We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moorland Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moorland Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 540: English reviews
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Room was in an annex overlooking garden which is fabulous. No blind or net curtain to obscure ouside looking in so had to close curtains in daylight so I could undress. Lighting was on dim side which is ok for relaxing but sometimes guests need better lighting for getting ready to go out in the evening. Nowhere to place washbag...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue w
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and your very valuable feedback. I am grateful to you for sharing your comments in order that we can continually review and improve the facilities that we have on offer at the hotel. I am delighted that you found the staff to be pleasant, friendly and helpful. I hope to have the pleasure of...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The Moorland Garden Hotel is located on the edge of Dartmoor, just outside of Plymouth (near Yelverton). We got a bargain price for our 4 night stay and were allocated a room in what I would describe is the annexe part of the hotel. Our room overlooked the large grounds which front the hotel. The grounds are extensive and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t_r_nicolaou
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was very sorry and would like to apologize for the disappointment that we caused. The issues that you raised have now been addressed with my team at the hotel. Please contact me directly in the event you are planning to make a return visit as I would like to personally manage...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

I booked on a Sunday, we wanted sandwiches from the a la carte menu, the person on the phone didn't know or tell me there is a set menu on a Sunday, that doesn't include sandwiches. Our table was booked for 12.30, we arrived 10mins early a receptionist took my name and asked us to wait in the lounge area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was very sorry to read your comments in relation to your visit to the hotel, and have addressed the issues that you raised. I am sorry for the disappointment that we caused. I would request that you contact me directly in the event you wish to make a return visit as...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

To say its on my door step 15mins from my home i never have been here before and i was impressed straight away with the drive up to the hotel takes you past the amazing looking green and the staff was superb from start the food was great missed breakfast due to an hangover but all who i spoke too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank needatyre
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments in relation to the staff at the hotel which I have enjoyed sharing with my team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Pensilva
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Having held our wedding here a year ago which The Moorland Garden Hotel put together faultlessly for us, we decided we should spend our wedding anniversary back in the Forget Me Not Suite. This is a really relaxing hotel in beautiful surroundings and yet again we had a lovely stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CornwallTWH
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Just back from 3days at the moorland,first night having booked a table in restaurant was told no fresh fish available as they had sold out although the restaurant was empty at 7-30 an had only been open an hour,and for a 3 star hotel a buffet breakfast !!!!! everything Luke warm,not what you would expect from such nice hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haircut26
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I was very sorry to read of your experience in the restaurant, but regrettably we had sold out of fish that evening as we had been unusually busy in the bar earlier in the day and evening. A delivery did come in later, but I am sorry that we were not able to offer...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel just does not disappoint. As we drove into the entrance with wild ponies on the moorland that surrounds the hotel, in though the gates are beautifully maintained gardens sprinkled with sculpture, I was not let down upon my arrival in reception. Lovely staff who made us feel very welcome. Our room was a dog friendly room, great decor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystalbobbie
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for mentioning the wonderful artwork that we have at the hotel. Your feedback on the services we offered were also lovely to read. I hope to be able to welcome you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We attended a friends wedding here. Was very nice! Beautifully decorated and the staff extremely pleasant, especially a young lady working in the back bar who was fab! Unfortunately we cannot remember her name. :( The buffet food was amazing and plenty to choose from, hot and cold. If your considering getting married here, go have a look you'll be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flossy491
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, and thank you for your kind comments in relation to the member of staff behind the bar. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Andrew

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

I was working in Plymouth and stopped at this hotel it a few miles out side the city but its well worth traveling that extra couple of miles to stop here. The hotel has beautiful ground with lots of wild life around. The hotel its self is very nice and very clean it really is a 5 star place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony B
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Turin, Italy
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Located just inside Dartmoor Nat'l Park, not far from Plymouth and Tavistock, you will enjoy a comfortable, peaceful and quiet holiday, in total relax. Good cuisine and wonderful garden just outside your room windows. Just one little remark: the combination of colours in your room is far from the so-called "good taste": a jumble of different colours which don't match....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gouache42
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I enjoyed sharing your review with the team at the hotel. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

445 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (40)
Viewed
Garden Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Lilly of the Valley Suite (32)
Viewed
Peony Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Premier Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Second Premier Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
5.7 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
434 reviews
10.3 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
615 reviews
9.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
9.3 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
462 reviews
31.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: ₹ 5,628 - ₹ 12,631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to request a dog friendly room, if travelling with your dog.”
 of 5 bubbles R7476VPlindab, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms above the dining room area have pleasant south facing patio areas.”
 of 5 bubbles briantrousers, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“balcony rooms are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles TEAR1978, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles chelsea6969, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All quiet as hotel set a little way away from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeA398, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5