We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sovereign Hotel

Lolwe Drive, off Aput Road, opp. Nyanza Club, Milimani, Kisumu 40100 Kenya
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 38 hotels in Kisumu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Overview Sovereign Hotel is an upmarket boutique hotel, offering unprecedented service and luxury on the lake shores of Kisumu. It is located in the leafy and peacefully Milimani area, only a stone's throw away from the centre to town. By providing great service, serving exciting culinary delights and offering wellness and fitness choices, our guests are treated to a complete hospitality experience. Accommodation We have 35 luxury suites. We offer single, twin and executive luxury suites. All suites are elegantly decorated and equipped with all modern amenities such as DSTV flat screen TV, AC and minibar. The suites come with high speed Wi-Fi and Satellite TV. Each suite has a floor area of at least 44 sq. and includes a lounge, an office space and a small balcony. The bathrooms are very clean and are fitted with rain showers and vanity mirrors amongst other amenities. Gastronomy The dining experience is top-priority at Sovereign Hotel. Maestro, our restaurant at the Sovereign Hotel, serves up an eclectic menu, encompassing several world class cuisines like French, Italian and Indian. We also have a Japanese cuisine where our guests can choose between teppanyaki, cooked live on the hot plate, and freshly prepared sushi. Our extensive wine list offers wine to complement every meal. The Legends Bar & Lounge is an atmospheric cocktail bar, with a jazz-age feel. A wide variety of cocktails, wines and spirits is on offer here. Kick back and relax while allowing the lake breeze and the lake view to soothe your senses. Café Caprice serves quality coffees and teas as well as delicious pastries and breads, freshly baked in our in-house bakery. Wellness & Health Chill and relax while lounging on the sunbeds, or at the covered terrace overlooking the pool and garden. The health club consists of a 12 meter long swimming pool and a mini spa; consisting of a steam room and a beauty and massage room. Time spent here is a sure recipe for relaxation and rejuvenation. Events & Conferencing Our conference and banqueting facilities can host a variety of events equipped with state of the art facilities. Both indoor and outdoor venues are available, for up to 150 people. The gardens and the swimming pool are perfect for informal joyous occasions. For meetings, our executive Chambers boardroom is perfectly suited. Conferences, weddings and formal events can be accommodated in the Hibiscus Hall, seating 150 people. Our specialized events team is on hand to help you organize your event. We welcome you to come and experience what Sovereign Hotel has to offer! Apartments The apartments are tastefully furnished, with attention to details, modern colors, designer lighting and high quality accessories. Located in Milimani, perfect for those looking for a functional and high standard accommodation. They are stylish one bedroom apartments and are approximately 45m2 and can comfortably accommodate up to 2 people. The rooms are located 200 meters from Sovereign Hotel. The house they are built in has a beautiful rooftop terrace for scenic views and incredible sunsets of which guests will have access to. The house is hi-tech, including a state of the art lighting system and high speed WI-FI internet. The design is characterized by the English aristocracy with rigorous use of materials, such as mahogany wood in contrast with the light elements used on the walls. The fully furnished apartments come equipped will all the necessary amenities. From king size bed with en-suite bathroom, LED flat screen TV, a dining area with table and chairs, fully equipped kitchen complete with cutlery and crockery and the living room with comfortable lounging sofas and chairs. There is access to a common lounge and veranda facing the lake with a long garden. All utility bills, security, cleaning services and laundry services (bed linen but not personal laundry) are part of the incredible offer! Included is also access to Sovereign Hotel to enjoy free swimming and the option of being able to enroll in a membership program which gives you discounts on accommodation and F&B. The strategic position will allow you to easily walk to all major points of tourist and business interest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Squash
Darts
Fishing
Karaoke
Squash offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, Polish and 1 more
213Reviews5Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 64
  • 25
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Scenic64265014649 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Stayed at Sovereign for 2 nights in Dec 2023. The service was excellent especially on Day 1, unfortunately on Day 2 food ran out at breakfast time. The staff were friendly and re-assuring but being a Christmas breakfast we expected better. Other than that the facility is well maintained with excellent service from staff
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The AC is not very effective in cooling the room during hot weather. Ask for a portable fan if...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rashida R wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
What a come back experience I had😃 After a kind of unpleasant hiccup post out check in, we experienced the most amazing come back any hotel and it’s team can offer , from reception to house keeping to coffee shop to restaurant! I commend the effort of the guest relations manager, Elizabeth, house keeping staff Robert and Rossyln, porter Bruce and our waitress during breakfast and as well the coffee shop attendant and our hot station chefs , in ensuring we have a comfortable and pleasant stay with them. Keep it up👏
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Hi Rashida Thank you for the wonderful reviews, your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities. Yes we did have a rocky start but we are all delighted to have made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to hosting you again in the short future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia25 contributions15 helpful votes
It was a great feeling to be back here again after 5 years - some staff new some staff old faces that made me feel so welcomed again. I felt comfortable here and nothing was a problem for the staff who are friendly and try to assist when they can. Yes sometimes things are slow but hey thats African time lol
