We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Just returned from another short break in Middlham and this time we stayed in the White Swan . First impressions are not that appealing, especially on an overcast day but as the review title says the appearance outside has no bearing on what lies within. We had the warmest of greetings on arrival and a very pleasant room overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin P
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. So happy you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will see you again. Glenn

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Stayed here two nights on a Groupon deal. In a standard en suite room which was smallish but fresh and tidy. Really friendly place. Good Yorkshire breakfast and good cask ales. Ate in the bistro where the food is high standard. Lovely part of Yorkshire with the stables and gallops nearby .Watch the horses walking through the village in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johncfc1
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Your positive comments make us smile.

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

An Xmas gift with disappointments. The hotel and evening meal were good , however as this was a booking made by a friend I'm sure that she envisaged afternoon tea to be just that and an extra to the stay. It was a "cream tea" - one scone, clotted cream and jam ! Had we known the volume we certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swanning_12
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I must stress though we do not or never have offered an afternoon tea with any deals here at the White Swan Hotel. Glenn

Immingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Arrived last week for 2 nights mid week. We were early but that wasn't an issue, the room was ready and staff very friendly. Room was small but very nicely decorated, bed was really comfy and we had everything we needed, with a view over the market place. Only down side was next door were very noisy and the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonik2810
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed yourself and would come back again. Glenn

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay in the White Swan. The pub is situated right in the centre in the market place plenty of free parking. We booked the break through Groupon (£99 for two nights b&b) fantastic value, rooms not exactly 5* but more than adequate and spotless. Our room (16) overlooked the market square and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Great to hear the team looked after you so well. Glenn

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Stayed for 1 night but wish we stayed longer!!!.....very friendly staff, Got on great with Glenn !!...pub itself has lovely open fire and characterful with some very comfy arm chairs!...brassiere is excellent and watching the horses go by whilst eating breakfast was great....our room was nice and clean as was the rest of the hotel....would highly recommend it and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. look forward to seeing you return. Glenn

England
Reviewed 6 April 2016

A groupon deal brought us here just for one night recently. It's a strange place, not quite local pub, not quite hotel. We didn't feel particularly welcome in the bar but had a good local beer and some well priced wine having eaten elsewhere. The room was large, but when the sofa bed for our son was put out there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weekenderinthesun
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We use a local farmer/butcher for our sausages so i am sad to read you did not enjoy this. I will pass on your comments to our chef. Glenn

Leicester
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

We ate at the White Swan whilst staying at the fantastic B&B opposite. Great service and very good food. The duck starter was very good value. Book to avoid a late meal time. The wine choice was excellent at reasonable cost. Ditch the khaki interior paintwork!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveThomasLeicester
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your great feedback. Glenn

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Great hotel with fantastic friendly staff. Very dog friendly, rooms could do with an update. Great location, great village, would definitely recommend. Other bars close by, friendly locals, see the local thoroughbreds train.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shaun r
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments. Glenn

Pudsey
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely stay at this hotel Glenn is very friendly as are his staff. Will definitely be returning - hotel in a beautiful area lots of lovely walks and the views are stunning . Glenn - thank you for returning the trousers! ! x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Look forward to seeing you again. Glenn

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
2.4 km away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
401 reviews
12.1 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
25.0 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Middleham
202 reviews
0.1 km away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Middleham
183 reviews
0.0 km away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 7 in Middleham
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Here at the White Swan we offer a great level of service and attention to detail. Perfectly situated to access all of Middleham's attractions as we are centrally located. Also there are great walks, bicycle rides (both mountain bike and road bike)nearby. Dogs are welcome, parking is free. Our new management team has as its sole aim "make your visit as good as it could be". ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Price Range: ₹ 4,819 - ₹ 7,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 16. Very quiet, plenty of space and excellent views across the town square.”
 of 5 bubbles 446sydy, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we had a shower only and were disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles FamilyMcPhee, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views of castle from rooms at the front with added attraction of racehorses. For extra space go superior”
 of 5 bubbles MarieR419, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a room at the rear of the hotel - wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles cookies4me, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the upper priced rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 841lesleyp, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5