We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre

Save
Share
Milimani Off Ring Rd 19100, Kisumu 40100 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com$64
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)

About

#8 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Kisumu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This is a budget guest house offering hospitality services in the range of accommodation, restaurant and conferencing. We also offer outdoor amenities such as garden relaxing, outdoor events like weddings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
24Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 10
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mbithi wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
I like that I was able to nego a better rate for one night stay but tv wasn’t working and my biggest issue was the mosquitoes. How the nets are designed it seems the mosquitoes are able to get into the nets either from the top or bottom. Woke up and found about 5 very full mosquitoes. Otherwise the room was clean and good for the night
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RapDi wrote a review Jun 2019
Lavington, Kenya5 contributions3 helpful votes
No. AC so rooms tend to get too warm in the middle of the night, Homely, Okay-ish breakfast, Secure, Interior of rooms not top notch, Nice place though not for luxury, Squeeky bed, WiFi wasn't available or wasn't working when we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 8 Aug 2019
Thanks for your review, i promise to work on the issues raised.
Read more
chuckrapp wrote a review Mar 2019
Indianapolis, Indiana113 contributions44 helpful votes
Our hosts arranged for us to stay here. The staff were pleasant and the room was clean. Kind of "no frills" but good for the night. We had wifi problems for the first two hours, but we were finally able to connect with good signal strength. We had dinner and breakfast with them, and both were fine. However, I was disappointed there was no brewed coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 8 Aug 2019
Thank you, the coffee bit has been addressed
Read more
Dominic M wrote a review Apr 2017
106 contributions11 helpful votes
The facility is run by Franciscan Sisters and offers a clean and affordable accommodation option able to accommodate large groups Most rooms are twins so you need to be clear on needs to avoid disappointment. However, as for management there is currently an obvious gap with the poor checking experienced, as well as poor service within restaurant and room cleaning and maintenance If keen on shower pressure lower rooms better but room 53 is a double with better space and airily pleasant, though shower pressure low Generally good location for budget safaris but need to prompt for better service
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from StephenOpiyo, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 3 May 2017
Thanks Dominic for your review, I have noted with a lot of concern the issues you have raised and promise to work on the same to make improvements on these and other related complaints. Thank you
Read more
pearwaker wrote a review Oct 2016
Nairobi, Kenya3 contributions2 helpful votes
Given the rave reviews of this place we were very much underwhelmed. It is however, very much a budget place with lots of missionary groups passing through on a regular basis. First they were overbooked despite us having reserved a month ahead and having 20 people for a conference. Thankfully they arranged with a hotel across the road for a room (which had AC and a spacious room instead of the small hot rooms our workshop participants told us about. The food was good. breakfast was a little limited but all the 'a la carte' meals were great. Service though was terrible. Despite ordering in advance we regularly had to wait for an hour for our food and regularly got a raft of different excuses. Not a bad place but be very aware of the limitations before you book. There are also far better options to be had in Kisumu for just a little more money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from StephenOpiyo, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 2 Nov 2016
First I apologize for the booking confusion and unexpected transfer, we shall make improvements on the conference facilities as from February 2017, we also had recently made a new installation in the kitchen that has resulted in delays especially a LA carte services, our chefs have been adequately trained on the new machines and now this problem has been solved. I appreciate your input on behalf of all the team.
Read more
B5212OEsamueln wrote a review Sep 2016
Kisumu1 contribution
The services were simple and very African. Kudos to the management! The cool environment gives a picture different from the usual hot climate of Kisumu! It is quite cool and inviting. So good for even personal reflection!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from StephenOpiyo, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 1 Oct 2016
Thanks for the feedback, we really cherished your staying
Read more
AlexRussell415 wrote a review Jun 2016
Charleston, South Carolina14 contributions17 helpful votes
I stayed in St. Anna's for one month and enjoyed my stay. The breakfast was delicious with western foods available. And dinner and lunch menu is alright. The chicken soup on their menu is a nice taste of home. No air conditioning in rooms though nets are provided. Although some nets had holes in them I noticed. The beds are somewhat hard and depending on which area of the hotel grounds you are on, the wifi can be sketchy or have no wifi at all in the rooms. The wifi in the common areas is not always reliable. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. They make their guests feel welcome and do a great job at hospitality and making st. Anna feel like home. They are sensitive to where their guests are from and will have small thoughtful conversations with guests. Love St. Anna.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from StephenOpiyo, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 21 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review, we are still challenged in terms of WiFi, but we have planned to make improvements on this area. On the nets and beds, the guest house has began to make some changes and the next time you come, we shall surely have made some changes. Thank you
Read more
Julianah N wrote a review Jun 2016
1 contribution
I was recommended by friends at St.Anna & i was not disappointed. From the friendly and welcoming reception to the restaurant staff. The rooms were clean and spacious, hot running water, clean and fresh linen. The breakfast variety was ok too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The rooms on Sr.Gabriel's wing are the newest . More spacious and better decorated but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from StephenOpiyo, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 21 Jul 2016
Thanks for your compliments Julianah, you are welcome back to stay with us always.
Read more
bobbymoore13 wrote a review Apr 2016
Fort Worth, Texas289 contributions28 helpful votes
The staff here is worth the stay. They do Laundry for a great price, and the room is clean and just enough room to sleep. The breakfast is enough and the price here is perfect. This is a great place to stay on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from StephenOpiyo, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 21 Jul 2016
Thanks Bobby, it was nice having you around.
Read more
HerbertWN wrote a review Sep 2015
Nairobi, Kenya4 contributions2 helpful votes
This was my second visit to the Guest House. On this trip, I stayed for several weeks. I needed a safe, quiet, neat and affordable place close to the Kisumu CBD where I could work on a personal project. I was happy on all those fronts. Amazing staff too. So is the hotel management. I will definitely go back. Highly recommended. It is a 5 or so minute drive to Hippos Point. My ritual for all the weeks I stayed at St. Anna was to go to Hippos Point every Sunday evening to watch the sunset. Just amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Rooms near the kitchen are not particularly quiet as it is a busy area. Always ask for a quieter...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from StephenOpiyo, Manager at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Responded 1 Oct 2016
Thanks Herbert, we still keep your memories here welcome back
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNyanza ProvinceKisumu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Kisumu Impala Sanctuary (1.0 km), Kisumu museum (1.7 km), and Dunga Bay (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include a desk, a mosquito net, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nairobi Java House, Acacia, and Mon Ami.
Does St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre have an airport shuttle?
Yes, St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St Anna Guest House and Conference Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.