We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hope & Anchor

276 reviews
Save
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good33%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (276)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
104
93
43
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
104
93
43
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantfish and chipslobster linguinemid week stayduring happy hourb bwalking the dogsaturday nightevening mealdogs are allowedbeefstayed for one nightbed was very comfortabledog ownersbeautiful villagebooked a tablethe main street
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We returned to Alnmouth for a holiday as we had a great time last year. Booked a meal Hope and Anchor for our first night as it is an excellent restaurant which has a separate dog friendly room. The food was excellent as was the...More

Thank John D
Reviewed 5 days ago

Rooms are very nice and modern and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the pub at lunch time and the Italian restaurant in the evening which was both very nice. Staff pleasant. Check in and out was smooth. Would definitely return,

Thank beaches12j
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the small double room. Managed to get a late booking at a discounted price so we were very pleased. The room was small but not cramped. We knew it would be small so we were not disappointed. The furniture was good quality...More

Thank Paul J
Reviewed 1 week ago

8 double rooms available and we booked them all. Couples weekend break just after new year for walks, relaxation with good food and wine was the order of the day. Very friendly welcome and as our rooms were empty the night before we were shown...More

Thank Hayley030267
Reviewed 1 week ago

We unfortunately had a poor sunday lunch experience here, having finally visited based on good reviews. Surly staff not happy that we wanted to move table (due to being surrounded by noisy kids). Then no one checking that our meal was ok until we had...More

Thank ray156
Response from Hope_Anchor_Hotel, Owner at The Hope & AnchorResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. You asked to move tables away from children even though you visited during the school holidays and we had families dining with us all across our large restaurant. Your comments about the portions of our meat was explained to you...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345655
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 82 - US$ 133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$ 82 - US$ 133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
287SueS
30 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hope_Anchor_Hotel | Property representative |
Hi Sue, the renovations are going really well and will be completed by Christmas Eve. We have rooms available for Friday 5th May if you would like to give us a call on 01665 830363 to discuss this. Kind Regards, The Hope... More
0
Votes
Andronicus
2 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve W | Reviewed this property |
Sorry only ate there, it WA lovely
0
Votes
Yvonne M
3 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Steve P | Reviewed this property |
About 35 minutes in total.. It's about 7 minutes (4 miles) to A1, then 20 mins north on A1, then right on A1 at Lindisfarne Hotel and follow road across causeway about a further 8 minutes. Check website for safe crossing... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Don't choose the small double room"
Read review
"Don’t hesitate to book a over night stay or a meal out in the restaurant"
Read review
"Avoid the room over the back staff door and vent from the pub."
Read review
"Our rooms were in the front but did not hear road noise at all"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing