staff and learn about awesome Dominican Republic cultural elements.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your enthusiasm for the atmosphere and entertainment is truly inspiring, and it is wonderful to hear that our services, including the harmonious ambience and gastronomic offert, creating a welcoming and inviting experience that made you feel at home. It is always our aim to ensure that our guests are immersed in the elegant luxury of our resort and appreciate the mindful attention to detail that our team provides. All of the team look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Johanna Villaman Reception Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
foued k wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Only one star because the food was horrible regardless of the meal from starters to desserts to drinks (and information often absent or incomplete for buffet dishes) except for the pressed juices at breakfast. But at this price there is surely a clientele who are perfectly satisfied with this. So I rather recommend this hotel for a short stay of one to three nights if you are just looking for accommodation without too many requirements for food only for sleeping or with friends when you are young and on a tight budget. Efficient housekeeping (even if the room deserves a more solid and easy-to-open door to the balcony as well as a better quality hairdryer and shower). Beach far from being the most pleasant on the coast with murky water, algae, slightly dirty surroundings linked to the restaurant and the nautical base attached to the hotel which generate noise and waste. Which obviously care little about offering a calm and clean setting unlike other places in Punta Cana where the beaches are truly heavenly. Some positive points even if the stay was far from pleasant. Friendly and helpful waiters. And the staff in general are welcoming and helpful except for a waitress at the beach bar who was particularly nonchalant one of the days she was there. For those who like that, there was a joyful and festive atmosphere with good evening entertainment (live singers covering famous hits and dance shows) and a playlist focused on local and Latin music. Special mention to John (in photo) one of the entertainers who is really a very friendly person and I think I'm not the only one to think so because all the customers seemed to have a good laugh with him. 😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Greeting from whala, We truly regret any difficulties you may have experienced when communicating with our staff. We have a compromise ahead of us concerning this issue. Nonetheless, I can assure you that all the departments that are directly in contact with our guests have an English-speaking staff. We deeply regret that our gastronomic offer did not meet their expectations. as a company focused on service, we are aware that it is thanks to the valuable comments from our customers that we can continue working for the optimization and improvement of our services. We are committed to offer the best of service with great products and we would like you to know that your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually strive for and pride ourselves with. We will be looking into the concerns you have expressed in regards to our level of customer service immediately. Once again, please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had onsite. Sincerely, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Curious573771 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution4 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely terrible, by the first day to the end, I hope this review helps family’s . The room I stayed you can see the sunset it the wood door close , no interior path looked, toilet don’t stop running water and not flushing, outlet box for power caming out at the Walls DANGER especially if you travel it your kids, the celling at the bathroom it’s temporary absolutely disgusting not instal proply on frame , it’s single shingles it tape , and liking water.the water it’s salt .I have turn off the fridge over night because the noise. Just give to us 3 bottles water , if you need more you have too go and the front desk and asked , the safe box don’t work by the first day I stepped on this room , I pay for the safe and don’t work, I have to carry Al my documents for 32 hours until another used safe it’s instal it 3 screws. Bugs on floors, room and araund . I have wall pictures too reported at my travel agent. NEVER AGAIN..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The hand railing at jacuzzi poll it’s broake
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Curious, Greetings from Whala!Bavaro Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in our hotel. We would like to apologize on behalf of the entire team if we did not impress you during your valuable vacation. According to your rating, our hotel has not lived up to your expectations, please accept our apologies, of course, this action saddens us a lot since it is not our intention that these things happen. Also, we are very sorry that the service and attention in general has not been to your liking, considering that our staff is usually highlighted by their predisposition and professionalism. We shall use your constructive critique and ideas to help us reach our goal of providing our guests with a memorable experience. Once again, we offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced, we hope you had a safe trip back home. Best regards, Johanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lee H wrote a review Mar 2024
Churchill, Canada3 contributions
What a dream to get off the plane and hit a wall of heat and sunshine. We came to the Dominican Republic with my Dad and my brother and his wife. Requesting the rooms be near each other, it was good to see that had been organised. No problem with the rooms, all good. We were staying all inclusive so no rush or arguments about who pays, actually the buffets were great, regardless of what you’re looking for, it was there. Great service at the bars, they even got to know our drink orders ! Nice clean pools and outdoor loungers. The beaches are incredible, especially the one right outside. Never spent so much time on a beach and had such an enjoyable time with my family. Everyone agreed, it’s not about what, it’s about who you spend time with.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest service, Atención al huésped/Recepción at whala!bavaro
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Leeh, Wow, Thank you so much for your nice words, but very especially, thank you for the trust you have deposited in us. After having read such a wonderful review, I just want to tell you much we appreciate your loyalty and every opportunity you have given us to host your holidays. Please notice that for all of us it is a great pleasure to be your host and better yet, to know that you consider us part of your family. We are su blessed for such privilege. We would be happy to welcome you to your third stay. Please be sure to inform in advance so we can work hard to prepare for your stay and offer you a warm welcome again. Thank you for everything, we can´t wait to welcome you back. Best Regards, Jhoanna Villaman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bavaro area.
PRICE RANGE
₹8,009 - ₹12,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alisios bavaro beach hotel, hotel alisios bavaro beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta CanaBavaro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
263
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHALA!BAVARO - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about whala!bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to whala!bavaro?
Nearby attractions include OCEAN ADVENTURES Caribbean Pirates (0.2 km), Jellyfish Shop (0.08 km), and Playa Galina (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at whala!bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at whala!bavaro?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at whala!bavaro?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to whala!bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bruja Chupadora, Citrus Fusion Cuisine, and Kats Corner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at whala!bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does whala!bavaro have airport transportation?
Yes, whala!bavaro offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at whala!bavaro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Russian.