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Caroline Odhiambo, Other at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Hi Anne, It was our utmost pleasure to host you, we value you so much and consider you part of the Sovereign family. We are glad you had an amazing time with us and thank you for the wonderful reviews!! We miss you already!! 2-3years is a bit too long, we hope to see you again sooner than that. Wishing you all the very best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Donna S wrote a review Oct 2023
Forest Hills, NY29 contributions8 helpful votes
I stayed here one night as part of a group tour. The hotel seems upscale at first glance, but it is really falling apart. The air conditioning was broken in my room, but the person who brought me to the room insisted it just needed time to kick in. It was broken. I complained. It was fixed. It broke again several hours later, 11:00 at night and could not be fixed. They didn't offer to move me to another room, and when I asked, I was told there were no rooms available on the first floor. There is no elevator and I cannot do steps. I was offered an electric fan, which I took since there was no alternative. The water was cold. The towels are dirty and old. All in all, this is one of the more awful hotels in which I have stayed anywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear Donna, I hope this email finds you well. I wanted to reach out to you personally to address the concerns you raised regarding your recent stay at Sovereign Hotel. Your feedback is of the utmost importance to us, and we are truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Sovereign Hotel takes pride in being recognized as one of the finest establishments in Kisumu. We recently invested in substantial upgrades to both the interior and exterior of our facility to create an unparalleled ambience for our valued guests. One of these upgrades included the installation of new air conditioning units. As is often the case with new machinery, there can be occasional glitches, and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in this regard. We understand that you were offered an alternative room with a fully functional air conditioning system. However, we regret that due to mobility constraints, you were unable to access a room on a different floor. We hope that the fan we provided offered some relief during your stay. Regarding the shower operation, we acknowledge that some guests may find it a bit challenging to achieve the desired water temperature. Our dedicated 24/7 reception desk and housekeeping teams are always available to provide instructions or adjust the temperature as needed. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we are committed to ensuring your needs are met promptly. I want to clarify that Sovereign Hotel is a premier first-class boutique hotel, and we are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service and quality. It is not our practice to provide guests with old or dirty towels, and I apologize if you found this to be the case during your stay. We truly value your feedback and the opportunity to address these concerns. We sincerely hope that you will give us the chance to host you again in the future, as we are dedicated to ensuring that your next visit will be wonderful and memorable. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing Sovereign Hotel, and please feel free to reach out to me directly if you have any further questions or if there is anything we can do to make your future stay more enjoyable. Warm regards, Elizabeth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rukia M wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Fantastic place to be. It deserves 1000 stars! Starting from the front office when you check in, you immediately feel like home.Food is always fresh, the rooms are big enough and there's free fast WiFi. The swimming pool is ever clean. Perfect place for a family vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Hi Rukia We had an amazing time with you and the family during your stay with us, it was our utmost pleasure to host you and we are so glad you enjoyed our facility and services. Thank you very much for the wonderful reviews, we will keep on striving to ensure all our guests have the most wonderful and memorable experience during their stay in Sovereign. We miss the family dearly and look forward to hosting you again in the short future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Howard Wallack wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The team at the Sovereign Hotel was very welcoming and supportive when I visited for a business trip January 31 - February 2, 2023. The front desk staff and manager made sure I had everything I needed for my business meetings in the hotel, and in the restaurant staff member Celine Atieno Khabahka was exceptionally attentive. She remembered from one day to the next just how I liked my breakfast cappuccino and she and other team members made sure my meeting room was always stocked with water bottles or they served coffee on request for me and my business guests. It was a truly warm welcome to Kisumu!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Be sure your room faces the lake and open the sliding doors for a wonderful cross breeze that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2023
Dear Mr Wallack Many thanks for the wonderful reviews. It was our utmost pleasure to host you in Sovereign and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our exceptional services. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Grant G wrote a review Feb 2023
Calgary, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
There is a Tripadvisor Member/Star Award on the wall behind the Front Desk that notes it as a 4 Star Hotel. How Tripadvisor, how? Even by Kenyan standards it does not add up. Pretty pictures are nice, but have you actually been there? Even I took pictures of the hotel, due to it's Old World Charm, but then things went downhill quickly. At lunch, 2 of the 4 meals we had were under cooked. Told the staff and still paid full price. Our room seemed nice, until shower time. Brown water with sludge and sediment came out of the tap for 12 minutes straight, they moved us to another room. No air conditioning and no WIFI as advertised. Not as advertised.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 5 Feb 2023
