Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Mathiba St. Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve Botswana
Traveller (303)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#4 of 19 campsites in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sable Alley is a complete rebuild of a favourite old bush camp. Overlooking a lagoon that’s connected to the Khwai and Sable Alley rivers, just a stone’s throw from the world-famous Moremi Game Reserve, this enviable location means the game literally comes to us. From the swimming pool, lounge, outdoor seating areas and all the guest’s tents there are uninterrupted views of the resident pod of around 30 hippos and the large herds of plains game, elephant and buffalo coming to drink – an idyllic way to spend an afternoon, especially with a cold gin and tonic in hand. When you are ready to explore further afield, Sable Alley’s expert guides are on hand to interpret the sights, smells, and sounds of the bush. The massive 440,000 acre Khwai Private Reserve comprises some of the most fantastically diverse habitats in northern Botswana, including riverine woodlands, open floodplains, rivers and mopane woodland. This range of habitats means an array of wildlife, including lion, leopard, wild dog, elephant, buffalo and of course the eponymous sable antelope. Game viewing will not just be from safari vehicles (both during the day and at night). At Sable Alley we also offer mokoro safaris —enjoy being gently ‘poled’ along the water in a traditional canoe—a wonderful way to do some bird watching and game viewing. Boating is a highlight when water levels are high. Back at camp, your home in the bush is one of our spacious and stylish tents. Elevated onto raised decks, each of the camp’s twelve luxurious tents has an uninterrupted view of the lagoon, with en suite bathrooms, private verandahs and private, indoor & outdoor showers where you can wash off the dust of each truly memorable day. Two of these are comfortable family units with interconnected tents. End a day of exhilarating game viewing with a night drive where you will encounter nocturnal creatures such as leopard, spiky porcupines and fearless honey badgers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Free airport transportation
Gift shop
Laundry service
Ironing service
Restaurant
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View

Location

Mathiba St. Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve Botswana
124Reviews14Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 11
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Flea F wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The game viewing was wonderful from varied locations (no need to be told too much, rather go and be pleasantly surprised). The game vehicle is comfortable with individual back rests for maximum comfort. Cruze, our guide was knowledgeable and amusing and good at reading and anticipating what we’d like to do or see or learn about.

Sable Alley is very well situated over-looking a lagoon and the “tents” are well spaced from each other. Inside they are luxurious with good plumbing and good lighting and well equipped with raised luggage places - very handily designed for hanging clothes right there or unpacking onto shelves by the case. When you walk in your room you don’t see piles of luggage since all that utility stuff is within the spacious bathroom area saving a lot of back and forth rummaging in the cases.

The large bed was very comfy with soft pillows and ceiling fans within the mozzie net to ensure coolth and no mozzies.

The chef! He was masterful at producing delicious and varied food in the middle of nowhere. Despite over indulging I never had indigestion once while we were there!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All the tents face the lagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We really appreciate you taking the time. It's fantastic to hear that you were so happy with the camp - we agree that it is very special. Thank you too for your kind words about Cruze - I'll pass them on to him. It's also brilliant to hear that you loved the food as much as we do! We hope to be able to welcome you back into camp before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Sable Alley marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean E wrote a review Oct 2021
Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Covid has given residents a unique opportunity to visit this incredible lodge that is normally fully booked and what an experience it was!

The lodge is in a stunning location overlooking a waterhole that attracts a lot of wildlife as well as being home to a number of hippos and lovely bird life. The food was absolutely amazing (thank you Pat and Tim), the guide was excellent and very knowledgeable (Molls) and the senior hosting staff very friendly and helpful (Adi and Linky). We did a short boat trip, makoro trip and a wonderful day trip to the elephant lookout - all must do experiences if you visit and have enough time.

The only very minor glitches is that due to solar water heating the hot water was Luke warm in the morning and a bit of maintenance is required here and there, especially the decking around the pool. Nothing serious though.

All in all an incredible place, great game viewing, wonderful, helpful staff and amazing food. You may even be lucky enough to have elephants feeding right outside your tent as we did. Highly, highly recommended!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are amazing but some are a bit of a walk from the lodge but are more secluded.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 17 Nov 2021
Hi Sean, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review - we really appreciate it. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay and were able to take advantage of the Delta and the many activities it offers. We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Sable Alley marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sharonearly wrote a review Mar 2023
St. Croix
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 night stay at Sable Alley. Sable Alley is situated next to marshland that is home to a large pod of hippos. The lodge was beautifully decorated with areas for dining, gathering and relaxing. The pool area was nice with a covered sitting area and lounge chairs. There was a gift shop adjacent to the office. The tents were spacious with a sitting area, large storage area and double sinks in the bathroom and an outdoor shower!

