We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
West of St. Augustin's Church, Mararikulam 688523 India
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (45)
Pool & Beach (23)

About

#4 of 44 Specialty lodging in Mararikulam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Marari Beach Villas is a big homestay located at the heart of Marari beach which is run by Raju and his family. Marari Beach Villas offers comfort and convenience at an affordable price. The property has eight Airconditioned rooms and four single rooms along with a beautiful front hammock garden. Five blocks away from the beautiful Marari beach and 1.8km away from the famous lord shiva temple and also 1hr 45 minutes drive from the Cochin International Airport . As a guest, your comfort and satisfaction are our top priority. For this reason, we provide complimentary Wi-Fi, and continental breakfast. We also offer Ayurvedic Treatments and massages on request.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Badminton
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Yoga room
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Boating
Canoeing
Game room
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Car hire
Taxi service
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil

Location

Full view
63Somewhat walkable
Grade: 63 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
156Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 47
  • 22
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dr. Susan Arun wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I would like to recommend this home stay as it gifted us the best memories there. 24th Feb was my dad's 70th birthday and i asked Mr. Raju (owner) to get the cake only. But he arranged the best of best like a small party with decorations, music, mike etc. my dad was really surprised by this arrangement and they made our day and stay very special. my 1 year and 4 year kids were super excited. Felt like our own home. this is our first home stay as we always prefer resorts only. we are waiting to stay there again when our relatives will come from outside India. Special thanx to Mr. Raju and his wife for adding a chapter of good memories into our life .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dragon_zero wrote a review Dec 2019
Kozhikode, India2 contributions2 helpful votes
I had travelled to Marari for business. I had to sort out booking on wrong dates on my end. Was sent here by another local homestay. The owner was accommodating. The room was nice. Breakfast was good. The location is very close to the beach. So I could spend some morning time by the beach. The place is surrounded by nature as well. Overall it was good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Close to the Beach
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Henry Morrobel wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
I stayed at this beautiful place from September 30th till October 4th and let me tell you, the place is amazing. The rooms are spectacular but the best of all is the harmony of this wonderful family. They would do anything to make you feel like at home and Raju's wife cooks so delicious. If you are in the area, this is the place to go. Thank you Raju and Family.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mjlothar wrote a review Apr 2019
Geneva, Switzerland174 contributions99 helpful votes
First of all I am being quite generous by giving this place 3 stars because at most it deserves 2-2.5. The pictures on booking.com and TripAdvisor are highly deceiving. The property name has changed to Raju Villas and there’s absolutely no sign on the road. The pictures on booking are from his brothers two upstairs bedrooms next door. I’m supposed to have one of the nice rooms and it does not look like any of the pictures. I only have a white sheet on my bed and old towels. There’s an ant infestation in the bathroom since my arrival and no extra toilet paper. Nobody has emptied my trash or asked if I needed cleaning. Mind you it’s low season (early April) so they’re probably tired from the tourist season but still...I feel like I’m staying in someone’s unkept home. Stuff and newspapers strewn about. The upstairs dining is a sad little place. Dirty floors and some plastic furniture lying around and two very old and dirty yoga mats which i didn’t get to use because the female yoga teacher the owner booked cancelled at the last minute and they didn’t bother to tell me. Instead they asked some old guy who looked like a taxi driver and could barely speak English to come teach. I said no thanks. The breakfast was pretty decent but the dinner gave me quite bad indigestion. All the food besides the fried fish was cold. You can get much cheaper and better food at the other homestays or on the beach. But perhaps my biggest criticism is the interaction with the owner. I had sent him various messages saying I could not amend my reservation from 4 nights to 3 nights on booking but that I would arrive one day late because I was spending the night on a houseboat. He said fine and told me the price for 3 nights. I was surprised on the day I was originally supposed to check in that booking had charged me for 4 nights so he never bothered to amend the reservation for me or offered to give me money back. He also never mentioned that the tuk tuk he told me to take from alleppey could not drive on this sandy road /path. He said oh you should have called me and I would have picked you up but he never mentioned this in any of his messages. So the tuk tuk driver and I are walking all over the place with my luggage in the 40 degree 99% humidity heat trying to find his place as there are no signs to Raju Villa. After walking around the beach a few days there are many homestays and many look much nicer and have better food so I really regret staying here. One of the worst homestays I’ve been to in terms of service. On the upside the AC works. WiFi signal is terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SheyV-7 wrote a review Apr 2018
