We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (3)
Overview
21-23 Church Street, Newent GL18 1PU England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Meeting Rooms
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
US$ 61 - US$ 66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newent
Location
Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
5Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Photos
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (3)
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
12
16
17
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
16
17
19
15
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We stayed at this hotel last week , it is the worst ever. The whole place stank, was dirty, and the noise of people in the bar you were awake until 1 in morning also the language was awful. The window was so rotten would...More

2  Thank Sue W
Management response:Responded 17 May 2017

Apologies that you had this experience at The George Hotel however when speaking to you at no point was there any complaint about cleanliness of the room otherwise I would have made sure this had been addressed immediately. On departure you did mention about the...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017

We stayed here with other family members for a family member's funeral. Didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews, however, we felt it was mediocre. The young Manager was very welcoming, and couldn't do enough to help. We felt that the other staff...More

1  Thank goldensyrup40
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I'd have rather eaten a ready meal. The food was cold, it looks lovely from the outside but awful when you get in there! Very disappointing. They ran out of food by 2.15pm wish they had ran out by 1.45pm which would have saved me...More

3  Thank Sam L
Management response:Responded 5 December 2016

Apologies that you had this experience. Our food trade has been growing every week as we have been gaining a growing reputation for our food with our new(ish) chef Hristo, hence we actually sold out early. As we were also fully booked again this Sunday...More

Reviewed 22 November 2016

Basic / old accomodation with plenty of character, we were on the second floor which was accessed via narrow stair case so probably not for immobile folk. The room was clean and tidy, had brew facility and biscuits, tv with freeview, large double bed (and...More

2  Thank Liane D
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Went to the Onion Fayre (very good). Called in for a drink. Very busy, due to Fayre,and waited ages for drinks. More staff needed on such a busy day. Don't think I would bisit again except at next years Onion Fayre!

Thank minseee
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
carl s
28 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from minseee | Reviewed this property |
Hi Carl, just phoned them and they say dogs are allowed in the bar. Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Please do not go there"
suewA1218AO
15 May 2017
Read review
"Room 6 had the seperate private bathroom"
lianed960
21 Nov 2016
Read review
"Very noisy in all rooms over the bar, floor vibrated until midnight due to a live band."
sje999
25 Sep 2016
Read review
"All very shabby and partially cleaned, room 4 with en suite okay."
465maureenp
1 Aug 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing