We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Lyme Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Old Lyme Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Old Lyme Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

This B&B is the best haven I know of for a complete break away from it all. The Old Lyme Guest House for me provides the perfect base for a visit to Lyme Regis and Tracey and Paul as hosts make one feel totally welcome. I visit on a regular basis and the room I book is quiet and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaM M
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks, Rebecca, for you kind review. It's lovely to hear that you're still enjoying your visits - look forward to seeing you in October! Best wishes Tracey and Paul

Sarratt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We stayed here for a couple of days and was looking forward to a well needed break. The building is beautiful and from what we saw one of the best located as there were no hills at all!! We knew that Lyme Regis was a bit hilly and this is fine but after a night out it was nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bolly3362
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the traditional feel of our house, and had a lovely relaxed time with us. We look forward to seeing you again some time. Kind Regards Tracey and Paul

Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I stayed here with husband mid-week for one night. I arrived separately (I had talked to Paul on the phone about this when I made the booking) as I was doing a long coast-path walk and he was coming from work in Dorchester. I arrived a bit hot and tired after 10 miles with my rucksack. Filled in the paper...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruthlet60
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. You were clearly not happy and we are very disappointed to hear this. With regard to the drink on arrival – this is not something we offer as we have tea and coffee making facilities and a jug of freshly filtered water in each room, which Paul explained as he showed...

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stay in Lyme Regis every year and thought we would try out The Old Lyme Guest House. It really is the best B & B we have stayed in. We had the family room en suite and everything has been thought of and provided. Comfortable beds, very clean room , fluffy towels, the breakfast was slightly earlier than we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us a try! It's always a bit nerve-wracking when we know you've stayed at other places... so delighted you had a lovely time, and look forward to seeing you next year! Many thanks for such a lovely review! Best Wishes Tracey and Paul

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I stayed for one night, with friends, to attend a special birthday party. The room was immaculate, with an en suite, and the location was perfect- very central to everything. The best thing for me was the vegan breakfast- this can often be a big disappointment for me. But I enjoyed a breakfast of vegan sausage, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jemimakitten
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Love your review title - thank you for that! I always think vegans can feel a bit "short- changed" when it comes to eating out, so we do try to make an effort so you've got more than just fruit and dry toast for brekkie. Totally take on board the sausage comment, so we'll make sure we offer 2 to...

Cheltenham, Glos., England
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We were here for two nights last week. This is one of the best B & B's we have stayed in and highly recommended! Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Paul and Tracey. Our en-suite room on the second floor was small but comfortable and very clean, not a cobweb in sight. Overlooked the street but very little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hotelsulike
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. I have to admit, Paul is the one in charge of cobwebs - he's ex Royal Navy, so a stickler for cleanliness (and he does the bathrooms too!) Glad you had a lovely time - see you again if ever you return to Lyme. All the best, Tracey and Paul

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Really well situated Bed and Breakfast. We loved the very friendly hosts. Our room was very clean and well equipped with nice views. The breakfasts were brilliant. It felt a special treat to have a freshly made fruit salad every morning. We wanted a quiet hassle-free time away and we definitely had that. Thank you so much for your welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LFish F
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you, ladies, for your very kind review...the fruit salad is the only thing Paul "cooks" so he'll be dead chuffed that you enjoyed it so much!. Thanks again! regards Tracey and Paul

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We enjoyed this B&B very much. It is very very old, so stairways and ceilings are small. The room was very comfortable, with nice amenities. Delicious breakfast and we were well looked after. Parking is up a very steep hill, but so is the whole village!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CSpearing
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. It's true that our building is very old - it dates back to the 1700s when Coombe Street was actually the main road in Lyme and our building was the town's post office - we still have the original posting box in our wall, we're told it's one of the oldest in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Lyme Regis, Staying at The Old Lyme Guest House We stayed in the familty room on the top floor. The room is light, airy and spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Local produce and plenty of choice. Paul and Tracey were excellent hosts. Will visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard L
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Well, thank-you, Richard - that's what I call efficiency...stayed and reviewed within 3 days! It was a pleasure to have you, and we look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to Lyme. All the best! Tracey and Paul

Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed at The Old Lyme Guest house for 3 nights at the end of May. We were in the family room (3 of us) and we had a great stay. What's not to like about Lyme Regis, and staying in a friendly guest house with nice hosts and nice guests. Room was perfect size, plenty of room and the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spacecowboy1
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely (and detailed!) review...so pleased you found the family room nice and spacious. We used to sleep 4 in this room, but a couple of years ago decided to reduce it to 3 so now it's really spacious and good for lounging around if you do want to stay in and...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
5.0 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
315 reviews
0.4 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
416 reviews
2.6 km away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
232 reviews
0.5 km away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
626 reviews
0.3 km away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 47 in Lyme Regis
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Price Range: ₹ 6,437 - ₹ 7,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Lyme Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Lyme Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room at the front but it was still very peaceful.”
familyparry2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bathroom for Room 5 on the top floor has a bathtub - very nice!”
corydalis, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 3 and 5 are superb.”
JANEEpsom, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I've stayed in a few of the rooms and each one was comfortable and quiet.”
rebeccamm2015, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Book Early!”
RachelM98, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5