We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Stroud Road, Nailsworth, Stroud GL6 OAE England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 144
View deal
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (261)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (32)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


Travellers' Choice
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
788Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 375
  • 228
  • 114
  • 45
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jac513 wrote a review 22 Jul
Reading, United Kingdom25 contributions11 helpful votes
Leisure stay for a few nights. What a lovely location! Shout out to the gardener(s) for the beautiful Mill Garden and planting around the Mill terrace area. Absolutely fantastic food and good service on both Friday and Saturday nights, but markedly quite slow and poor accuracy on service, or quality of food on Sunday evening. Also not a good look being asked to pay for your meal before your main course is even served. It would seem that rooms are very varied and a bit of a lottery as to what is allocated. We booked and paid for a superior room and whilst this was a pleasant room, it lacked the stated (on the website at the time of booking) extras of a Superior room. When we mentioned this we were given a coffee maker and room clean which was great, thank you, but ultimately we didn’t feel it met the description given of a superior room, especially from quick glimpses some others with updated decor and bigger TVs ( ours was very small) . It certainly didn’t spoil our trip but didn’t feel quite right. Clarity, consistency and attention to detail are certainly areas the Mill could work on improving, as this would really improve the guest experience. Thank you for providing a fan in the room which was in there on arrival and much needed. This is a lovely place with great further potential. Staff were warm and welcoming and a great asset.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very dog friendly. Check that your room has the elements you have booked. lots of steps inside...
See more room tips
Wendy K wrote a review 21 Jul
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom2 contributions
Booked a table for dinner in the restaurant for 6 people. There wasn’t many spaces on line so we booked earlier than we wanted to make sure we got a table. When we got there the restaurant was almost empty. Although the food was amazing as always and the crumble was to die for the service was slow. Took 30 minutes to get our first drinks. We then had to flag down the waiter about 20 minutes after that to order food by which time we needed more drinks. As I say food was great and always is as we have been many times before. We always pay by cash wherever we go and was disappointed when we went to pay that they refused our cash payment and one of our group had to pay on card and keep all our cash. We was informed that we were told on the way in but that didn’t happen. I couldn’t believe that our cash was refused. The tip was accepted in cash however! Sad to say that we will not be returning for a while due to the issues we had. Couldn’t work out why the service was so slow as the restaurant was empty.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
AnnaMarie-Glos wrote a review 14 Jul
Gloucester, United Kingdom25 contributions10 helpful votes
First time I have visited since it was taken over and have to say I won’t be returning. Slap dash service with no care taken and they don’t even reply to you when they ask for feedback. First the drinks were mixed up so had to send back because of covid. Second I asked for a gluten free roll. When it arrived I double checked that it was gluten free to be told yes and I only sent it back because the steak inside was raw and I asked for well done, for it to return with a different roll and I was told I had someone else’s. Had I of taken the waiters advice I would have eaten it! I wrote to the hotel and two weeks later they still haven’t had the decency to reply so if have coeliac disease or even intolerances I would avoid at all costs as you could be quite ill as mistakes like this shouldn’t be happening especially when you double check on what you have ordered and are still told it’s fine.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Extra care needed with visitors who have allergies
See more room tips
Mick G wrote a review 13 Jul
8 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed overnight, commuting down to Cornwall. What a lovely place, great location next to the river and nice weather. The staff were excellent, service was great. It was the night of the semi final for England -Denmark and the staff confirmed they would be happy to seat us in a separate club bar which was socially distanced and we had waiter service. Food was good as well. It was great to stay here and we would certainly stay again in the future, the location was great but the staff and customer service was better. Thanks Egypt mill
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Johnboytraveler wrote a review 9 Jul
Reading, United Kingdom24 contributions15 helpful votes
Very nice hotel, scenic location. Room clean, covid safe, no one entered the rooms. Superior room number 10, tea, coffee maker, large tv to watch the football. Good breakfast selection, restaurant ok but pricy, food standard about same as chef and brewer. Selection of restaurants nearby. Nice to sit next to the mill pond for an afternoon beer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
US$102 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
egypt mill nailsworth, hotel egypt mill
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsStroud DistrictStroudNailsworth
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Domestic Science (0.2 km), JOYA (0.4 km), and Richard Bramble (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amalfi, The Olive Tree Mediterranean Restaurant & Pizzeria, and Williams Food Hall.
Is Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Nailsworth.
Does Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chavenage House (6.2 km), Dr Newtons Way Bridge (5.0 km), and Owlpen Manor House and Gardens (5.1 km).
Does Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.