We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cocoa Village Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cocoa Village Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of Cocoa Village Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of 6 friends staying at The Green Ranch and walked over to Cocoa village for lunch. One person from our group had previously stayed here and enjoyed her experience, so we decided to try it for lunch. We had an awful experience! Almost nothing was available on the menu (no meat or fish options to speak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouisadW
TomazKon, Owner at Cocoa Village Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am kindly apologize for the unpleasant event. As the review is very (too) strict to us some details should be explained more. So the fact was we had and always have fish and chicken on our menu (it can't happen we don't have at all) but our bartender kindly warned in advance guest about that the preparation...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great time with friends at Cocoa Village for 3 days/2 nights. We stayed in the family bungalow, which was cozy and clean, and comfortable beds. It is rustic but very nice! The room rates are inexpensive. You will pay more for food & drinks, but the overall cost is still very reasonable for a weekend. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis & Kerry B
Passau, Germany
Reviewed 25 January 2017

The stay in Cocoa village was very nice, because the setting is absolutely brillant on the lake and the bungalows are very nice and airy. The food was excellent, well and fresh perpared and always arrived in a very efficient way on the table. Thumbs up for this in western Africa. The owners made my stay very relaxing and comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelito001
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The place is really beautiful and Well designed with nice paintings on the budings. Unfortunately we did not meet the owners who were away. In their place was someone else overseeing the place, unfortunately not very friendly. The local enployees are very friendly and helpful. The price is somewhat higher than elsewhere in Ghana, which is not compensated in quality....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We didn't stay here but spent a lot of time at the restaurant (which serves good food), enjoying the beautiful surroundings. I would really recommend going for the guided tour to the top of the creator organised here - ask for Elija, he is a great guide.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Cocoa Village Guesthouse. First of all, it's quite a journey to get there so you shouldn't plan to go too much around. The place was made with a lot of imagination and taste and the manager works a lot to keep it in good shape, but it's not always enough. Our bungalows had many spider...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emilie A
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 October 2016

What a delight to have a clean and silky lake to swim in and to play by, after a sweaty and dusty tour through Ghana. The hills embrase the lake, which gives about the same atmosphere as the lakes in Western Europe. But, looking back, the lodges and the restaurant are unmistakenly African. Very colourful and creative. Yes, the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7mieke
Reviewed 10 October 2016

SO you might have seen some of my other reviews of places in Ghana and I can't emphasis how bad the roads are. From Kumasi you go to Abono on Lake Bosumtwi which is about 45 mins away. However, from there you go 5km south around the lake along a very rocky dirt track to Cocoa Beach lodge. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will C
TomazKon, Manager at Cocoa Village Guesthouse, responded to this review

In the past we got a lot of complains on the last part of the road from Abono to Cocoa Village Guesthouse which is really in bad shape. It is about 5 km route which runs along the foot of the lake crater. Regarding road condition complains were entirely justified and we can completely understand our guest. As we don’t...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Great place with very friendly owner and stuff, a. It slow service but after all You are in Africa and all services are slow:) Great location, but you need a SUV to reach it, it's a charming place recommended for all visitors!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo K
San Pedro Sula
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed two nights at Cocoa Village. The first night we were able to stay in a bungalow which was very comfortable. The room was simple but clean, the decor very unique. Mosquito netting, a must in Africa was excellent. The next day we hiked up the mountain with Matthias, a wonderful hike and beautiful view of the lake. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna G

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (129)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumasi hotels
38.0 km away
Wadoma Royale Hotel
Wadoma Royale Hotel
#11 of 19 in Kumasi
22 reviews
28.6 km away
Golden Tulip Kumasi City
0.0 km away
True Vine Hotel
True Vine Hotel
#14 of 19 in Kumasi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lake Bosomtwe Paradise Resort
24.5 km away
Asantewaa Premier Guest House
24.9 km away
Four Villages Inn
Four Villages Inn
#2 of 63 in Kumasi
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cocoao Village Guesthouse is small hotel located in Ghana just on shore of Lake Bosumtwi close to the city of Kumasi. Hotel is located in the metorit crater surrounded with hills and cocoa plantations. Three independent bungalows with bathroom are available. In each bungalow four/three/two people can stay. In wooden stake house three separate rooms are available. In each room 6 beds are available. Camping in tent is also possible. Restaurant is located next to the lake shore and offer endless pleasure in romantic sights from the lake. In the morning fishermen's from near village can be observed at their daily work or simple enjoy in dinner on the sunshine. Every moment of your stay will be accompaniment with magic colors of the lake and their surroundings, songs of the exotic birds and scene from everyday villager's life.We are located close to the small village and we are arranging different experience from visits in the near village and show the way of life in the real African village, villager farming show, 500m near are horse ranch and riding are possible, swiming in the lake is superb option, we are organizing pirogue riding with fisherman's from the village, we are organize trip around the lake and varietey od tours aroung Ghana (round Ghana tours, Mole national park trip, ...). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cocoa Village Guesthouse

Address: Lake Bosumtwi, Kumasi, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Kumasi
Price Range: ₹ 778 - ₹ 3,891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cocoa Village Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cocoa Village Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Oakland, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cocoa Village Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“even dormitory is OK”
  • decorative flours
 of 5 bubbles 7mieke, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bungalows are much more comfortable than the dormitories”
 of 5 bubbles 898AnnaG898, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for a bangalow, more comfortable than the dort room”
 of 5 bubbles Guigui0912, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Only 3 bungalows, all beautiful and private!”
 of 5 bubbles SaraSFtravel, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“There are only so many room options, so it depends on if you're solo or what sized group you have.”
  • Bungalow
 of 5 bubbles 665danaw, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5