Dear Mr Grant It is with deep concern and regret to learn that you did not get the chance to experience the first class premium service that Sovereign is well acclaimed for. We are following up with our F&B production to ascertain why undercooked meals were served. Our maintenance department has also confirmed that a pump malfunction could have been the reason behind the brown water sludge and sediment from the taps. This has already been rectified. Also the bandwidth on our WIFI has recently been increased so both our inhouse guests and those attending conferences and seminars have speedy and non-interruptible connections. We still hope to get the chance to host you again in Sovereign to give us another opportunity to ensure your next visit is enjoyable and more memorable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BERTRAM wrote a review Jan 2023
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica4 contributions2 helpful votes
I was there on Wednesday January 11, 2023. I have been a customer since 2018. The manager was very mean and nasty to me. He expected me to pay extra for someone coming to visit me and welcome me to Kisumu. The guest stayed for less than an hour in the day time. The manager didn't want to listen to me,even though I have beeen to the hotel many times and have had guests with no charge. Instead he yelled at me in front of everyone and told me never to come back. I have been going to this hotel since 2018 and was very disappointed that this man would talk to a customer like that, especially for such an expensive hotel. Maybe the manager did not respect me becasue I am a black man like all of his staff and he is a European. Whoever the owner is should investigate this mamanger's treatment of guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Expensive hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ann wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Incredibly friendly staff that makes you feel taken care of, great food, very clean and well maintained and secure environment. We stayed here while visiting Kisumu and also used this venue for working on a group project. They made it easy for us from reservation to check out. Our research team was very happy with the conference room, food and tea/coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs conference room with a view of the lake. The 2nd floor rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2022
It was our utmost pleasure to host you in Sovereign and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful reviews. We sincerely hope to get the chance to host you and the team again in the short future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Angela A wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
It was our second time back at the hotel having been there in January. we love the location as it is near a Mall and the generally serene area is great for an evening walk. It's quiet at night. However we didn't get as good service this second time. The hotel needs overall improvement. One feels that management has settled and is too comfortable with the way things are, despite competition from other hotels, yet the facility has great promise. the bathroom sink was old and didn't drain water easily so we had to get creative to prop the stopper to get water out. it was hard to regulate hot/cold water from shower. The bathroom needs an overall touch up. Otherwise the sleeping area is comfy and welcoming, and one gets good sleep quality. On check-in, the receptionist didn't brief us about meal times or check in/out times. we had to ask for tea/coffee facilities to be brought to the room and the housekeeper brought only one coffee sachet whereas we were two people in the room. No creamer for the tea/coffee was provided. On check out the receptionist didn't give us a receipt despite saying she would (as we were going back to the room after we cleared the payment, she promised to give us the receipt as we left. we forgot to ask for it when we handed over the key. but having promised us, she should have given it to us). one felt that the staff, though friendly, were going through the motions. However Alfred, the waiter in the restaurant, was very pleasant and enthusiastic. the security team is friendly and welcoming. In short, it will be hard to come back a third time when there are other options in Kisumu. we fear a third experience will be far worse given that our second stay was not as good as the first one...things getting worse? We didn't get value for our money!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Hi Agatha Thank you for your reviews, we always strive to ensure our guests have wonderful stays with us and feedback like these is what helps us improve and maintain our high standards. We regret to have not given you a memorable and enjoyable stay but have taken all into account and will ensure action is taken. We hope to get the chance to host you again and provide us with a chance to have you experience first class service that Sovereign is well acclaimed for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kisumu area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,439 - ₹11,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNyanza ProvinceKisumu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOVEREIGN HOTEL (Kisumu) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sovereign Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sovereign Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kisumu Impala Sanctuary (0.5 km), Dunga Bay (1.0 km), and The West End Shopping Mall, Kisumu (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sovereign Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sovereign Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sovereign Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sovereign Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sovereign Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nairobi Java House, Acacia, and Kisumu Yacht Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sovereign Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sovereign Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sovereign Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sovereign Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sovereign Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sovereign Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Polish, Dutch, and Swahili.