The chef was was fantastic. Omelets with great cheeses and breads for breakfast, hand made pizza, butternut feta salad, green Thai curry, cauliflower cumin soup, butternut rooibos soup, salmon with couscous, 3 bean stew with chutney and sambal, chocolate milk pudding with chocolate ice cream, amarula mousse, peach tart and chocolate cherry cake are a few of the wonderful dishes that we had.

We had great game drives and saw birds of prey, water birds and the Hamerkop, one of my favorites. We also saw striped jackals, elephants, baboons, various antelope, lions, hippos and zebra. We ended our afternoon game drives with sundowners. And back at camp, we gathered around the fire pit for specialty cocktails before dinner.

On a morning game drive, we located female lions and cubs feeding on an elephant carcass and one male keeping an eye out. We headed back out for the afternoon drive towards the elephant carcass but the lion group had abandoned the carcass. We watched as the cubs played in a water puddle in the road while the mothers looked on.

One morning we headed to check out Kwai Village. In Kwai, we visited a school but it was voting day so school was not in session. We did enjoy speaking with the teacher and gave her a donation for supplies. We stopped in the general store and we made a purchases of food, drink and hand woven baskets.

On our last game drive, we saw a male lion defending his territory against an intruder lion. We didn’t see a fight but watched the standoff for a couple of hours as the lion called for his brothers to come and assist. They did not show before we had to leave but heard a couple days later that the lion brothers did show and that they injured the intruder and chased him away.

Thanks so much to all of the wonderful staff as well as Mario, our driver and Adi, the manager.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 17 Mar 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay with us and we're so thrilled that you were able to spend such quality time with the lion cubs. We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Warm regards, Sable Alley team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fundionafrica wrote a review Sept 2020
Kasane, Botswana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had planned a European river cruise but COVID 19 put a stop to that so we looked into a local trip into the Delta. We were blessed with the honeymoon suite and from arrival to departure we were were treated like royalty. Even though there were only four of us in camp the team went all out on every aspect of service, from a beautiful brunch in the bush to private candlelit dinners. The game viewing was beyond awesome, we live on the Chobe River where it is hard to beat the game viewing but here in Khwai we had a daily dose of 4 of the big 5 up close and personal!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review - we really do appreciate it. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay with us at Sable Alley and we hope to be able to welcome you back into camp before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Sable Alley marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom M wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sable Alley is located in the Khwai Private Reserve in Botswana. Meaning only Natural Selection Travel guests have exclusive use of this incredible wildlife viewing area next to Botswana's Moremi Game Reserve. Sable Alley is one of Natural Selection's more luxurious properties in the preserve. There are no fences around camp as it should be. Fencing any animal out defeats the purpose of being in the bush. The setting of the camp is beautiful. The food is top notch with great vegan and vegetarian options as well. Our guide, Amos, was excellent. Very knowledgeable and hard working. He had a knack for being in the right place at the right time. We had excellent wildlife viewing and a wonderful mokoro trip. A bull elephant also decided to join us for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 10 May 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review - we really do appreciate it. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay with us at Sable Alley and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Sable Alley marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan PL wrote a review Apr 2024
Kloof, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our second visit to the Okavango in recent years and as usual what makes it so difficult is deciding where to stay, simply because of the vast number of lodges and varying accommodation available.

I was immediately taken by the fact that Sable Alley is in the Khwai Private Reserve and Natural Selections has exclusive rights to the whole of the concession. Yes they have other camps (which are most definitely worth exploring) in the concession, but there is never a case of multiple vehicles on a sighting. All the guides communicate with each other and they are incredibly disciplined about ‘managing’ a sighting and you always feel like you are the ‘lucky ones’.

From our arrival via MackAir and our meeting with our guide CeeJay, we knew we were not going to be displeased. We were really hoping to see leopard and painted wolves during our stay and CeeJay delivered with the former on our first afternoon drive and the latter on our first morning drive. With that out of the way we could just sit back and enjoy the remaining 2 nights we stayed in this ‘Garden of Eden’. The game viewing is extraordinarily good and you will never be disappointed.

But it is not just about that; it’s about sitting by the pool reading a great book, savouring a coffee watching the lechwe, waterbuck and wildebeest coming down to the waterhole to drink, observing the hippos as they cavort in said waterhole or sitting on your room’s verandah listening to the sounds of lions roaring in the dark of the night.

There is so much more to Sable Alley and the Khwai Private Reserve and this is where Natural Selections have got it spot on. When you arrive at camp the wondrous staff greet you with ‘Welcome Home’, and they couldn’t be more bang on.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is no air conditioning so be prepared, but there are fans which are absolutely adequate,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 8 Apr 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review - we really appreciate it. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're so fortunate to be able to give our guests the exclusivity of a private concession to we're really pleased that you enjoyed that aspect particularly. We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Best wishes, Sable Alley Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kolobezko wrote a review Dec 2021
Boston
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was second lodge on our 10 days trip to Botswana and we loved everything about it.
Lodge itself is beautiful! All the common areas are open space and facing water hole filled with hippos. Animals come to have a drink all day long, so you can have your drink and watch baboons, impalas, even elephants come by. Incredible.
" Tents" are stunning, incredibly spacious with large dressing/bathroom area, indoor and outdoor shower, deck overlooking water.
Food was fantastic, you always had couple of choices of main course and presentation was always beautiful.
The best part however were game drives. We had phenomenal tracker Tizzar and every game drive exceeded our expectations. This was my 11 th African safari, but by far the best one and I hope to return.
5 star all the way!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Sable Alley marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
swvabob wrote a review Aug 2021
Abingdon, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Normally, I only write a review to add something that I think has been overlooked. I am making an exception because I think the readers of the reviews need to understand how absolutely magnificent the entire experience is. Our guide Johnson was excellent. He was able to put is in some amazing spots during a wild dog hunt. The accommodations were very comfortable and it hard to believe that one is in the middle of the bush, given the very high quality of the meals.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 4 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Sable Alley, and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Sable Alley marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Journey543705 wrote a review Jun 2023
Northcote, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we were met at the airport strip, we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. Wonderful joyous happy people delighted to share their warmth friendship and knowledge of the Okavango Delta and its incredible wildlife .Comfortable secure accommodation and facilities.. Varied delicious meals, friendly kind staff, amazing!!. Our Guide , Mollman is a friendly patient clever knowledgeable man, we saw an amazing array of wildlife in a stunning environment. Our heartfelt thanks guys, keep doing what you are doing , we shall return !!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Listen to your guide , their knowledge is invaluable take a piss around the doorway to your hut...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 7 Jun 2023
We love this review and agree that our team are just the best! Thank you for your lovely words. We're so pleased you enjoyed such a happy stay. Kind regards, Sable Alley Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morgan wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This lodge is stunning. You're first greeted by friendly faces and an open main area which overlooks a watering hole with tons of animals. Sable Alley has delicious food and tons of choices. There's a pool and lounge areas to use at your leisure. Our room was very well decorated, spacious, and comfy. They provided everything we needed and even did our laundry. There's even an outdoor shower. The safaris were a showstopper though. We saw every animal that we were hoping to spot. One day, I'd mention that I'd love to see a lion... Next morning drive, not only did we see a lion but also saw baby lion cubs! The guides do such a great job at navigating and finding where the animals are located. Each one is super educated and knowledgable about the animals and bush. I learned a ton, even how to take better pictures! There were great surprises along the way especially if you're staying at the Skybed. Do not miss the chance to do at least 1 night there. I 100% recommend Sable Alley; you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Sable Alley
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this super review. We're so please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to spend time with the new cubs! We hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Angie B
York, United Kingdom3 contributions
Hi - we had a travel agent who booked everything for us but the air transfer from Maun to Khwai and Khwai to Kasane was operated by Mackair who were brilliant. I hope that’s helpful!
Answer from Kydeeeee
Melbourne, Australia91 contributions33 helpful votes
We used a booking agent to
Answer from Tyler B
Villa Rica, Georgia159 contributions14 helpful votes
Hot! Possibly rainy. Botswana can be cool any evening but I can assure you it will warm up. Light layers are always a good option. Lightweight rain jacket might be good although Sable Alley and other high end lodges should have ponchos and covered trucks.
Answer from michaelh0ward
Wagga Wagga, Australia15 contributions5 helpful votes
You will have a guide meet you at the airstrip. The drive is around 20 minutes from the airstrip to Sable Alley (depends on what animals you find on the way). The flight can be a bit bumpy. Great place to stay and you'll enjoy every minute.
Jordan PL wrote a tip Apr 2024
Kloof, South Africa87 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no air conditioning so be prepared, but there are fans which are absolutely adequate, and make you feel part of the bush."
Read full review
Terrie wrote a tip Jan 2024
BVI77 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wifi works in common spaces, but works well. "
Read full review
BonnieG wrote a tip Jul 2023
32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pack light, and enjoy every moment"
Read full review
Journey543705 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Northcote, Australia4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Listen to your guide , their knowledge is invaluable take a piss around the doorway to your hut to deter the baboons!! sit back and enjoy !!"
Read full review
Sean E wrote a tip Oct 2021
Africa58 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are amazing but some are a bit of a walk from the lodge but are more secluded."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Moremi Game Reserve area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Wilderness Safaris Banoka Bush Camp
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictOkavango DeltaMoremi Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SABLE ALLEY (Moremi Game Reserve) - Campground Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sable Alley
What are some of the property amenities at Sable Alley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sable Alley?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sable Alley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sable Alley have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sable Alley offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Sable Alley have airport transportation?
Yes, Sable Alley offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.