Brookvale, Australia47 contributions6 helpful votes
We had an amazing time here. We were having trouble finding the place and the son came out to find us and carried my bag back to the villa The whole family were friendly, welcoming and professional. The room was clean & tidy & the sheets smelled freshly washed. The food here is an absolute highlight. Some of the best home cooked meals I've had in Kerala! We were able to get beer each night for 200 rupees which was really nice after a long, hot day. Its a short 3 min walk to the beach which was relatively quiet and clean (for India). They had an upsatairs open area with ceiling fans for meals on one side or you could just hang out on the other side. They had a few spare mats and space to do yoga. There were also a few hammocks in the yard to chill out on. I can highly recommend this place & would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mararibeachvillas, Guest Relations Manager at Marari Beach Villas
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Hi, Greetings from Marari Beach Villas!! Thank you for your kind words, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay here. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Athul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mungbeansare4losers wrote a review Apr 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is a perfect little paradise, whether you are a solo traveller, a couple or a group, Mr Ragu and his amazing wife Geni will look after you. Upon arrival their son greated us with a smile and offered to take my girfriends back-breakingly heavy bag. We walked through the gate and were greeted with a complimentry pinapple and coconut juice... an indian summer dream that was! The room was sparkling clean. The courtyard filled with hammocks. Made friends for life there which was another bonus. Admittingly the Wi-Fi wasn't the best from our room, but we were one of the furthest rooms from the modem... the second you went outside and moved 2-3 meters towards the modem, we were streaming 1080p videos fast and with ease. Definitely not a big issue. The food. Is. Better than anything. Ever. Geni (hope I'm spelling correctly!) is a genius in the kitchen. EAT AT THE VILLAS OR ELSE YOU ARE MISSING OUT. She puts the 'God' in "Gods Country". Best dal I've ever had... and I've indulged in dal my whole life. The whole experience... incredible. Would do again. Nice beach too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mararibeachvillas, Guest Relations Manager at Marari Beach Villas
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Hi, Greetings from Marari Beach Villas!! Thank you for your kind words, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay here. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Athul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hannehov93 wrote a review Feb 2018
Oslo, Norway2 contributions
I have truly NOTHING positive to say about this place.. Me and three other friends booked two rooms via airbnb over new years. When we arrived, we were told to wait.. So we sat down and waited for 30 min without getting any information, turned out the owner had double booked us. So we were sent to another homestay where we had to pay alot to stay. I called the owner several times to tell him that we had paid for the rooms at this place, but he ensured us that the payment hadn't been accepted. Which isn't true, almost 15000 rupies were withdrawn from my account.. We have been trying to get in touch with him several times several places (phone, mails, facebook..) without any replies. Our friend, which is still in India, got a hold of him over the phone and he said that we would get our money back in a day. It has been two weeks since that phone call and he doesn't reply our millions of mails. Looks like he does this with a lot of people. So stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mararibeachvillas, Guest Relations Manager at Marari Beach Villas
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Hi, Greetings from Marari Beach Villas!! We are extremely sorry about the bad experience you had to face at our property. But the booking is shown as cancelled in our AirBnB profile and we had tried several times to deposit money to your account with no success. Hope you got the money back from AirBnB, if not please message us in airbnb and we can sort it out. Regards Athul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hanna L wrote a review Jan 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked 2 rooms for me and my 3 friends, I got a confirmation mail that said it was booked and paid for, and we went all the way to the homestay. When we got there mr Raju said it was doublebooked, and I asked him what happened to my booking and my money, he said the booking wasn't accepted yet and that no money was being taken from my account. We waited all day for any further information about my booking, and after many hours of waiting he sent us away to another homestay near (that we had to pay for ourselves). We went to the other homestay and we called mr Raju several times the same day about further information about the living situation, and what was happening to my booking that I've paid for. He was rude, careless and couldn't help us with anything, and everytime I asked about my money he said I could be sure that no money had being taken from my account. We never slept I night at marari beach villas, we were on our own after that day, even if we had booked and paid for 3 nights there. Weeks later, I discovered that my money WAS TAKEN 29/12, the same day as we arrived to his homestay. So he had been LYING to me everytime I asked about my money. Since then I have tried to contact him many times on airbnb, with NO REPLIES. We contacted him again on the phone, and this time he answered, and he said he was going to give back my money to my account as soon as I gave him my bank information. It's been two whole weeks now, and I got NO MONEY and NO SINGLE REPLIE to my messages. DO NOT TRUST RAJU, OR THE MARARI BEACH VILLAS. I do not recomend you to book here, he scams costumers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mararibeachvillas, Guest Relations Manager at Marari Beach Villas
