We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moorland Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 529: English reviews
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband took me as a Valentines treat, I'm going to be as honest as possible with this review. Started off stay in the bar to which we had lunch, food was delicious and bar staff friendly. We stayed in a Garden double room, it did smell the only way I can describe it is like the floor had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over Valentines, and thank you for your very positive comments in relation to the food and service. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room but am pleased that you found it warm, clean and comfortable. I hope to have the pleasure...

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first visit back to this hotel since it changed hands a few years ago and I was not disappointed by the changes to an already well established venue. We dropped in for a Cream Tea in the Dartmoor Bar and enjoyed freshly baked scones (1 plain and 1 fruit scone each) with generous helpings of clotted cream...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acorn_Fairy
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Cream Tea at the hotel, and am grateful for your feedback. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an overnight stay at the Moorland Garden Hotel including a 3 course meal and breakfast. On arrival we were greeted warmly, all staff extremely helpful and friendly..given our room key and very happy with what we found behind the door. Really clean with a smashing view over the gardens. We went down to a gorgeous meal in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules C
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I enjoyed sharing your feedback with my team at the hotel. I hope you will be able to come and visit us again soon. Kind regards, Andrew

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large hotel on the edge of Dartmoor. Staff were helpful and smiling. Breakfast was very good. Rooms spacious overlooking moorland gardens. Attractive public rooms. Will stay there again. No lift but only one floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonJen
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very positive comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is perfect for access to the wonderful moors, where you can walk for miles and enjoy the stunning scenery and fresh air. The reception staff on arrival were pleasant and the process was swift and without complications. Upon arrival in my room I found it to be fairly clean and compact with, unfortunately, the thinnest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mez306
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry to read your comments in relation to the room that you stayed in, and would request that you contact me directly as I would like to discuss this with you personally. My e-mail address is gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk or telephone: (01822) 852245. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Husband and I got married here in August 2016. It was a beautiful day, in beautiful grounds. In the lead up to the day, the Events Team were very helpful, and this continued on the day. We spent a lot of money on our special day after saving hard for exactly what we wanted. All in all, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TEAR1978
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I`m pleased that you enjoyed your wedding with us last year and appreciate your words of praise for individual members of our wedding team, but sorry there were some things which you feel we could have done better. As arranged, I look forward to our private meeting with you next week. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in this lovely hotel, just outside Plymouth and Tavistock. We had a lovely garden view in our premier room, which was large, bright and very clean. We had dinner and breakfast in the Wildflower restaurant and enjoyed it immensely. The service and food was extremely good and we will definitely dine there again. Overall the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teensjohnson
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Coningsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

20 plus of us visited this restaurant on 6th Nov 2016 to celebrate mums 80th four generations of the same family sat together for the first time. this was a pre booked event and we were given a 3 choice 3 course menu for £25.00 per head. the food was great all arrived hot and nicely presented. I was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your luncheon party so much. I am sorry that the waitress did not answer your question correctly in relation to your fish dish, and this has been addressed with the restaurant team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 5 January 2017

A stay overnight with a beautiful room and view. Food and service very good. Unfortunately a few improvements are needed mainly the pot holes on the road on the exit out of the hotel. A few more choices of lager and the flickering of the dining room lights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brunel25
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have addressed the pot hole issue outside, and I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused. We are working on correcting the dining room lights, and I have noted your comments in relation to the lager selection. I hope to have the pleasure...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Just want to say how pleased my wife and I were last Saturday night the whole occasion was absolutely impeccable. Good food, good company, beautiful room and a group of staff who were extremely professional. Thank you for an awesome time to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your New Years Eve celebrations with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (40)
Viewed
Garden Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Lilly of the Valley Suite (32)
Viewed
Peony Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Premier Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Second Premier Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
5.7 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
426 reviews
10.3 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
606 reviews
8.3 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
439 reviews
9.3 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tavistock
455 reviews
9.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tavistock
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: ₹ 5,511 - ₹ 13,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“balcony rooms are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles TEAR1978, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles chelsea6969, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All quiet as hotel set a little way away from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeA398, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't have afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles RobandBev_79, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies have the best views over the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Garandjaninvan, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5