We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Moremi National Park P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve Botswana
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$2,450
View deal
Tripadvisor$2,450
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$2,450
Orbitz.com$2,450
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (169)
Room & Suite (58)
Pool & Beach (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Mapula Lodge
Updated 28/04/20

About

#18 of 31 in Moremi Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Room features
Safe
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian

Location

Full view
Contact
Moremi National Park P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve Botswana
See all nearby hotels
111Reviews2Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 24
  • 11
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kolobezko wrote a review Dec 2021
Boston88 contributions40 helpful votes
This was first camp we stayed in during our 10 days itinerary in Botswana. Upon arrival, the lodge is very welcoming and homey. Lounge area filled with comfy couches, poofs, lovely fire pit, everything is positioned to overlook water lagoon filled with hippos. We had tent/cabin number 1. Very rustic, but comfortable. Beware of spiders! Even though there is protective netting over bed, every night we had huge, huge spiders in the bed itself, so we learned to shake the blankets and sheets before we went to sleep. Food was good, but very simple, they ask you if you have any special dietary needs and they will adjust the meal, but there are no choices which at the price tag was surprising. Our game drives were good, we also tried mokoro ride and boat safari and they were all good experiences. One big disappointment was pool. It was out of service and while they built new plunge pool area- it's not in the camp. Your guide has to drive you there and then sit in the car while you are lounging, which was very uncomfortable as we knew we were cutting into his free time. Also, as this is not at the camp, there was nothing there as to drinks/water etc, I think little ice chest with beer, wine and soft drinks would be very useful. Overall, camp is in fantastic setting, game drives were great, I hope they resolve the pool situation soon,
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
Hal72 wrote a review Dec 2021
Olympia, Washington563 contributions159 helpful votes
This was the midpoint camp in our safari. Quite interesting animal sightings, particularly lions. Good game drives; the guide worked hard to find us animals. Meals were good. The cabin was large but a bit "old" in that there was very little in the way of lighting. But, on the other hand, most time here was sleeping as we were out game driving. The mokoro trip through the lagoon was very peaceful and interesting,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
GeoffSpence wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions6 helpful votes
We were booked into Mapula Lodge from the 8th to 11th October 2021. Their website pictures of the lodge look fantastic. The reality was completely the opposite, extremely disappointing. The swimming pool is not functioning and popped out of the deck. 38'C. There is a small plunge pool which accomodates max 2 persons, to get there the guide has to drive one there and wait as it is unfenced, not ideal. The rooms on the website show double bed, we had 2 separate singles. The staff are served before the guests, one meal there was not enough deserts for one of the guests. The food was mediocre at best and insufficient at times. The housekeeping was non existent at the main lounge area, dirty and untidy, a T shirt lying on a side table was left there for the duration of our stay. Lack of management is evident. Luckily the abundance of game made up for the lack of hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. It's great that you were able to enjoy some top notch wildlife sightings during your time with us - we agree that the game viewing here really is excellent! It's a real shame that you weren't aware of the status of the pool prior to travelling. We do have the secondary pool, but it's in such a game rich space that a guide does need to stay to ensure the safety of the guests. The lodge's pool will be back up and running by the end of November 2021. We have both twin and double rooms available and guests are able to state their preference at the time of booking. With regards to the food, there is always plenty. Our understanding is that the gentleman in the party didn't want a dessert, and so one was brought only for the lady, as requested. When the gentleman later changed his mind, dessert was brought out for him as well. The housekeeping issue appears to have been a lapse in our usually high standards. We have addressed this with the team in camp and it's been acted upon - thank you for raising it. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula Lodge marketing team
Read more
Safreen K wrote a review Aug 2021
Gaborone, Botswana5 contributions
+1
Everything from A-Z was perfect at Mapula Lodge. I went there with high expectations which were definitely exceeded. The rooms were comfortable and rustic; dining area, fire pit and lounge were warm and welcoming and the all the staff treated us like royalty! Considering the fact that we were a group of 13 and booked very last minute, everything was well prepared. You will get value for money at Mapula. Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Thank you for a lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
Cape Town, South Africa28 contributions3 helpful votes
On arrival at the airstrip, we were met by Eric who took us by boat to the lodge. This all depends on the water levels and the number of people. As we rounded the first corner of the channel, a beautiful huge elephant was waiting. A perfect beginning. Eric the manager was charming. The eclectic little lodge was charming. The staff was lovely and the game drives were the best we had done on our trip. This is a unique, old-fashioned, no-frills lodge with everything you need for an adventure in the Delta. Good food, good wine, good guides, and sightings in spite of the high water levels at this time. It completed our Natural Selection circuit perfectly. Thank you to Eric, Kegiso, Leo, Ricardo, and the team.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Thank you for your lovely review - we do appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$1,875 - $2,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mapula hotel maun
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictOkavango DeltaMoremi Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mapula Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mapula Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mapula Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mapula Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mapula Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.