We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Santos Express

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Santos Express
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Santos Express
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I was really excited to stay here! A converted train sounds like a lovely and quirky place to stop off for a really individual experience. It was so disappointing. We had paid for 2 nights but could only hack the one and left! It's essentially an overnighter train that is parked and hasn't been converted at all.. it just stopped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that you were disappointed with your stay. We suggest that you try our more luxury Royal Suites on your next stay. They are spacious, comfortable and more private. We would have gladly upgraded you if you had voiced your discomfort. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This was something unique, our kids loved it. The train is small but it is still very good value for money. Lots of character in the train, and main restaurant. It is right next to the beach and waking up in the train and looking over the ocean is a win.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bvanderhoek
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We just love this place ! A real train turned into a hotel. It was like traveling in those old steam trains like in the movies. The cabin is authentic, even the old buttons for the light are there. Then you wake up and see the beach in front of you. Marvelous. And then there is the breakfast (buffet) that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yassinionion
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Back in varsity days we had the most amazing time in the backpackers part of the train. Thought I'll take the missus away to enjoy and relive the good old days. After one night in the backpackers, I realised that I'm getting too old for this s**t. So next morning we upgraded to the executive luxury suite. Wow, we felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouisBerg
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 6 July 2016

Although the Santos Express is not the cheapest accommodation, it is definitely worth a visit. The Hostel is directly at the beach and rooms have enough space for big bags. The Employes were nice and helpful, card machine was not working. The included breakfast was good =)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jürgen K
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

If you're brave enough to sleep in a very tight space then this is it. The train is literally a stone's throw away from the beach making it super easy to enjoy even late night beach walks if you're into that kind of thing. The lodge is affordable and easily accessible but most importantly I would say it's something worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thokozani M
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 18 June 2016

The Santos Express is in a really great location right on the beach, and an easy distance from the town (although we didn't find a great deal to see there). It has a nice cafe/restaurant, the best feature of which was being able to sit out right next to the sea and enjoy the view. Breakfast was included and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

The train hostel is super cool and i really enjoyed my stay here. The dorm rooms are nice, bathroom facilities are a little small but it's clean and fine for a few nights. The reception staff were lovely but unfortunately the restaurant staff were quite rude and unfriendly towards us. We would have been happy to eat there most nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused by staff. It has been dealt with. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

We spent one night in one of the wagons, facilities were ok and clean. We left most of our luggage at the car because the room is small, there is just one bathroom and shower for the whole wagon to share. We were not able to rest well, because we could heard all of the movements of our neighbors. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esteban b
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We arrived in Mossel Bay on business. A friend recommended we try the Santos Train Lodge as it was on the beach and near to where we would be working. Check in went smoothly and the receptionists were extremely helpful. Upon entering the room I noticed the size. It is incredibly small. THE BED IS A OLD LEATHER SEAT! Which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Protraveler199
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. The mattresses are original and specifically made to fit the train bunks. We do apologize if you were not comfortable. We are looking into replacing them soon. We look forward to seeing you soon!

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
1.8 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
458 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
162 reviews
28.6 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
312 reviews
10.1 km away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#11 of 30 in Mossel Bay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: ₹ 1,342 - ₹ 2,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santos Express staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the Royal Suites if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bigger units have their own bathrooms and outside stoep”
 of 5 bubbles 357mariaanb, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a train, just enjoy it and have fun”
 of 5 bubbles larsonvacation, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spend the extra on a Royal Suite. It's a special experience.”
 of 5 bubbles BryanG311, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Royal suites! Not up to standard!!!”
 of 5 bubbles stone_rehanna, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5