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Hi, Greetings from Marari Beach Villas!! We are extremely sorry about the bad experience you had to face at our property. But the booking is shown as cancelled in our AirBnB profile and we had tried several times to deposit money to your account with no success. Hope you got the money back from AirBnB, if not please message us in airbnb and we can sort it out. Regards Athul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
prasad k wrote a review Jan 2018
20 contributions6 helpful votes
I booked this to experience home stay at marari beach. Location is fine, very near from beach but not on beach. Good peace and relax kind of surrounding, you can chill outside of room / balcony. Mosquitoes are main challenge be ready with things. Food we expected as very good but we didn’t see anything as very good,or no one asked us for food / choices. When we checked-in no one was there at resort and we walked 2 Kms to eat. ( food we had outside was horrible ) For dinner we enquired with resort Owner and they managed food for us, that was manageable and good in taste. May be we were unlucky as some celebration was there near stay and our hosts were busy there. If you are ready with your things / eatable items and you want Just good place to stay, then this is perfect place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mararibeachvillas, Guest Relations Manager at Marari Beach Villas
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Hi, Greetings from Marari Beach Villas!! We are extremely sorry about the bad experience you had to face at our property. We do provide meals to guests on request and breakfast is complimentary. Regards Athul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zebratraveller wrote a review Jan 2018
United States2 contributions2 helpful votes
I have never been treated so terribly at a hotel in my life! I was a solo female traveler and I booked this place because it looked like it was safe, well lit, and had a community feel with the common area and hammocks. In addition to prepaying on a booking website, I also had emailed the owner, Mr Raju, and received a confirmation email about my reservation. When I arrived, the hotel had no free rooms as they had overbooked the hotel and given the room I had already paid for away. The first night, I slept in a different homestay nearby that had no lights on the walkway to get there, and was significantly cheaper than the room I paid for. After complaining, the second night I was moved to an entirely new homestay, which was similar in that it was a dark walkway to get there, and I was the only guest.I did not feel safe walking alone to get there, and this place was also cheaper than the room I paid for. On my 3rd night I was finally moved to the actual room that I had paid for, Mr Raju refused to offer any refund given my terrible experience and the fact the rooms I stayed in were in different resorts. I left a day early because of the rude treatment that I was given, and he refused to give me money back for the last night that I didn't use as well. His excuse was that it was high season and thats the way they operate in high season and that all of these homestays were marketed as the same entity (which is false). Tips to future guests: Don't stay there during high season, and don't prepay because a "confirmed reservation" doesn't have the same meaning in Mr Raju's book.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mararibeachvillas, Guest Relations Manager at Marari Beach Villas
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Hi, Greetings from Marari Beach Villas!! We are extremely sorry about the bad experience you had to face at our property. But the booking is shown as cancelled in our AirBnB profile and we had tried several times to deposit money to your account with no success. Hope you got the money back from AirBnB, if not please message us in airbnb and we can sort it out. Regards Athul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$17 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaAlappuzha DistrictMararikulam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marari Beach Villas
Which popular attractions are close to Marari Beach Villas?
Nearby attractions include Marari Beach (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marari Beach Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Marari Beach Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Marari Beach Villas?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Marari Beach Villas?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marari Beach Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffee Temple, Cafe Cloud 9, and Palm Heaven Marari Homely Food.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marari Beach Villas?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marari Beach Villas?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marari Beach Villas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Tamil.
Does Marari Beach Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.