We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Port Gaverne Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Port Gaverne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Port Gaverne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Made reservation thru another website. Hotel information was incorrect so when we arrived and found out that the hotel was not in the town that was advertised we asked that our reservation be cancelled. Hotel refused and the other website also refused. We didn't stay but hotel took our money none the less. Also my VISA credit card was no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jac D
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed here for our Silver Wedding having also stayed on our honeymoon. Although the owners had changed, only once mind, the feel and general layout of the main building had retained it's charm. An extended accommodation block gives more excellently appointed en suite rooms. the restaurant serves a lot of local fare, including fabulous fresh fish, shellfish and beef. Breakfasts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Growup1
Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Stayed at Port Gaverne Hotel in August. What a sweet little find. Everything was perfect. Managed to change room at last minute to a sea view and request our champagne on ice in room. (celebrating special occasion!! :) ) Sat on the lounge balcony with bubbles and enjoyed the sunset. Had dinner in the restaurant, all exceptionally well presented, great... More 

Helpful?
Thank globalnomad31
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Try it - I just been there for 4 nights and loved it for all the right reasons - the staff are so friendly, rooms first class, and the food is superb - what more do you need. Oh and if it's nice outside, don't forget to seek out the Gazebo - great place to sit and chill out!

Helpful?
Thank BlackVelvet04
Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We booked this 'Hotel' because it was quite literally the only place that had a room left anywhere near Port Isaac on this particular night. We did want to stay two nights but had no luck with booking. We called one B&B in Port Isaac and the proprietor very kindly gave us a huge list of numbers to try for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kagee1964
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2015

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel we were sceptical as to whether we had made the right choice. But I so glad we went, as we had a fantastic and relaxing time . The food was excellent and there was always a table ready for us when we came down to dinner . The staff were friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John201213
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Great stay at the Port Gaverne Hotel wonderful food weather views and staff food amazing fresh I don’t know if the previous review had the bouillabaisse in the same hotel the fish and chips were great and not overprices we too went to Rick Steins also and the food was no better but twice the price but portions much smaller... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jesssmith1979
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Gorgeous settiing and homely bar area. Came for early dinner. Chose the monkfish, mullet, mussels and clams bouillabaise rouille and parmazan crostini, which I think was one of the most expensive items on the menu. We were disappointed as it was a very meagure portion and the fish was over cooked and hardly any liquid at the bottom of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank isobelle19
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015

the worst room I've ever stayed in. I ordered a sea view room which it definitely wasn't. From the Dormer at the rear of the room I saw the sea over rooftops and in the distance. But mush worse was the size of the room. The door actually opened on the bed so you had to squeeze in it. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cliff t
dplanetzog, Manager at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you do not enjoy your stay however there are some errors in this review which mean we cannot look at the issues described room 5 is not in the eaves both the bedrooms which are in the eaves of the building have had brand new bathrooms including towel radiators during early 2015 with massive investment spent on... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed at the Port Gaverne Hotel at what is the most busy part of the year. It has a lovely "classic English pub" atmosphere and the staff are superb. The food we had was excellent with a menu to match. They offer a superb range of beers and wines. Upstairs they have a lovely little balcony which is great... More 

Helpful?
Thank EatMe9

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
1.8 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.7 km away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
385 reviews
0.7 km away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
208 reviews
7.3 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
875 reviews
9.6 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tintagel
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Price Range: ₹ 9,922 - ₹ 21,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Port Gaverne Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Port Gaverne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at side of hotel facing the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaj967, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay here but had lunch which was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 978mariaw, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 20 was terrific”
 of 5 bubbles wwglobetrotr, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't have room, so cannot comment on this”
 of 5 bubbles topbiddy1983, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“avoid 5......3 is a good room”
 of 5 bubbles Nismo350z, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay