We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Custom House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Custom House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Old Custom House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 520: English reviews
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my family for a drink at lunch time, we sat by the fire which was lovely. The bar staff were very friendly and served us very quickly. Great place for an afternoon drink. Menu looks very good price even though we didn't eat, we will be back to try it out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salysih
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your afternoon beverage by our fire and found our menu to be priced good. Look forward to your next visit.

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As part of our trip to Cornwall for Valentines we took a morning out to visit Padstow which is now famous for its fishing harbour and elite restaurants run by Rick Stein & Paul Ainsworth. if you take the coast Rd from Newquay you can enjoy the coast and even more so the beautiful spot of Watergate Bay where Jamie...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank armchairlfc
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very informative review. We are pleased you enjoyed the views from our coffee shop and look forward to your next visit.

Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Now, I know everything in Padstow costs twice what it costs anywhere else, Mr Stein has made sure of that, but I foolishly expected standards to have been raised above normal as well. Unfortunately not. Fish pie that tasted nice, but was lacking in fish, and cod and chips where the fish was badly over cooked and tasted it! To...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was just updating my account and got a reminder to review The Old Customs House hence the review being 8 months old. I was meaning to leave a review at the time as it was one of the nicest breakfasts I've had, notable in fact. We also had a harbour view which was really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian G
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Breakfast is the most important meal of any ones day and we are pleased to hear after 8mths it's still a memorable experience. Look forward to your next visit.

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family today including my 1 yr old daughter. Was relatively quiet however we had to wait 45 minutes. When we complained we were refunded our food bill which was the fair thing to be done given we were not advised of the wait and had a very hungry daughter waiting. Unexpectedly our food was still delivered to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trob84
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which is always listened to and helps to improve the service we offer. I am glad you enjoyed your meals and considered us good value, though I would like to apologise for the wait you experienced, A large booking delayed your order. Refunding the cost of your meal was the least we could do. We...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in The Old Custom House for her birthday. The hotel is in a great location...right on the harbour with a public car park just opposite. It was pretty busy in Padstow when we arrived but we managed to get parked (£8 for 24 hours). Check in was quick and our room was available before 3pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

I don't often write negative reviews but I was very disappointed by my recent visit. After queuing to ask for a drink, I was told they didn't have my choice of cider in stock. I said I'd have to check to see what my partner wanted instead, which would take a few seconds. Rather than wait for me to return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank devonme
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We popped into Padstow for lunch. The custom house is a large but tastefully decorated pub. We ordered ciabattas and weren't disappointed. Freshly cooked with a generous portion of crisps and a lovely small salad on the side. Overall very filling and tasty. The only downside was it can be noisy with lots of families dining there too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharonGTr
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us and hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 12 February 2017

We had a room which was billed as overlooking the harbour but in fact it overlooked the car park with views beyond, No matter. The room was comfy and warm, the windows need decorating. Breakfast was fine, lots of choices hot and cold. Bar staff were friendly and helpful. We would return if treating ourselves again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellhan
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will book to stay again in the future.

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

When we arrived the hotel had upgraded us to a beautiful room at no extra charge, the room was spacious warm and the bed very comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean, shower really hot. I have read previous reviews where customers have said what the hotel could improve, well all the things that were asked for have been done. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliecookie551
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

thank you very much for your lovely review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Customer care is so important to us and it is very rewarding to receive such positive feedback. I hope you visit us again soon.

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#3 of 8 in Padstow
1,363 reviews
5.5 km away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
368 reviews
3.2 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
380.0 km away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#4 of 58 in Padstow
188 reviews
3.2 km away
Molesworth Manor
Molesworth Manor
#1 of 2 in Little Petherick
247 reviews
0.5 km away
Tor View
Tor View
#6 of 58 in Padstow
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Custom House Inn

Address: Inn South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Price Range: ₹ 9,257 - ₹ 13,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Custom House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Old Custom House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Custom House Hotel Padstow
Old Custom House Padstow
Old Custom House Inn Padstow, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Custom House Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 days ago
West Sussex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Custom House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early.”
 of 5 bubbles Wookie1957, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“request one at the front for the view”
 of 5 bubbles 274maggig, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have views of the harbour and some do not. Choose carefully from the options rather than on price only.”
  • Narrow WC access
 of 5 bubbles christopherm94, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for one overlooking the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles stephencharless, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front can be affected by noise from boats early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Q4450TZpaulb, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5