We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hazelwood House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loddiswell
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hazelwood House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Oxfordshire
Reviewed 24 December 2015

We stayed at Hazelwood House earlier this year. It is an extraordinary place! So difficult to pigeon-hole into a review as it is truly unique. I've read some of the other reviews, some of them really get it- others don't. First of all it is the most beautiful tranquil setting that is possible to imagine. Secondly it is it a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ourfearlessleader
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I look forward to returning to this hotel after the ongoing improvements are complete because it has so much potential. It has amazing views and a remote location and we had a wonderful walk by the river closeby. The house itself is so elegant. The staff are very charming and helpful. But although the downstairs lounge and dining areas are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbStorey
Wirral
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We got a deal so this was an incredible bargain and we were expecting the standard to reflect the price. However, everyone there was so friendly and helpful. My friend and I didn't have a car so was planning to eat in the hotel. Unfortunately they didn't have an evening chef anymore but we were able to order takeaway in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WirralJo
Taunton
Reviewed 2 September 2015

A good deal on Travelzoo to this big old house in a beautiful valley setting in the middle of nowhere! Spent two nights in a family room with the smallest en suite ever and it really could do with a bit of an update. Staff very friendly and lovely breakfast. It's just very tired looking. I wouldn't pay the normal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JasonandNicky
essex
Reviewed 23 August 2015

If you want a modern hotel, modern facilitities and up to date amenities this isn't the hotel for you. This is old English, full of rustic charm and character. Very relaxed, friendly atmosphere, tranquility personified. In the middle of nowhere, perfect for escapism. Lovely helpful staff. Our room was large with a fabulous view of the valley. Our bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPDLEIGH
Hazelwood H, Manager at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would like to welcome you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015

At £25 pppn (Travelzoo deal) this B&B offers unbeatable value for money. The setting - high on a valley side - yields spectacular views which are best appreciated from the veranda. The place is unique and, for my better half and I, one of the most attractive and magical places in which we've stayed. Curiously, it has a post-colonial feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
Hazelwood H, Manager at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Leighton Buzzard
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We got a good deal on Travelzoo, and visited Hazelwood House.It isn't easy to find-thank you TomTom. It is a late Georgian/early Vistorian property that is being alloowed to run down by the current owners. The bed was ok. There is no air conditioning, and the room got quite warm overnight, so we had the windows open. Unfortunately, we wre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnLeightonBuzzard
exeter
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night using a travelzoo deal and it was excellent value for money. We had a spacious room with period features and a comfy bed, the view from our room (no.2) was breath taking, uninterrupted views of rolling devon hills. We took our four legged friend with us so we also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kitkatExeter
Hazelwood H, Manager at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your room. It is regrettable that you were not able to have dinner here. An email was sent out via the promotion lenders to inform our guests of our Chef moving on, we apologise that you arrived before this was done.

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Had a two night stay at Hazelwood House, wished I had booked longer. The air of peace and tranquility is apparent as soon as you start down the narrow drive to the house. The house itself has the faded charm of a lot of old country houses that have avoided being left to the National Trust. Yes, it needs work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
Hazelwood H, Manager at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely response!

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

After a very difficult year we were hoping to enjoy a tranquil break. Unfortunately we were embarrassed and humiliated by a member of staff who took it upon herself to chastise us while eating our breakfast for making a small amount of noise ( lasting less than a minute) while walking to our room at 10 pm. On the first...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jill E
Hazelwood H, Manager at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your life experiences with us, which we very much took to heart and sincerely apologise again to you for such a disappointing stay. We were also grateful that you spoke to us at the time about it, allowing us to apologise and try to explain. We truly regret that you did not have the tranquil...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loddiswell
9.2 km away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
13.5 km away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
14.7 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
504 reviews
17.2 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
415 reviews
15.9 km away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hazelwood is an early Victorian Country Guesthouse set in 67 acres of wild river valley in the heart of the South Hams, Devon.Nearby there are meadow walks and ancient sites to see and Dartmoor National Park is only half an hour away. In the opposite direction is the famous Devon coast with an array of award winning beaches and beautiful market towns to explore.The house has 14 comfortable bedrooms some en-suite with valley views.The fully licensed restaurant is open all year to all, serving delicious local and organic modern British fine food. Traditional cream teas are always available. Lazing on the blossom filled veranda in the summer is a treat whilst open log fores and candlelight provide that extra cozy feeling during the winter. Hazelwood continues to be a popular wedding venue and holds host to an eclectic programme of cultural and art weekends as well as concerts and gourmet dinners. Hazelwood is also available to hire for seminars, workshops, exhibitions and away days. Hazelwood offers good food, peace, beauty, nature, art and space to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hazelwood House

Address: Nr.Loddiswell | Kingsbridge, Loddiswell TQ7 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Loddiswell
Price Range: ₹ 3,831 - ₹ 13,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hazelwood Hotel Loddiswell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hazelwood House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the boathouse”
 of 5 bubbles ourfearlessleader, 24 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Any room that overlooks the valley.”
  • View
 of 5 bubbles JPDLEIGH, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Not number 3”
 of 5 bubbles JohnLeightonBuzzard, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The front with valley views must be better than the dark ones at the back”
 of 5 bubbles marionp530, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
“A view over the range !”
 of 5 bubbles Charlesworth100, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5